We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely little hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Virginia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Virginia
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Garda
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely little hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here in may with my boyfriend! The family who run the hotel were nice. The owners don't speak much English but their daughters do. The room was fine, very clean!! Breakfast each day was lovely. We knew it didn't have a pool but there was a nice area to sit outside. Overall our stay was good. If you're ok with not having a swimming pool then this hotel is great and its just a short walk down the hill to the lake!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tammy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
48
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Just back from a week long stay in Garda at this lovely little family run hotel. If you are looking for a budget hotel which rates far above it's two stars then you should certainly consider the Hotel Virginia. The family who owned it couldn't have been nicer, the room was spotless with a lovely modern bathroom and a suntrap balcony. I would recommend getting a room with a balcony for those afternoons when it's just too hot to do anything except sit and relax, although there is a nice wee outside patio surrounded by lemon trees. The breakfast was a good mixture of cereal, toast cake, fruit, cheese and ham, yogurts and coffee. Location wise it's an easy 5 minute stroll via a handy underpass to the centre of Garda yet the hotel is so peaceful and quiet. No pool area or garden so probably not a hotel for families wanting to spend time round the hotel grounds but for a base to explore the lake it was absolutely ideal. A genuine bargain and lovely owners, heartily recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scot628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Nearly cost me my marriage booking a 2 star hotel, but saved by the hotel. Very clean. Breakfast a bit basic but fresh and reasonable choice. Good coffee. In quiet area but very easy walk to local eateries etc. Less than 5 minutes to lake even if you have a limp or have had too much beer. Deserves its higher than expected rating.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Bluenose0116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We have just come back from a weeks holiday in Garda
We stayed at the hotel Virginia it is a lovely hotel spotlessly clean, you could eat off the floor. It is in a good location for the town about a 2 minute walk. The proprietors make you feel very welcome and are very obliging nothing is too much trouble for them. The breakfast is continental but it is the best continental breakfast we have ever had and it really set us up for day. We was sorry to leave. We also have to mention the lovely cleaner Angela she worked so hard and was so happy and cheerful. We would definitely recommend this hotel and we are already looking forward to going back and staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel has no swimming pool but I pressed by mistake and can't delete it is no detriment to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umbria, Italy
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We booked.....later my daughter and 17 month old rug rat decided to come as well so 2 rooms for a week. Emails and easy connections via the translations were accomplished without drama.
The rooms were interconnected via a small landing and were at the top of the hotel all alone and with sensational serenity......what a mind blower. Mamma and Papa were surely the most senior hoteliers left in italy but what they lacked in translation was made up in laughter.
Of course we all know that Italians hate children.....so you could imagine the funplay when the youngun appeared.

Rooms clean....no noise.....close to the lake & breakfast was entirely adequate and thankfully not British orientated. Garda is a busy tourist area so why waste money on sleeping.
The Virginia for price etc represents fantastic value and is sort of in a time warp that suits the whole persona of the place.

Room Tip: Try for the top rooms.....best if you need 2 rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mausgrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

'Does exactly what it says on the tin'.... Well if there was ever an 'apt' statement for a hotel this is it !!!

We stopped here during the last week July 2012.
It IS only a 3 star,....... but it is likley to be the BEST 3 star you stop at !!!!!

Clean?....I could eat off the floor !!!

Helpful?... The family staff (except Daughter) cannot speak English but MADE SURE that we got what we wanted...even if it mean't phoning their daughter late at noght or early in the morning. NOTHING was too much trouble !!!!

Location? ideal for short walk to Garda town and is on a quiet street.

Food? Simple and Great (You want to see what they did when we asked for a food bag for day out !!!)

Score 1= Poor / 5= Excellent

Service = 5
Cleanliness = 5
Food = 4
Location =5

Would I recommend it? .....Yes, without hesitation (providing you don't expect a rave or party !)

My only dissapointment? ....Taking so long to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanS-Stoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We have just returned from our third visit to Garda in 4 years. Each time we stayed at the Hotel Virginia. Having decided that we loved the area, Garda is our favourite resort on the lake. We wanted to try bed and breakfast as there are plenty of places to eat by the lake and nearby.
We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. It is spotlessly clean and the breakfast is ample - basic requirements of a b&b and only a few minutes from the lake. What made the hotel so wonderful for us was the friendliness of the family running it- from the special couple who own the hotel to their daughters who speak English but put up with my attempts to speak Italian. We have had the same room every time we go which is why it feels like our second home. How we wish it was ! When we return to Garda we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartynandJulie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Garda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Anthea
Hotel Villa Anthea
#10 of 48 in Garda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#21 of 48 in Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miro Hotel
Miro Hotel
#13 of 48 in Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#6 of 48 in Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Remat
Hotel Remat
#22 of 48 in Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Benaco
Hotel Benaco
#16 of 48 in Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Virginia

Property: Hotel Virginia
Address: Via Monte Baldo 19, 37016 Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Garda
#13 Romantic Hotel in Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Virginia 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Hotel Garda
Hotel Virginia Garda, Lake Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing