We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“September 2012 Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Gardone
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
Corbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“September 2012 Visit”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Just returned from a great vacation on Lake Garda. We found the hotel to be super with wonderful views of the lake being right on the waters’ edge. As the boat jetty is very close to the hotel travelling around the lake by boat to visit the various towns and villages is very easy and most interesting. Sitting on the terrace in the evenings with attentive and efficient service was a delight. All the staff were found to be most willing, experienced and professional. The half board arrangement worked very well with an accomplished breakfast and all the evening meals were well prepared, providing excellent quality, a good range of choice and superb tastes and flavour. We spent many pleasant evenings in the Piano Bar enjoying good entertainment with live music and we were even tempted to dance. The double room and the single room for our son were clean and tidy with good furnishings, facilities and balconies overlooking the lake. In all a most pleasurable experience and we have no hesitation providing a good recommendation for the hotel. E. Ann P of Corbridge, Northumberland

Room Tip: We liked the rooms with lake view and (small but sweet) balconies and they are on the quiet side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elizabeth Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    270
    63
    15
    12
See reviews for
171
647
24
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were recommended to The Grand Hotel but with the proviso that we must book a room overlooking the lake. This we did and so our 10 day holiday was a memorable one from start to finish. All the staff were welcoming and thoroughly efficient. Wonderful view of the Lake and our room was spotlessly clean with fluffy white gowns and slippers provided, towels changed daily and bedlinen every three days. Dining room staff provided a magnificent breakfast buffet for all tastes including fresh fruit and cut up fruit ( a previous reviewer had mentioned that this would be a welcome addition so obviously this had been taken on board. Dinner was 3 courses with a salad starter and there was a variety of choice all served by efficient but not overbearing staff. Two niggles though: the "heated pool" was a on the cold side that one wondered if it was and the pool attendant was somewhat bemused when I asked him the temperature of the water! We thought the drinks and beverage prices were on the high side compared with neighbouring establishments. Overall we had a Grand holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Leafygrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PORTSMOUTH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I travelled to the Grand Gordone on the Orient Express from London to Verona to celebrate our Golden wedding Anniversary.

The hotel met our expectations in every respect, and the location next to the ferries a real bonus,

Our lakeside room was superb, spotlessly clean, it was serviced every day with clean linen.

The staff were very proffessional, and friendly.

The Hotel and its staff made our anniversary holiday a memorable experience.

Room Tip: Lake side essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DBS30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

After a delayed flight we arrived at the hotel in the early hours, to be given a room at the furthest corner of the building from Reception (6 large buildings away).It did not have the lake view or balcony we had booked. The only person we could complain to was the night porter, who said the whole hotel was full and we would have to stay there.
One of the worst starts to a holiday we have ever had!
However, the next morning brought the start of one of the best holidays we have had!
The staff were very apologetic, moved everything whilst we had breakfast, and although we were tired(the fault of the airline) the friendliness and efficiency of the hotel employees, and especially the quality of the food soon relaxed us.
We found a bottle of fizz in our room later that day and were also offered a complimentary a la carte meal which was outstanding, even by their high standards. We ate breakfast outside every day, and particularly enjoyed the variety of fish on the menu, as well as the omelettes, cooked outside to order. In fact, the hotel made the holiday superb for us.

Room Tip: Rooms on lakeside are quieter and have wonderful views. Better to be away from building nearest ferr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PatharCottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The Grand Gardone is rightly named, as it is very Grand! It has the longest corridor inside a hotel that I have ever seen & fabulous public rooms in the 1920's style. I couldn't fault the staff who were friendly & efficient, particularly the bar staff who were great fun! The food was excellent with good choice, so much so that we changed from B&B to half board for the last three days of our stay. Wonderful location overlooking the lake & right next to the Ferry stop, so very easy to get around without a car. Couldn't recommend it highly enough for a relaxing break. Lots of sun beds near the pool & lake with fabulous views-wish I was there now!

Room Tip: Virtually all the rooms had a lake view- you really wouldn't want to be facing the road! Most o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AYHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Went on recommendation to the Grand to celebrate our Ruby Wedding Anniversary and we were not dissapointed. It was a lovely hotel, and deserved the 4* star rating, the staff were very friendly and courtious and the food lovely, but don't expect something special on the Gala night it was a flute of sparkiling wine and a set menu starting with a selection of starters followed by a fish or meat course and then the cakes, it was very nice but not a gala night as we have experienced in other hotels. Our room 215 was situated at the far end of the hotel and very quiet which is exactly what we wanted, this was a lovely room with a six foot bed and a beautiful view of the lake there was also a bottle of sparkling wine waiting for us..

Gardone is a lovely place and not as touristy as other places around the lake. The coach tour around the lake is worthwhile but is very tiring and you don't get much time to look around the places you stop at, but it does give you an idea of some of the other towns. The only other coach trip we had was to Verona, the problem was picking up all the other guests from different hotels which takes ages, we would not bother again. Better off using the boats to get about, you can get a discount card for each person from your hotel which gives you 20% off boat trips and entrance to some attractions; once the cards are signed and dated they last for three days at a time, you then get more from your hotel We took the slow ferry ride to Malcesine, this was a nice way to take in the scenery, not too keen on Malcesine as it was full of day trippers. Another nice boat trip was the slow boat to Garda and then a walk from Garda to Bardolino and then the fast boat back to Gradone; the fast boats are more expensive than the slow boats.

In Gardone it is worthwhile visiting the Botanical Gardens, and also Vittoriole the house of the poet Gabriele D'Annuncio, the house is fascinating although you don't get a lot of time to look round as it is a guided tour and if like us the guide is taking mostly Italians around you are given a tape with headphones but this does not give you same amount of information, however it is still worth the visiting the house and also the war museum (check the opening times as the house was closed on a Monday and
the war museum on Wednesday) both of these are in walking distant from the Hotel or you can catch the little train which parks outside the hotel.

Overall the holiday was excellent, the hotel, food, weather and also the lovely ice creams.

Room Tip: A room at the far end of the hotel is quieter, ask for a high floor to get the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnglandDilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel is situated along the lake with stunning views.
The staff are excellent especially reception staff who are very helpful.
Breakfast was good but we preferred to eat out of the hotel in the evenings. However one criticism of Gardonne is that there were not as many cafes and restaurants as some of the other resorts on Lake Garda. However it was very tranquil in September and although some reviewers comment on the busy road, we did not find the road very busy at all when we were there.
Our room overlooked the lake and was comfortable.
We will visit Lake Garda again but would hire a car next time to see more of the other resorts around the lake. The boat service is nice but the timings are not too frequent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardone Riviera
23.0 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
573 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Florida
Hotel Villa Florida
#1 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
434 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Fasano
Grand Hotel Fasano
#4 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
942 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0.2 mi away
Hotel Savoy Palace
Hotel Savoy Palace
#6 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Gardone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Gardone

Property: Grand Hotel Gardone
Address: Corso Zanardelli 84, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#2 Family Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gardone Riviera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Gardone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1884 as the first hotel on Lake Garda, the Grand Hotel Gardone testifies the elegance and style of an era. The view of the lake is majestic and very picturesque, and becomes even more impressive with the ever changing light, sun and shades during the day and night. The hotel has 167 bedrooms and Jr. Suites with balcony, offering every comfort with a splendid view of the lake. Refined cuisine with local specialities can be enjoyed at a candlelight à la carte dinner on the terrace restaurant “Il Giardino dei Limoni” by the pool. The menu of the day is served at the lakeside restaurant with veranda, while at the pool snack bar you can have a quick informal lunch. The Winnie's Piano Bar offers the opportunity for a drink and dance after dinner. There is a private beach, a solarium terrace along the lake, heated swimming pool, whirlpool, sauna, steam bath, massage and beauty parlour, jetty for motorboats, internet points and Wi-fi in the whole building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Gardone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Gardone Riviera
Gardone Riviera Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Gardone Lake Garda/Gardone Riviera, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing