We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a golden oldie”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Gardone
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We also went in September 2012 and just loved this place, apart from the bar prices which were so high that we did not drink in the hotel.
Loved the quality of the food (even a really good cheese board each night which is unusual) and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.
It's not a hotel for people who want a nightlife nearby or karaoke in the evenings, and the average age of the guests was probably around 55-60, but we would go back there again and again.

Room Tip: The rooms are all different but definitely get a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lawmatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

711 - 717 of 1,214 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed for a week at the end of September and had a room with a view overlooking the lake.

The position of the hotel is ideal for the ferry. Possibly the hotel needs abit of TLC as it is starting to show its age in places.

We do feel that the furniture etc in the bedroom could have done with some attention - had a problem with air con and one of the lights. Our room was right at the far end of the building which is a long way from reception and the ferries (Don't forget anything when you come down in the morning) Pool area looked very clean and well maintained.

Found the internet system irritating. Available by card (free but limited time) in main reception area only

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for lake view. Remember ferry time table changes on Oct lst and ferries are then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mp41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed for a week eat there 5 days. Good food and service. Good coffee at breakfast with an excellent buffet. Always a good selection at dinner with a good wine list. Room overlooking lake ok. Frustrated by Free wifi access only available in the lounge in 40 min chunks. Because of the very tight lift they insisted on bringing the bags up - they got lost for an hour. Not nice after travelling all day.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The service at this hotel was excellent. Lake views delightful from bedroom balcony and dining room, terrace, etc. Room average size but large comfortable bed. Very clean. Sheets and towels changed daily. Shower over bath so may need to check this if wanting a walk in shower. Buffet breakfast excellent with wide choice. Staff very pleasant and efficient. Ferry goes from just outside the hotel gate to all points on the Lake. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at this hotel and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

as many people have said before, this place is brilliant. Take no notice of the odd derogatory remarks, they must come from people who do not know what 'good' is! From the best welcome possible at reception to the lovely food and most attentive bar staff, this IS the place to be.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maundermk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

All the good things that have been said about this hotel are true! (Some of the adverse remarks should be taken with a very large pinch of salt!) We stayed at the Grand in September. We had a junior suite at the furthest and highest extremity of the building (room 406) - spacious, peaceful, well equipped and very comfortable. The bathroom was large, spotlessly clean and had everything we could need - a good sized bath, hand held shower and and overhead fixed shower too. A bidet and twin wash basins. Towels were plentiful and were changed twice daily. We were celebrating our ruby wedding this year, so the bottle of chilled sparking wine in our room on arrival was much appreciated! The views across the lake from our balcony were stunning.
The hotel itself has an elegance belonging to a bygone era - it is simply charming.
All staff - receptionists, porters, chambermaids, everybody! - were polite, friendly and helpful. The restaurant staff were equally excellent in every way , so helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
The food, both at breakfast and in the half-board dining room, was nicely presented and of excellent quality - also good variety. During our 11 days stay the evening menu was not repeated once. I particularly liked the selection of fish offered each day.
So the drinks and bar meals were over priced? Yes, I guess they were, but all I can say is that it was worth it!
We would happily return to this hotel and I can heartily recommend it!

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors and lake views if you're wanting peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank EjayRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Just returned from a great vacation on Lake Garda. We found the hotel to be super with wonderful views of the lake being right on the waters’ edge. As the boat jetty is very close to the hotel travelling around the lake by boat to visit the various towns and villages is very easy and most interesting. Sitting on the terrace in the evenings with attentive and efficient service was a delight. All the staff were found to be most willing, experienced and professional. The half board arrangement worked very well with an accomplished breakfast and all the evening meals were well prepared, providing excellent quality, a good range of choice and superb tastes and flavour. We spent many pleasant evenings in the Piano Bar enjoying good entertainment with live music and we were even tempted to dance. The double room and the single room for our son were clean and tidy with good furnishings, facilities and balconies overlooking the lake. In all a most pleasurable experience and we have no hesitation providing a good recommendation for the hotel. E. Ann P of Corbridge, Northumberland

Room Tip: We liked the rooms with lake view and (small but sweet) balconies and they are on the quiet side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elizabeth Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardone Riviera
23.1 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#3 of 33 in Torbole
1,087 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Savoy Palace
Hotel Savoy Palace
#7 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
367 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Florida
Hotel Villa Florida
#1 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Fasano
Grand Hotel Fasano
#4 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
418 reviews
23.0 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#3 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Gardone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Gardone

Address: Corso Zanardelli 84, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#2 Family Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gardone Riviera
Price Range: $193 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Gardone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1884 as the first hotel on Lake Garda, the Grand Hotel Gardone testifies the elegance and style of an era. The view of the lake is majestic and very picturesque, and becomes even more impressive with the ever changing light, sun and shades during the day and night. The hotel has 167 bedrooms and Jr. Suites with balcony, offering every comfort with a splendid view of the lake. Refined cuisine with local specialities can be enjoyed at a candlelight à la carte dinner on the terrace restaurant “Il Giardino dei Limoni” by the pool. The menu of the day is served at the lakeside restaurant with veranda, while at the pool snack bar you can have a quick informal lunch. The Winnie's Piano Bar offers the opportunity for a drink and dance after dinner. There is a private beach, a solarium terrace along the lake, heated swimming pool, whirlpool, sauna, steam bath, massage and beauty parlour, jetty for motorboats, internet points and Wi-fi in the whole building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Gardone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Gardone Riviera
Gardone Riviera Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Gardone Lake Garda/Gardone Riviera, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing