We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Locanda San Vigilio
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich / Switzerland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A gem”
Reviewed April 25, 2010

This is a very small hotel with only a few rooms in a historic building, just by the lake of Garda. We had a double overlooking the small port. The room is spacious and decorated with antiques. Only the bed was not very comfortable and the pillows were a bit of a joke... A truly unique setting, very quiet and romantic. The staff is very helpful as you would expect. The restaurant, where also breakfast is served is just by the waterside.I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a romantic getaway in a quiet location.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maddog2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    34
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
25
76
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2008

The photos on the hotel's website completely fail to capture the aura of the place--the ancient stone, the statues in the niches, the old church, the incredible garden where one may have breakfast or dinner, the beautiful shaded hidden hideout near the lovely pool and the whole virtually extending far into the lake with unsurpassed views of Lake Garda (did I mention that the "inside dining" overhangs the lake and that cocktails are served on the dock of the little harbor in a vine-shaded arbor?) Our room (#5, pictures 3 and 5 on website) was beautifully furnished with antiques, had two windows overlooking the little harbor and an unbelievable "sunroom" with three arched windows, set deeply in stone walls, from which to view the wide expanse of Lake Garda, swans and families of ducks. The food at dinner while somewhat pricey was superb.

A few minor quibbles--the breakfast was not up to the standards of this price hotel--tasty but quite limited. The staff was friendly and accommodating, but other than the manager and fantastic wait staff, not very helpful. As to the day trippers--they made driving in and out through the avenue of stately cypresses a hazard but once inside the gates and on the cobblestones one saw nothing of them.

A truly memorable experience.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JackBAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2008

I am a bit late with my review of this wonderful hotel, but wanted to share our experience as we booked this hotel based on a review we read in Trip Advisor. We stayed 4 days in San Vigilio after giving careful thought where we wanted to be on the Lake. Unlike other towns along Lago di Garda, San Vigilio is quieter and not built up with large hotel complexes catering to bus tourism or families with small children. This property is unique in that it is in an old stone complex with church set in an extensive park (complete with olive trees) directly at the lake's edge. There are not many rooms and each is different. We were 2 couples and a dog and found our 'townhouse-style' freestanding building perfect. We had a separate entrance, private garden, common living room and 2 separate floors for the 2 different suites. The staff was attentive and friendly and breakfast at the water's edge or in the courtyard were special. We had dinner once at the hotel, but would recommend seeking out other local restaurants nearby. ("Osterie d'Italia," The Slow Food Guide, offers a few really great tips in the nearby towns!) Access to the beach (Parco Baia della Sirene) is free for hotel guests (other visitors must pay and generally make a day of it) and was great in off-season. The water was refreshing, the sun still warm and the water clear and calm. Even our dog was allowed her swims at the park's edge! The only draw-back here is that non-hotel guests, curious to get a closer look at the hotel, stream in through the small stone road passing the entrances to the suites and rooms--thus disturbing the otherwise 'private' feel of the hotel grounds. There is an outdoor bar at the water's edge for enjoying a glass of any of the area's famous wines and bringing the day to a fine end. San Vigilio itself offers a great departure point for sight-seeing, festivals and wine-tasting and boasts a unique location on the lake and its extensive gardens. The only negative remark I have is that, like most all older properties in warmer climates, there are bugs in the rooms. Our rooms were equipped with plug-in bug repellent devices, but these did not ward off the dangerous-looking centipedes that came out at night from their hiding places behind the wooden beams. We all survived unscathed so that this seems a minor drawback to such a fine place.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelingwithdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2008

This is a very pretty hotel with great views over Lake Garda.
We booked at the last minute and our room wasoverlooking the lake but we had walk down the coridor to our bathroom. This wasn't the end of the world and made our room cheaper which was a plus.
It is a very clean old fashioned hotel, the staff are very friendly and helpful.
The restaurant is very expensive and the lunch bar on the beach only has cold salads etc. Pool was shut when we were there but lovely sunloungers on a lawn overlooking the lake.
Very pleasant hotel but 3 days in about right, any longer and you may get cabin fever.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Fritzvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londinium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2007

Great hotel right on lake garda. very romantic seting and start to our honeymoon. imagine very busy with tourists in peak onths but beautiful. restaurant brilliant but expensive

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HBOMBLondinium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2007

This 12-room hotel is in a historic building on Punta San Vivigilio, a 5-minute drive north of the town of Garda. It's located directly on the lake front. You sit on the balcony of the dining room at breakfast and feel like you could dive straight into the lake from your table. Our room (#2) was small and rather ordinary. We had a pleasing lake view. At 350 Euro, it was no bargain. There is a small harbour and the hotel's web site has pictures of luxurious Italian speedboats moored there. When we were there (in August) the water was too low and was choked with sea plants; not very picturesque. Located on the same property is a public beach which brings large crowds during the day. It is, however, separated from the hotel grounds; the main issue is the traffic it brings. If I were to return to Garda I would stay in one of the towns at the north end of the lake. The lake is much prettier (fiord-like) and the towns are less crowded than those at the southern end.

  • Liked — The lakeside location
  • Disliked — The room was very ordinary, especially for the price
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TrapezeFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2007

Beautifully located. Just see the pictures on their website. We loved it. Privat garden overlooking the Lago di Garda. For a high-end stay I give it four, cause it was a little bit of a sleepy and tired attitude.

  • Liked — The unique location at the Garda lake
  • Disliked — A little bit of a tired feeling, the would need to update some features
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Lugageboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Garda hotels
1.6 mi away
La Vittoria Boutique Hotel
1.8 mi away
Regina Adelaide Hotel
Regina Adelaide Hotel
#10 of 49 in Garda
388 reviews
3.0 mi away
Poiano Resort Hotel
Poiano Resort Hotel
#11 of 49 in Garda
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze
2.5 mi away
Hotel Eden Garda
Hotel Eden Garda
#13 of 49 in Garda
202 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sky Pool Hotel Sole
Sky Pool Hotel Sole
#6 of 49 in Garda
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda San Vigilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda San Vigilio

Property: Locanda San Vigilio
Address: Punta San Vigilio, 37016 Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda San Vigilio 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Locanda San Vigilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda San Vigilio Garda, Lake Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing