We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of Hotel Savoy Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Savoy Palace
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Have just returned from 7 nights at this hotel on a tour with Riviera Travel, the whole holiday was wonderful.
The manager was great he was around at breakfast and after dinner, the food was very good a wide choice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpe69, Owner at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2012

Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your comment you place on Tripadvisor.

It is nice to hear you enjoyed your stay and especially the food in our restaurant.

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 368 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2012

I agree with the other reviewers, what a fantastic hotel with fantastic staff, all the ladies on the front desk, the restaurant staff, very well led by Paolo and Mara, the new bartender, Daniel, and even the housekeeping department helped make this a very special hotel and a special holiday was had by us.

It is a very peaceful location and not that many other restaurants in Gardone but don't let that put you off. Well done to all concerned for making our break restful and so so enjoyable. I would certainly recommend this Hotel to anyone looking for the personal touch in a four star hotel in a wonderful location.

Room Tip: The views to the lake are spectacular, Try get on 4th or 5th floors for the better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ratboyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpe69, Owner at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2012

Dear Guest,

I am delighted by hearing such nice words about our hotel and the staff.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay that much and it would be a great pleasure to welcome you again at the Savoy Palace.

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I loved this hotel. The location was perfect with amazing views and a lovely little balcony to watch the sun come up and go down. It's definitely a 4 star location, but a 3 star hotel (which I find is usually the case in Italy). The staff were very friendly and helpful and I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. It's great to walk down to the small 'lake front' area where there are a variety of places to eat (and drink) plus it's close to the ferry terminal, so all in all it's a perfect location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake. The road behind is very busy so I imagine it's noisy. Plus if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissLinus2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpe69, Owner at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2012

Dear Guests,

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Savoy Palace and in Gardone Riviera.

I am very sorry to hear you think that the Savoy Palace seems to be rather a 3 star hotel and it might be very helpful for us to understand the reason for this comment.

We are always concerned to offer service at high standards and I think we are offering quality at all levels.

It would be a pleasure to meet you again at the Savoy Palace.

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a fabulous weekend break to lake Garda, the lakes were great but the hotel was just fantastic, The moment we walked through the door we were made welcome , we had a lake view room (519) that was well presented, clean and airy,bed was a little hard but the view in the mornings more than made up for it
The breakfast was also very good,plenty of choice but more off a continental style, which we really enjoyed,Gardone it self is a small town but an excellent base to explore the other regions by water or road
I would more than recommend this hotel to fellow travellers, well done to all at the Savoy Palace.

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank Rodwen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpe69, Owner at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kind comment.

I hope to welcome you again at the Savoy Palace in the beautiful town of Gardone Riviera.

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights on a short visit to the area. The hotel itself was clean, well managed and in a great location. We took one of the rooms with a terrace looking out over the lake - and that was a fantastic view to start each day. The room itself was large and nicely decorated - the bed huge and comfortable.

Breakfast was a typical continental - but good variety and you had the choice to eat inside or by the pool.

We didnt eat at the hotel apart from that - instead chosing to explore the local area.

One nice touch was a drinks reception on the Friday night, complementary wine, beer, fizz and food - all served on a terrace overlooking the lake.

As a base to explore from - the hotel is ideal as the ferry comes into dock nearby.

I would recommend this hotel to friends in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your kind comment you left on tripadvisor.
I am very glad you enjoyed your stay at the Savoy Palace and had a lovely time on lake Garda.

I hope to welcome you again soon.

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

My wife and I stayed in this hotel in September. We had a superior lake view room at the reception end of the hotel. The room was lovely with a great lake view and a large balcony. The room was clean with a good bathroom. The breakfast buffet was sufficient, but the highlight was the dinner as we stayed half board. On the nice days dinner was served by the pool and the quality of the food was very good. The wine list was extensive and offered good value compared to other hotels. The pool area is small and gets packed easily on nice days as some of the green surrounding the pool seem to have been taken up by a rather ugly extension to the hotel. The staff in the restaurant was very friendly and helpful, while some of the reception staff was rather reluctant to help us with the internet connection. The bar is very expensive and the bars and coffee shops outside the hotel offer better value. Gardone Riviera is a very quiet village with excellent restaurants and does not suit people looking for a nightlife. Overall we had a great time and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Lake view room is a must as other rooms face a very noisy road. Higher floors will benefit from grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank VernonDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to place your comment on Tripadvisor.
Your view is very helpful for us to improve our service in order to make your stay even more comfortable.

It would be very nice to welcome you again at the Savoy Palace next summer.

Kind regards,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

This hotel is a lovely place from which to enjoy the beauty of Lake Garda. We had two lake view rooms. We stayed at the Savoy for four nights right at the end of the season (October). The hotel then closes for 6 months.

What we liked:

Lake view from the rooms
High standard of cleanliness within the rooms
Very smart and well equipped bathrooms (incl. bidet)
Excellent level of upkeep of what is a fairly old building (this contrasts with some reviews of the Grand hotel nearby)
Staff were very pleasant and helpful
Management seemed very “present” in the hotel – checking, greeting, advising, and generally on hand
The location is just a short and very beautiful stroll from the ferry station
Kettle and tea making essentials in room (plus china cups delivered to us within minutes of us asking)

What we felt could be better:

The beds were a bit hard for me. I do suggest management consider re-equipping with much nicer mattresses. Many hotels I have stayed in (from the Ritz Carlton down to Premier Inn) make a big thing of their comfortable beds
There was an occasional whiff of “old drain” smell from the bathrooms (in both rooms so I know it wasn't me!)
There is no spy hole or chain on the bedroom doors (just a deadlock) so some travellers may not like that.

Travellers in October should be aware that many of the restaurants close for the winter season even earlier than the Savoy Palace does. This makes Gardone very quiet. There are still places to eat though (in addition to the hotel). We liked Sans Souci in a side alley just along the promenade from the hotel.

Overall,this hotel made me imagine I'd stepped into one of those early 20th century travel posters. Maybe the Belle Epoch was like this. We'd stay again.

Room Tip: Choose a lake view. It's the whole point of staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank UkParky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpe69, Owner at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for placing your comment on Tripadvisor. Your views are very helpful and important to understand where improvements still can be made.

It would be very nice to welcome you again at the Savoy Palace next summer.

Kind regards,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardone Riviera
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Gardone
Grand Hotel Gardone
#2 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
1,221 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Sofia
Hotel Villa Sofia
#10 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
137 reviews
23.3 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#3 of 33 in Torbole
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Fasano
Grand Hotel Fasano
#4 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
422 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Florida
Hotel Villa Florida
#1 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
464 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bellariva Hotel
Bellariva Hotel
#5 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Palace

Address: via Zanardelli, 2 / 4, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#6 Luxury Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gardone Riviera
Price Range: $143 - $657 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Savoy Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Palace Hotel
Savoy Palace Gardone Riviera
Hotel Savoy Palace Lake Garda/Gardone Riviera, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing