We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This was our third visit to the Excelsior and we thought that maybe three would be enough, we were wrong. We spend very little time in hotel rooms so booked a room at the back of the hotel which overlooked the car park. The rooms are beautifuly decorated in calming colours as is the rest of the hotel. Nothing takes the eye away from the views of the lake. The road outside of the hotel can get a little busy but Garda is a busy town and it all adds to the feeling of being somewhere real.

The pool area is lovely and well maintained. The standard of food is also fantastic with so many choices it would be almost impossible not to enjoy every meal.

Garda town is a five minute walk away. The ferries can be fun but a little expensive so use the local buses. The timetable is easy to follow but if you get stuck the staff at the bus station are happy to help. A return journey to Verona costs 8 euro per person.

Without a doubt the best thing about the Excelsior are the staff. Vito and his team run the resturant so well and a special mention has to go to Mirella and Saverio the bar staff.

We will be back next year.

Room Tip: Depends on your priorities, if you are happy to be poolside or out and about most of the day any roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    137
    22
    9
    3
See reviews for
94
535
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We booked a year in advance to get this superior side lake view. The superior room gave us greater space when getting ready, although we really wanted lake front. Vito was super for moving us in the restaurant to a more private table. The food and wine represented excellent value and is this hotels asset. We enjoyed cocktails, wine and lake views every night whilst playing cards. The lovey Saverio provided us with his warm hospitality and musical entertainment.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craigdriscoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have just returned from a 10 day stay at this lovely hotel. We had a room at the very top which had an enormous balcony with the most wonderful view of the lake. The only thing wrong with our room was the air conditioning unit which was very noisy; luckily we didn't need to use it overnight but, if staying in July or August when it would be very hot overnight, it would be too noisy to sleep through. Everything else about this hotel is excellent, all the rooms are spotlessly clean, the food at dinner is beautifully cooked with a good choice and the breakfasts are everything you could wish for from fresh fruit and yogurts, cereals, a variety of breads and rolls, croissant etc, cheeses and cold meats and lots of hot food; there was even a chef waiting to cook your eggs anyway you wanted. The main thing about this hotel though is that it is SO friendly, the staff are all lovely and so helpful which I think is the reason we met so many people who had been back several times. We also found the prices for drinks and lunch at the bar extremely reasonable, in fact cheaper than at a lot of the places in the town. A very slight disadvantage is that you have to walk about 100 yards along the main road before reaching the steps leading down to the lakeside and the town but this is a very small price to pay for staying at what must be the best hotel in Garda. We would have no hesitation in returning, in fact I'm sure that we will.

Room Tip: Only the front rooms have a full view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gadab0utgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This hotel just scrapes 4/5 for me and only because the staff are so friendly. The hotel itself is clean and well decorated, albeit simply. We were greeted with news that our superior room wasn't available as the previous occupants were sick and couldn't go home for a couple of days, so we had to make do with a standard room until then. The room was small, with a shady balcony, but adequate - although the bed consisted of two singles pushed together. Finally unpacked day 3 after discovering that we weren't going to get our superior room at all. Disappointing, but the staff were apologetic and these things happen - especially, I would think, when the average age here is on the mature side of 60 (at least it was the week we were here). We agreed appropriate compensation and didnt let it spoil our holiday.

The hotel is on a main road and we felt a little vulnerable walking down it, as it's without pavements. It's the only route into town though and it's not for long, but I would hesitate if with children. The road noise didn't affect us in our room, but we could hear it by the pool. The hotel is a short stroll from the ferry port and Garda town. The ferries offer a reliable service (unlike the buses!) and are a good way to explore the lake.

Breakfast offered a good variety, although a decent toaster would have been well received.

The pool area was well maintained. The hotel provided towels for the sunbeds and lido which was handy since we had forgotten to pack ours. We didn't use the lido area or the spa facilities 1.5km away, but I understood them to be complimentary when staying at this hotel.

The best thing about staying a week here is that they offered us free transfers from Verona airport when I enquired about arranging them. This is a big saving and a good reliable service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed for one week in september. Excellent hotel in a perfect location. Just a five minute walk to the lake an the ferry terminal. The staff were second to none an could not have done more for you both at breakfast time and dinner time. Vito and his staff were so helpful and i am gluten free an they couldnt have helped me more providing me with lots of gluten free alternatives. The pool area an the terrace were absolutely beautiful and a lovely place to start your day with breakfast. I would certainly return tothis hotel and would recommend to everyone

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharpiefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, Kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is indeed an outstanding hotel! We were warmly welcomed upon our arrival by a member of the reception staff who spoke excellent English. We were very fortunate to be upgraded to a room at the front of the hotel and had a superb view of the lake. The room was large and very comfortable with spacious en-suite facilities. Tea and coffee making facilities were also very welcome. Breakfast was a true experience with more choice than any hotel that we have stayed in. Unfortunately (and this is our only gripe!) the coffee was served barely warm but the choice of food was stunning. Whilst on the subject of food, a very nice touch is the free afternoon tea at 4.00 pm. We decided to book half-board and we were very glad we did. The dinners were excellent with a good variety to choose from. Vito and his restaurant staff could not have worked harder to ensure that everything was well presented and that diners had everything that they needed. He was also an excellent source of local information which helped plan the following days' excursions. We travelled around a bit using public transport but a word of warning - the buses rarely ran on time - if at all! The ferries across the lake however were totally reliable and ran precisely on time - you couldn't afford to be a minute late! One final tip - we booked this holiday independently, including the taxi transfer from Verona. We found that the cost of transfers was quite high but eventually discovered Travel Republic on the internet and they were charging almost half the price of other taxi firms but none the less provided very large and comfortable cars, even if the drivers did get us to and from the hotel in record time!

Room Tip: Front lake view rooms are definitely the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the_headmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We are pensioners and booked our holiday in January to go in September.. The room we were given was an insult and was more suitable for an18/30 holiday. The air conditioning did not work and the room was so small that we had to crawl over the bed to get the the other side of the room. When opening the window all we could see was a wall with a large silver pipe coming up from the kitchen, it was very noisy and the heat in the room was unbearable. The staff were very nice and we asked for someone to help with the air conditioning but they could not get it to work.
We were offered another room but it was only a single room. We spent the week cramped and uncomfortable but at least it had a small balcony.
What a dissapointment and insult to put any one in a room like that.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank elizabeth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
infoGarda, Direttore at Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Elizabeth,
I am sorry for your experience at the Excelsior, we do sell various kind of rooms, in the price range from 144 to 220 euro per room per night. Obviously rooms are quite different and you can find a description and plan of all of them on our website. The room you choose, as you wrote, is more suitable for a young client. Having booked as early as january, probably also other types of room were still available. During your stay we were fully booked, so we could not manage to offer you an upgrade. Booking directly with us gives us the opportunity to offer you the most suitable room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garda
0.2 mi away
La Vittoria Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Regina Adelaide Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sky Pool Hotel Sole
Sky Pool Hotel Sole
#5 of 49 in Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Poiano Resort Hotel
Poiano Resort Hotel
#10 of 49 in Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#6 of 49 in Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
13.6 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#4 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze

Property: Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze
Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 6, 37016 Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Garda
#3 Family Hotel in Garda
#3 Romantic Hotel in Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Hotel Excelsior Le Terraze opened on the 1st of May, after six months of refurbishing. We have created larger and brighter rooms. Completely soundproofed with high levels of comfort and safety. The restaurant welcomes you in a relaxing and elegant ambiance with high levels of service. Rooms with air-conditioning, minibar, safe, coffee-making facilities, SAT TV, hair dryer. Balconies available. We offer standard, superior and deluxe rooms. Swimming pool with whirlpool, terraces overlooking the lake. Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Le Terrazze Hotel
Excelsior Le Terrazze Garda
Hotel Excelsior Le Terrazze Garda, Lake Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing