We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcoming family hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Garden
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Garda
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A welcoming family hotel”
Reviewed October 26, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Garden at the beginning of July 2009 as part of our honeymoon. The hotel is a short 5 minute walk from the centre of Garda - far enough away to have some privacy and be away from the (sometimes noisy) lake front but close enough to easily walk in for the evening (even in heels!). We had a front-facing (2nd floor) Girosole room, with a balcony overlooking the outdoor swimming pool and great view of the lake. Whilst the rear-facing rooms have mountain views we would recommend paying a bit extra for the lake/pool rooms which seemed brighter and larger from the peek we had whilst the rooms were being cleaned.

The staff here are extremely helpful and take an obvious pride in their hotel and knowledge of the local area. Nothing was too much trouble. When we arrived we were given maps and information about Garda and the surrounding area as well as towels for the pool. The hotel is owned and managed by the Zermini family who take an interest in their guests and wish to ensure they enjoy their holiday. It being our honeymoon we were treated to a bottle of fizz and a congratulatory card from the family which was a really personal touch and much appreciated.

The hotel is very clean, bright, well-maintained and the rooms reasonably modern - the only slight downside was the bathroom which was a bit on the small side and the shower a bit of a squeeze but no big problem. Aircon is ok and available 24 hours. As well as the swimming pool (which we saw being cleaned every evening) there is a well-equipped gym and a number of tennis (clay) courts. (Free) Internet access (downstairs) is also available to guests - handy for checking in for the flight home.

We stayed on a half-board basis. Dinner was served at the table by staff and was plentiful but could do with being a bit more varied and was slightly on the heavy side. Decent wine list with a range of prices to suit all tastes and budgets. In summary, we felt thoroughly welcomed by the hotel owners and staff and would definitely return to the Hotel Garden on any future visit to Garda. In terms of service it was second to none.

We found Garda itself to be more 'touristy' than we had expected and the restaurants and bars tend to try to cater for German primarily but also British tourists. Our best find for an Italian feel during our stay there was Cafe Amaro (http://www.caffeamaro.it/) - very friendly, plenty of locals and chocolate cake/ dessert wine to die for!! There is alot to see and do around the lake. Bardolino is walkable, the rest accessible by ferry (but be aware that the ferries can be a bit pricey and you will need to plan when you get one for the return journey. We thought it would be like hopping on a bus every 10 mins but not the case).

A couple of suggestions for things to do:

At the south end of Garda, overlooking the town, is a large hill known as La Rocca. The walk up to the top is well worth the effort as the views are amazing - of both Garda and Bardolino.

Visit the outdoor opera in the centre of Verona just for the spectacle in the Roman amphitheatre (even if you are not into that style of music as Verona itself is worth a visit) but take a waterproof as the day we went it rained and delayed the performance by about an hour (it is not uncommon for the performance to be cancelled or cut short due to the weather). Once it started the performance of Aida was amazing and the atmosphere was well worth the wait. We pre-booked the tickets over the internet before we flew out and originally booked a hire car until the hotel informed us about the local bus service to Verona. Catch this at the bus station in Garda to Verona (takes an hour) and then during the opera season a special return bus runs leaves Verona about ½ an hour after the performance finishes (departure is held back if the opera overruns). Long day but good value bus service (approx 6 Euro per person I seem to remember!).

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SylvieA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    68
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
85
274
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2009

This is a gem of a hotel run by the Zermini family. The hotel, pool, gardens, fittness centre and tennis courts are very well kept. One of their mottos is 'It's like coming home.' and it realy is.

The food is a real delight, well cooked and well balanced.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ron03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2009

for the 5th year running we have stayed at the lovely hotel garden,and it never disappoints the food is very good the service excellent and all in a lovely friendly atmosphere thanks again the family Zermini for a lovely stay

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mercedes52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for a week and had a good time. Its position, about 3 minutes walk to Garda and the lake was good. Our room was a standard "mountain view" which was at the back of the hotel. The mountain view, was of a tree covered sort of hill, which was slightly disappointing as I expected something a bit better. However the room was a reasonable size, clean and comfortable with a balcony. The room had a flat screen TV and (unusual in my experience) lots of room to hang clothes, with plenty of coat hangers. The bathroom was roomy although the shower, while very efficient, was quite small. Luckily neither my husband or I are large so we managed, but I think someone who was bigger may have difficulties. We prefer to try out local restaurants when on holiday so we ate out most evenings although we were booked into the hotel on a half board basis. We did eat in the hotel a couple of times but found the food fairly average. 3 or 4 choices were available on the menu for each course, but the food was an uneasy mix of English, German and Italian cuisine, as if the hotel was trying to serve the same sort of food its guests might eat at home but with limited success. One thing that I did not like was that guests are asked at breakfast to choose their evening meal for that night. Unfortunately I don't know that early in the morning what I'll feel like eating at night so I found this quite difficult, The staff at the hotel were excellent. They were very friendly, pleasant and helpful, especially the manager who gave us lots of really useful information about the area. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We would go back to this hotel again and I would recommend it. However don't expect a slick, modern, snazzy hotel. It is an unpretentious, family run hotel in an excellent location for the town, the bus station and the ferries.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank libtek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2009

The Hotel and staff were brilliant. Warm welcoming and friendly. Excellent facilities.Delicious food and excellent wine. The room was most comfortable,clean and well decorated. The hotel is very well positioned for accessing the town of Garda as well as the surrounding area. All in all the service and welcome we received allowed us to relax and enjoy a wonderful week.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cooks88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2009

This is an hotel that deserves the highest recommendation. In an excellent location just minutes from the lake and village. The accommodation and meals provided are excellent value and of a high standard. The joy of our holiday was the friendliness of management and staff and how helpful they were at all times. Even maps, booklets and timetables provided for our excursions. Thanks for a memorable holiday - we shall return!
Alison and Lawrence (Swansea UK)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollySwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2009

Hotel Garden is a great family run hotel and I apologise for the delay in posting this review. We stayed here for one week of our honeymoon and had a really great time. Not a bad thing to say about this hotel: staff are friendly and helpful (champagne and canape reception for all guests at the start of the week was an excellent touch), food is great and they have an extensive wine list on which the staff are only too happy to provide advice. Extensive selection of drinks and fab lunch menu. One regret was not booking that lake view. Stayed half board and the choice of evening meal was more than sufficient and changed daily. Nice dining room with great views (staff kindly sat us at the window several times during our stay). We missed this hotel when we stayed in a much inferior hotel the following year at lake maggiore. Would recommend to anyone planning a trip to Garda.

Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JMACHOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Garda hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze
0.1 mi away
La Vittoria Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
Poiano Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#6 of 48 in Garda
583 reviews
0.3 mi away
Regina Adelaide Hotel
Regina Adelaide Hotel
#10 of 48 in Garda
374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sky Pool Hotel Sole
Sky Pool Hotel Sole
#5 of 48 in Garda
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garden

Property: Hotel Garden
Address: Via della Madrina 2, 37016 Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Garda
#2 Luxury Hotel in Garda
#2 Romantic Hotel in Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Garden boasts an enviable elevated position with stunning views overlooking the beautiful quiet waters of Lake Garda. The ideal stay where tradition and modern comforts form the perfect surroundings for relaxation or leisure. Situated in a sunny position and surrounded by trees the Hotel is located just 150 m from the lakefront and the historical centre of Garda. Behind the hotel a vast parking lot is available, and even private garages can be reserved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Garda
Hotel Garden Garda, Lake Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing