We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No major complaints”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Marco Polo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Marco Polo
Ranked #47 of 48 Hotels in Garda
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“No major complaints”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2008

Myself and my 16 year old daughter visited Lake Garda between 6th and 13th August 2008. We enjoyed our stay at the Marco Polo Hotel. The hotel is situated in beautiful grounds with lots of lovely trees and flowers around. It has a wonderful, breathtaking view of Lake Garda and the mountains from the hotel terrace. even if you have to face a healthy trek uphill to reach it. While we agree that this situation should be brought to your attention before your stay there, it is by no means undoable even by a lazy teenager laden down with shopping bags. It has 2 nice swimming pools, tennis courts, table tennis facilities, sunloungers and picnic tables around the pools.
Our room was a decent size as was the bathroom which contained a hairdryer which was very useful. The room was cleaned every day (even on Sunday!) and we were provided with fresh towels every day and one of change of sheets. Even one day when wthe cleaners came and we were in our room, they did not disturb us but still hung fresh towels on the outside of the door to ensure we had fresh towels that day. There was ample storage space in the room as well as use of a safe which was free and a TV.
Having booked half board we found the food adequate although not exceptional. The dishes were simple but we were always well fed. However if you wish for a vegetarian main course you must mention this to the waiter as there is no vegetarian option. They will conjure something up for you. The waiters were always very friendly and helpful, even if their English wasn't perfect, they made the effort to communicate with you. One of the waiters even reminded us that the market was on on the Friday (we had forgotten and would have missed it only for him). The bar staff were also very friendly and drinks were fairly priced.
Whilst there is no denying the fact that the decor is somewhat dated, it is by no means offensive or "grotty" (as described in another review) it should not affect the overall quality of your stay in Lake Garda. Even on the days that we did trips out and were going to miss dinner, the waiters prepared a packed lunch for us to take with us so that we did not miss out.
Overall everyone shares the same interest in making your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible and this shows in the pride every member of staff takes in doing their job. If you are fully sensible of the wonders of Lake Garda and its surrounding area, you will not let the minor faults of what is otherwise a more than acceptable hotel do anything towards lessening your enjoyment of a potentially superb holiday. I would quite happily stay there again.

  • Liked — The staff and the view.
  • Disliked — The lack of AC and the uphill walk.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Millere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    49
    52
    45
    62
See reviews for
61
87
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2008

The Marco Polo Hotel has a three star rating which it most certainly does not deserve. The rooms, decor and general appearance of the place is well past its sell by date; the entire site being in need of a complete refurbishment.
By far the worst aspect is the standard of catering. We endured three evening meals before opting to eat out for the rest of our stay.The food on offer can only be described as "slops"; our family pet dog is served better quality food. As for the service, if you are German, no problem, lots of forelock tugging, grovelling, and eager to please. If you belong to any other nationality, forget it.
To get to the lakeside requires guests to make their way down a steep winding road and risk their lives walking along a very busy highway with no proper provision for pedestrians. If your fit, healthy, and used to walking you can get to the Garda center in 20 minutes. However, this walk is not recommended after dark unless you take a fluorescent jacket and carry front and rear lighting.
Lake Garda is a wonderful place, beautiful scenery, lots to see and do, great restaurants, and friendly helpful locals. You will have a great holiday there but avoid the Marco Polo Hotel.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank OctoberStudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Garda hotels

Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2008

Have just got back from Marco Polo on a very cheap deal, hence expectations weren't too high and were fully met! The Hotel urgently needs: 1. Air Con - we hit temps of 35 degs and it was unbearable in the heat. 2. To be much more honest about the location - it's a killer walk in heat and partly along busy main road - where's the shuttle bus? 3. To give the whole place a makeover - it's a fantastic setting with great grounds and lovely views but the decor is knackered. 4. Don't assume we're all Germans (although my family do look it). - the food and 'culture' surrounding the hotel is heavily dominated by Germans & Austrians - hence every main course at dinner was essentially a german dish. 5. Explain how the dining room works, too!
Great waiters. Fantastic setting. Just about worth it on a cheap deal but I'd be very unhappy to arrive there having paid full whack.

Looks like a great place for young families with all facilities on site so long as you have access to a car.

  • Liked — The setting
  • Disliked — The lack of modern facilities eg Internet, Minbar, Air Con
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank HampshireNorm51058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2008

The room we were allocated was right under the bar/lounge area of hotel. All day and night we heard chairs scraping across the floor - being dragged to and from the tables. The serving of food in the evening was always rushed, 18:30 they wanted to get rid of you asap so they could prepare for the 20:00 sitting, This sitting was rushed also so the staff could clean up and go home, I did not feel, as a paying customer that my comfort and enjoyment of my stay was important enough to the staff at this hotel, For 2 days we had no towels left in the bathroom. There was a walk up a hill to the hotel, this is mentioned but it is really steep. I will not be returning to this hotel. It needs a full make over inc. air-conditioning to bring it into the 21st century.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the food, the room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamroyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2008

After spending some blissful days with my partner and our two and a half year old son in and around Merano we travelled to Garda. The Marco Polo hotel had been booked by my partners’ sister and her Italian boyfriend who were travelling to join us the next day.
From the moment we drove into the grounds of the Marco Polo I felt uncomfortable. Having read the reviews on trip advisor for this hotel before travelling I noted one previous hotel guests comment about only getting good service if you are German, I noted this but thought I would give the hotel a chance.
As soon as the hotel receptionist realised we were not German speaking her attitude became extraordinarily cold, I have never received such a hostile reception in any other hotel in the world.
A lake view had specifically been requested in our booking and when I asked if this was possible we were told very abruptly that this was not possible as the hotel was fully booked.
We were then given the keys to our room and sent on our way without even a smile. The fact that we were travelling with a small child did not enter the equation as we were booked into without a doubt the worst hotel room I have ever seen.
The room itself was dark and depressing; the light bulb wattage was far too low. It was located in a dark corner of the hotel. I had expected the furniture to be basic but nothing prepared me for the dreary layout of the room. The floor was a very cold blue tile and the bathroom was dank and the shower floor dirty. The wardrobe door was broken and hung from its hinges ready to fall at any time (bad enough in itself but no consideration given to the danger this posed with a small child).
When we opened the doors to try and let some light into the room the external shutter was broken and when we managed to ram it open it led directly into the grounds of the resort meaning with such a small child we could not even open the doors.
Never before this experience has a hotel room brought me close to tears, (I am usually more than happy to stay in the most basic of accommodation as long as it is clean and bright and the atmosphere is friendly).
Suffice to say we made an extremely fast exit even then our car had been chained in as we had inadvertently parked in staff parking (there was no sign highlighting this)
We were booked into another hotel within half an hour and only returned to collect our passports. We were not asked why we were cancelling our reservation or even if there was anything the hotel could do to amend things.
This experience was the only dark spot in an otherwise fantastic experience in this region of Italy.
I would strongly advise avoiding this hotel - it will ruin any time of your holiday you spend here.
Perhaps if you are German you have a better chance than we did!

  • Liked — Absolutely nothing
  • Disliked — Everything about this hotel.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank YoungFamilyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2008

Me and my husband, we passed a week to the Marco Polo Hotel,
and we had a very good welcome from the staff.
Due to a problem in our shower, suddenly the general manager
offered to move to a better room and they offer as well a good bottle of Bardolino wein.
The staff of the restaurant was very kind and they took care of us.
The Buffet was with a good choise, and the food always very fresh.
The maitre of the restaurant was a very nice and gentle lady, that
was very friendly .
We will return next year !

  • Liked — the greeting
  • Disliked — slightly far from the center
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank honeymoonlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa de las Americas, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2008

Stayed in Marco polo in september whilst in Garda. thought the views from the terrace overlooking the lake was breathtaking, the mountanious setting provided a very beutiful backdrop. ive read the complaints about the staff and yet i struggle to think of anything i could criticise them on, they even rang up to get me sky so as i could watch a football match. The kitchen staff were very friendly and accomadated us even when we arrived late for dinner after visiting Venice!!! rooms cleaned every day and lets face it you get alot more than what you pay for!!! would go there again and highly recommend Lake Garda, would go in a heartbeat again!!!!!!!!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank djmmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Garda hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Palme & Suite
Hotel Palme & Suite
#44 of 48 in Garda
3.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Hotel Oasi
Park Hotel Oasi
#46 of 48 in Garda
3.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#43 of 48 in Garda
3.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Appartamenti Pratone
Appartamenti Pratone
#35 of 48 in Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parco del Garda
Parco del Garda
#33 of 48 in Garda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#30 of 48 in Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marco Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marco Polo

Property: Hotel Marco Polo
Address: Via Dei Cipressi 8 | Loc. Como, 37016 Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 48 Hotels in Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marco Polo 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marco Polo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Hotel Garda
Hotel Marco Polo Garda, Lake Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing