We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Drogheda, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“outstanding !!”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

where do we start?!
just back from the most wonderful 9 days in this fabulous hotel. first and foremost the staff are the warmest and most helpful group of people you could wish to meet on holiday! before we arrived to the hotel we needed some things organised and they could not have helped more. when we arrived the welcome we received was like meeting long lost friends. as for the food ! we cannot say enough, spectacular ! we ate in many restaurants in garda but none as good as this hotel, and the best value too. over the duration of our stay we made good friends with them all, especially the bar staff!! we can honestly say that its the cleanest and best run hotel we have ever stayed in and we have travelled many places in our lives.
we would really like to thank the girls from the reception for all the help with the little extras that we planned. nothing was a problem for them and they even took the time to give us extra information regarding things to do which made our excursions more exciting.
if you are looking for a hotel with great service then look no further.
the location and views from this hotel are breathtaking. It was our birthdays while we were there and the staff made it very special for us by laying out a special table and candles for our breakfast with prosecco and cake.
never have we said before that we would return year after year to a hotel but we are definately going back next year.
a million thanks from us guys!
see you next year
Dave and Jackie xx

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dcostello689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    139
    23
    9
    3
See reviews for
96
542
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Having just returned from eleven days of bliss from this great hotel, We have stayed in the Garda area over the last 15 years and in my opinium the Excelsior is by far the best.
Start at reception and you are greeted by a warm and genuine very caring staff, one in particular who helped me get my tablet working thanks
Having stayed there the last few years we asked if we could have our usual room (326) and got it as it has a beautiful lake view. The rooms might not be the biggest but with weather like that the room is only for sleeping. Next we come to the cleaning ladies who seem to be cleaning at all hours and are happy and friendly
Vito and his team of waitresses are so professional and at times really funny and nothing was any trouble and always willing to help. Dana is our favourite but they were all perfect
The hotel is just at the end of Garda but only a few minutes walk to the ferries and all the handbag shops . Bardolino is only a 30 minute walk along the lakeside .
We would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes good food and great staff

Room Tip: Booking early is essential
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank isaac t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here for 12 nights in June having booked direct with the hotel last May with free airport transfers. We booked room 410 deluxe side lake view on the top floor with a massive sunny terrace and were not disappointed. Although the rooms aren’t huge about 24 sq m the bathroom is very big with a double sink and big corner shower, no bath. The room was kept extremely clean and all the staff throughout the hotel were very friendly and helpful.
We had sun beds, table, chairs and parasol on the terrace and the sun all day until about 5pm when the large fir trees obscured it for a while. The only criticism is that for longer stays there is not enough hanging wardrobe space as half of the small wardrobe is taken up with their own fixed hangers. One section of the wardrobe had shelves. There are bedside tables and a dressing table but no drawers at all for storage.
Vito and his team of waitresses were fantastic, a huge asset to the hotel. The food was fab the best we have eaten abroad and we have stayed in many lovely 4 and 5 star hotels throughout the Med. A great choice at breakfast with lots of different fresh fruit every day and omelettes, fried eggs cooked to order. Also lovely croissants and pastries. The complimentary afternoon tea and freshly baked cakes were popular! For the evening meal there was an extremely good salad buffet to start and this varied every night throughout our stay. There were several choices for starters and mains, pasta, meat or fish and vegi options, always something that we enjoyed. The dessert buffets were very tempting from fresh fruit to panna cotta, tiramisu, mousse and cakes etc, spoilt for choice! The local rose wine was very pleasant and reasonable. We enjoyed an evening walk after dinner along the pretty flowered lined prom or into town.
Having toured a lot of the lake and area we definitely felt that Garda was the best town to stay in. The hotel is just a 5 minute walk to the ferries (these are expensive) and 10 minutes to the bus station. The buses are far cheaper and much quicker too. Our favourite towns were Garda, Sirmione, Lazize, Torri, Limone and Malcesine. We found Riva in the north quite windy. We walked along the prom to Bardolino, which took 45 mins and caught the ferry back as it was so hot. We also visited Verona by bus. A nice town with Romeo and Juliet’s balcony, the arena, Torre dei Lamberti Tower in the main square and other lovely buildings and statues.
We would definitely stay here again and recommend the hotel for everything, great location, rooms, food and dedicated staff.

Room Tip: Front or side lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SallyandKeith1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

my husband and i arrived back from holiday on Saturday the 12th July. We had such a great time in Garda especially the Excelsior le Terrazze hotel. On arrival we were given the choice of an upgrade room which we took at the cost 0f 100 Euro it was worth it.The room was fabulous very spacious the bathroom even had his and her sinks.( Room 336 if your interested). The staff were the most happy and helpful staff we have ever met in any hotel we have stayed in, especially Vito the head waiter.He had me laughing most of my stay there and the rest of the girls were really the friendliest you could meet nothing was a bother to them.On arrival the receptionist was very helpful too she turned out to have a great sense of humour pulling my leg a few times during our stay.My husband and i have been to Garda 4 times, stayed in a different hotel each time and we have to say this is the best hotel we have stayed in by far.So thank you all at the Excelsior for a great stay and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: rooms on the front would have the best view but the side rooms all have some view too
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sophiede190793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We have just got back home from our honeymoon at Lake Garda which is a fantastic place to visit and the hotel we stayed in was absolutely brilliant. The hotel Excelsior le Terrazze is a 2 minute walk from the centre of Garda and the staff and facilities are out of this world we booked room 404 and we had great views of the lake and surrounding area. We were well looked after and I would recommend this hotel to anyone the food was fantastic and they also helped in booking trips to Venice and other attractions. Fantastic honeymoon

Room Tip: On level 4 you can see beautiful views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I enjoyed a wonderful holiday at Lake Garda. The hotel was recommended by a friend and it exceeded our expectations. The rooms, facilities, location and service were all excellent. The hotel is just five minutes walk from the harbour where there are boundless restaurants and bars. The pool, bar and restaurant areas are all sleek and modern, and the staff are incredibly helpful. The breakfast choices, including complimentary morning prosecco (!) was incredible, plus free pastries and drinks from 4-5pm. The hotel isn't cheap, but it is definitely value for money if you want to really treat yourself. The lake has excellent, reliable transport links to other towns and attractions, via bus and ferry; definitely recommend Sirmione and Malcesine. The hotel receptionist Melina gave us all the information we needed.
As we booked direct, we also received free transfers to and from Verona airport; I only discovered this by chance, so recommend visitors make enquiries beforehand.
Wifi can be unreliable in the area unlike many international destinations nowadays.
The hotel website does not do it justice, it is a fantastic place to stay!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank CatR27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Just returned from a weeks stay
Brilliant views from the Terrace. Food was excellent and plentiful
Get a Lake View room and upgrade to Superior room if you can.
Staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough for you

Room Tip: Try for a Lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garda
0.2 mi away
La Vittoria Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Regina Adelaide Hotel
Regina Adelaide Hotel
#10 of 49 in Garda
389 reviews
1.5 mi away
Poiano Resort Hotel
Poiano Resort Hotel
#11 of 49 in Garda
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sky Pool Hotel Sole
Sky Pool Hotel Sole
#6 of 49 in Garda
502 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#7 of 49 in Garda
605 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze

Property: Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze
Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 6, 37016 Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Garda
#3 Family Hotel in Garda
#3 Romantic Hotel in Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Hotel Excelsior Le Terraze opened on the 1st of May, after six months of refurbishing. We have created larger and brighter rooms. Completely soundproofed with high levels of comfort and safety. The restaurant welcomes you in a relaxing and elegant ambiance with high levels of service. Rooms with air-conditioning, minibar, safe, coffee-making facilities, SAT TV, hair dryer. Balconies available. We offer standard, superior and deluxe rooms. Swimming pool with whirlpool, terraces overlooking the lake. Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Le Terrazze Hotel
Excelsior Le Terrazze Garda
Hotel Excelsior Le Terrazze Garda, Lake Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing