We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stayed in better”
Review of Hotel Villa Anthea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Anthea
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Garda
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at the Villa Anthea in September booked with crystal the room we were given was very small couldn't swing a cat in it was that small very clean and was kept that way but would not take much cleaning it was that small.As this hotel has just been converted I was expecting a little bit more.The shower room and toilet was also small and no place to put your toiletries but in the bidet but again very clean.Went to look at other rooms which were much more equipped with power shower in comfort and a sitting area so the answer is don't book with Crystal/Thomsons because I have noticed that their rooms in any of the hotels we have stayed in Garda are like this.The breakfast was alwright but nothing to right home about only two cereals flakes and muesli,the day we left we had an early pick-up we asked if we could have an early breakfast we were told we would get a packed one consisting of ham and cheese sandwich a peach an apple piece small piece of cake three small biscuits in a pack and a bottle of frizzaze water that not everybody likes,the older lady said that breakfast did not start till 7.30am but low and behold who turns up at 6.30am as we were waiting for pick-up guess who.In the crystals book on the table it said there was a night porter who we think we seen come down stairs at 6.15am who opened front door and said to us in broken English if anyone comes in tell them he will be back in 15 minutes if he was the night porter why is he not told to do early breakfasts,and as far as the noise is concerned if you get a room above front door be prepared for an early morning call about 5.30am as this is when the bin men come and again at 6.00am followed by delivery men also the street noise was on-going motor bikes racing up and down a main road that joins the main Garda to Riva road as we have been to Garda many times and stayed in better places that have the same star rating as this hotel and were much better but we could not get in but at a push we would return to this hotel but not with crystal/thomsons

Room Tip: Don't book with Crystal/thomsons they do not have the biggest rooms book with booking.com they s...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taybrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelvillaanthea, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Anthea, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you couldn't enjoy your holiday.
We are very surprised that you didn't appreciate the variety of our breakfast , as we offer fruit, croissant, cookies, cakes, eggs, bacon, chees, ham, salami, different kinds of bread, and a lot more. Usually, breakfast is from 7.30 to 10 and we use to prepare packed breakfast to take away for early departures, if guests prefer to have breakfast earlier we always try to satisfy their requests as far as possible, and if you remember we did it for you, opening the breakfast room and preparing you the breakfast. Of course, it was not possible to get everything ready for 6.30, an hour earlier than usual, but we did our best.
Moreover, we are sorry if you couldn't sleep well, but the hotel is situated in a central position and of course it brings advantages but also disadvantages, such as the noise on the street.
We hope to see you again in our hotel.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Anthea
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 210 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

Our family stayed in Garda in Italy on 21-28 Aug...we took 3 rooms, and all were clean, well equipped and comfortable. With an amazing location only 200m from gardas shops, restaurants, bus station and lake its the perfect place to base yourself. The family who run this hotel are friendly helpful and provide a wonderful service to its guests.The breakfast is great, fresh, always refreshed and a variety to choose from. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cass616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have just returned from a week staying at the Villa Althea in Garda and as all other reviewers have stated this is a perfect hotel. We had a double classic room at the back of the property very quite, with everything we needed for a stay. Only one point but it is not a criticism, it would have been nice to have tea and coffee facilities in the room. The breakfast was excellent, with a generous hot and cold buffet breakfast to cater for all tastes including freshly baked rolls, croissants and pastries, this was continually being replenished. The Hotel provided us with a packed breakfast, on the morning when we had a very early start to visit Venice, there was so much it provided us with breakfast and lunch. Others have listed all the facilities and the convenience of the location but what impressed us most as well as the cleanliness was the continual attention to detail and helpfulness of the staff nothing was left undone or thought of. The Hotel has a three star rating but it was 5 star as far as we were concerned would recommend this to anyone wanting a B&B Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OTDS E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Pleasant small hotel - clearly recently refurbished - well located for town centre and bus station (both a short walk away) - helpful welcoming staff - fridge in room really useful - pool although small refreshing for a dip, well maintained and poolside clean and tidy - breakfast good range on buffet

Room Tip: Room small but adequate - ground floor
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruthbuchanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

as previous reviews state, lovely and clean. room smaller than i would have liked but no problem. shower/bathroomm was excellent lovely hot water and a decent flow from shower. room was quiet. only critism was we paid for a balcony which we got, but had view of nexts buildings wall or car park below, and there were no table or chairs provided to sit on balcony which to me is the idea of having it.
road quiet and short walk to ferry point and other shops etc. only point is lack of path if you had little ones with you.
overall i would stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for room with better view that we had.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wendy063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was our 4th stay at Lake Garda and our first on a B&B basis. The hotel does look like a Villa from outside and is well laid out, clean and welcoming. The room is on the small side but it was comfortable, in good order and clean. It had a small balcony, a fridge and safe. The bed was comfy and the shower excellent. Enough about the room though as if you come to Lake Garda then you should rarely be in it.
The dining room was good with fresh food replenished and a nice relaxed air about it. The pool area is small but there was always space, beds and brollies every day and the pool a great place to cool off.
The small reception area had a sitting area and a wealth of info about Lake Garda and the surrounding area and the staff were extremely helpful with tips and advice on the numerous times we approached them.
The hotel is in a quiet street about 2-3 minutes from the lakeside and there is a supermarket and fruit shop only a 100 metres away which was nice.
Bed and breakfast was perfect for us as we were out and about almost everyday so it was nice to eat more casually without having to be curtailed by a hotel meal timetable and you need never worry about going hungry in Italy as the food, wine and ice cream is to die for.
The hotel is a perfect base for exploring the region with both the bus staton and ferry point being only a couple of minutes away.
We also had a family member with us for the first 4 days and she stayed in a single room. The online pictures of the room made it look claustrophobic but it was in fact very spacious and comfortable, so don't be put off by photo.
All in all we would recommend Villa Anthea.

Room Tip: We had front facing room which was nice. Not sure any of the rooms has a wow view due to location. S...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimjackie1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Booked a stay at this hotel! Perfect location, only minutes from the lake. Our room was a bit small but we soon got used to it - it was clean but basic as expected. The staff were friendly and helpful. One of the staff even took us in her car to meet our airport transfer. Pool is small but was fairly quiet so that didn't matter, it provided a perfect place to have a dip at the end of a long day. All in all, I was very happy with my stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Garda hotels
0.1 mi away
La Vittoria Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze
0.0 mi away
Sky Pool Hotel Sole
Sky Pool Hotel Sole
#9 of 49 in Garda
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Eden Garda
Hotel Eden Garda
#4 of 49 in Garda
262 reviews
1.2 mi away
Poiano Resort Hotel
Poiano Resort Hotel
#13 of 49 in Garda
1,570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#11 of 49 in Garda
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Anthea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Anthea

Address: Via Giotto 2, 37016 Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Garda
Price Range: $110 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Anthea 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Anthea is a family-run hotel in the city of Garda. The cozy and welcoming environment allows guests to enjoy their holidays feeling like at home thanks to the courtesy and helpfulness of the staff. The property is located just a stone’s throw away from the city center of Garda and from there you can reach the harbour in a couple of minutes by walking. Moreover, it is well connected by public transport. You will not miss relaxation and sport: the hotel’s location is ideal to practice sports, as kite surfing, windsurfing, sailing, golf, hiking, biking, etc. thanks to the numerous sport centres nearby. Alternatively, you can cool off in our whirlpool and swimming pool where you can dive in the fresh water or have a drink at the pool. Around the pool you will find the Solarium area equipped with sun loungers and umbrellas where you can relax, recover your energies and enjoy the warm summer sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Villa Anthea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Anthea Garda, Lake Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing