We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a 50/50 place!!”
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #43 of 49 Hotels in Garda
Reviewed July 3, 2010

Booked through inghams on a hotel on arrival and got the hotel royal. The staff are 50/ 50. some really helpful and others terrible (cant remember the name of one of them but she was really helpful and friendly). Rooms were a good size but very noisy and in need of an update. can hear everything (people snoring, showers ect.) The food in the hotel is deadful. Didn't even take dinner in the hotel it looked that bad and as they couldn't even get breakfast right wasn't worth it.

The A/C was terrible. even set at 10c you can't feel it.

The location was good. only a 10 min walk to garda centre and about 15 mins back as its a bit up hill but nothing too major.

The pool was good but could have done with a shallow end.

For the price we paid it was a good deal but wouldn't spend the full price.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSMU7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 146 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2010

We landed after a delay to be shown to the hotel fortunately it was dark
The night reception who could not speak english sent us to the wrong room we had to go back to the reception and swop rooms with a lovely couple who then got the room ,all this at 12 30 am !!
The room was small no pictures dark decor broken curtan rail and holes in the curtain .The balcony which was communal was littered with cigarette butts .The settee was broken and could not be used the shower if you could get in it had a mind of its own with the tap head spinning round if you put the water pressure too high .The food was basic with staff who always had a train to catch !! Needless to say we moved out but kept touch with some great people we had met on arrival thanks Douggie Eileen Robbie and June for making our holiday fun .This hotel should be reclassified as a 1 star and no more ...... STAY at your perril Older people beware as ground tiles etc are broken and uneven and you could fall .Oh and i musnt forget paper thin walls so you could hear all that was going on in adjoining rooms

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geoffersTyneAndWear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

Very surprised to read the many bad reviews this place recieves. Yes the hotel is somewhat oldfashioned and tired, but given its location close to Lake Garda and in beautiful Garda we enjoyed our holiday a lot and spent very little time in the hotel room.

The rooms are of an O.K. size and every room has a balcony which was very nice. Rooms are clean and kept clean every day, towels and other amenities are supplied every day. The pool area is very nice with a rather big pool, plenty of sun loungers and a quiet and relaxing atmosphere and it is possible to find a cool and shady place too. Other guest were quiet, relaxed and polite and seemed to enjoy their holiday.

The hotel is very conveniently located across from a nice park with play facilities for children, just a short pleasant walk from the lake and the city center and close to a small super market, a bank and quite a few restaurants and bars. We highly recommend the Tratoria Jolly, huge menu of lovely food from pizza to grilled sea food, very clean and staff very nice. Very god choice if you want to get away from the more touristy places by the lake.

To us the only real draw back was the food. Break fast buffet was O.K. but dinner very bland and sometimes overcooked and we are not fuzzy. If you can avoid do not opt for half board.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elmo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

we found very little space in the rooms, not suitable for families with small children. Be careful if booking with more than 2 children as you will be charged full price for any extra children that you have. Manager not at all helpful when we tried to settle our bill and were even told that we were stupid for booking the hotel the way we did. It was booked for us as we were part of a large group and were not aware that the third child would be full price.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank femmelaois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2009

We are from Malta and we were with a group Tour. We stayed from the 8-15 August 2009. The room was ok,you only have to give the reception a 5 euros deposit for an adaptor to charge mob or cameras.The bar was a bit poor,i asked for a blue caracoa and the barman told me that he never heard about it. No nuts or anything with drinks were given.The buffet breakfast was horrible, only bread which sometimes was very hard,cheap orange juices and cereals,boiled eggs,cheese,salami,ham and some cakes.Only on our first and last day there was croissants.The big disaster was the dinner, the buffet consists of 1 type of pasta which finally they admit that the leftovers of the pasta from the last dinner they bake it and use it for the buffet for the next day!! They only do 2 dishes and if it finish they don't bring more so you have to hurry and be on time for dinner.There was also some salad and cold pasta!! Then you have the main course:which you have to fill a form from a day before.Limited choise!! I don't like all type of pasta so i ordered penne al ragu which in Italy it should not be a problem!! The waiter came and told me that i can not have it because it is a problem to do al ragu so i had to order penne with plain red sauce because that is the only type of pasta that they can do.It was horrible,a plate with penne and only 1 spoon of red sauce!! The other day i ordered penne with white sause and the waiter told me it is ok and guess what?? He gave me a plate with pasta,no white sause,no oil,nothing!! I told him where is the white sause? He told me that it was a problem!! Then he told me that instead he is going to make me red plain sauce again but he did not do me fresh pasta he used the same one that it was supposed to be with white sauce,our tour leader went in the kitchen to see why he did the same pasta.The chef told him that they don't have any more pasta!! It is unbelievable but it is true!! Don't go in this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarioDarmanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

You get what you expect from a 3 star hotel.I can rate the food as 5 star,the sevice as well,the area is great ,only a few minutes from the center,My only complaint was the beds and pillows,too soft,Otherwise I really recommend it

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luqam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

we got our trip on lastminute.com with inghams so didn't actually know where we were staying until we landed in verona. my husband had never been on a package deal before so was suitably nervous but the hotel was lovely. it had a nice big bar area with outside terrace, a good sized pool with plenty of loungers, lift and slopes for wheelchair users too. there was a private balcony and air-con in our very clean room. decoration was basic but it was big, comfortable and had everything you need - tv, hairdryer, free safe and loads of space for clothes. it also had a sofa/extra bed. we stayed on a half-board basis where you have to share a table for the duration with another couple, some people coupled up under this arrangement whereas we bonded with our table partners by agreeing to eat at different times and never seeing them after our first encounter - though we did send each other notes occasionally! breakfast was a buffet with an eat as much as you like and keep returning if you wish attitude (which my husband enjoyed greatly) with a big jug of good coffee to keep you going. dinner started with a self-serve salad buffet then there were 2 courses (picked in advance) served direct to you followed by a help yourself pudding. the food was great and the amounts were good and i can't praise the staff enough. apparently vegetarians are well catered for according to a man on the next table. it was less than a 10 minute walk to the old town centre and the lake. the town itself being absolutely gorgeous with shops, cafes, promenades, ice cream to die for, friendly locals and a great market on friday mornings. we had a trip around the lake by a local tour operator which i'd also recommend. finally, we had to check out by 10am on the last day but weren't being collected until 4pm but the hotel has clean showers on each floor that you are able to use to freshen up after a final rush of present buying and people watching!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grrrrr21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Garda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palme & Suite
Hotel Palme & Suite
#44 of 49 in Garda
396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel Oasi
Park Hotel Oasi
#47 of 49 in Garda
169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#34 of 49 in Garda
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Benaco
Hotel Benaco
#16 of 49 in Garda
287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sky Pool Hotel Sole
Sky Pool Hotel Sole
#9 of 49 in Garda
627 reviews
0.8 mi away
Poiano Resort Hotel
Poiano Resort Hotel
#13 of 49 in Garda
1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Address: Via Don Luigi Sturzo 1, 37016 Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Garda
Price Range: $79 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palme Royal Hotel
Hotel Royal Garda, Lake Garda
Palme Royal Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing