We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Regina Adelaide Hotel
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Character Hotel could be doing with a make over, our room was small with one window looking onto the Lake but was disapointed wih the fact that you could not see the lake, we had half board and on the main the food was good but very small portions I will agree with the comments about the head waiter had no customer care qualities he was frightened to let himself go and got mixed up while taking our order and blamed his staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank orangeCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 429 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

A lovely "character" Hotel. The location was superb and the staff very friendly.

We were half board and the food during our stay was wonderful.

Slight disapointment that you couldn't see the lake because of the mature (and protected) trees, but otherwise our room was large and very pleasant.

Room Tip: "Lake facing"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My mum, sister and I have just returned from a lovely week at this hotel. We were on a half board basis and the food and service were just first class. Our room was spacious and very clean - the out door pool, bar, dining and reception rooms are very comfortable. This is an old fashioned comfortable hotel with good standards not to be confused with the newer modern 4* hotels with their emphasis on all mod cons! The wifi was fine and the only tvs to be seen are in your room with only basic tv channels available. No on demand films etc etc. I didn't see many facilities for young families within the hotel, which makes this more an adult environment and with their prices tends to attract older visitors. If your budget stretches to it go half board - the food is just fantastic, fresh and varied. As others have mentioned the location is hard to beat: 50 yards from the lakeside, 200 yards to the bars and shops but quietly off to one side with parking if you need it. We will def. stay their again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindaree146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Although I am giving five stars for our excellent stay in August, I am going to comment on the restaurant staff. I was not going to write this report until I read a recent one which mentioned the head waiter. First things first: the standard of cleanliness and the upkeep of the hotel was excellent. The food, both breakfast and dinner were of superb quality and most of the staff were very friendly indeed. We did, however, have issues with the head waiter. From the first day, it was obvious that there were certain guests he had decided that he had to faun over and others that were not as important. On one occasion a waiter dropped a spoon. Hardly a crime; but the look he received from the headwaiter was quite appalling. On one evening, it became obvious that our past had been forgotten. Not a problem, really. But the attitude of the head waiter was not at all good. The rest of the restaurant staff were excellent. We received our pasta and thought no more of it. The next evening he totally ignored us and, quite comically, would not even walk past our table. He made grand circuitous routes around the dining room so he did not have to be near us. It was so obvious. On the last night he had to take our order and made no attempt whatsoever to really speak. A very rude man. I still give the hotel five stars, however, as we were very impressed by (almost!) everything and everybody.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChrisCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

One of the striking experiences is meeting the other guests many if whom have returned to this hotel many many times. The rooms are spacious, spotless, the service prompt and attentive. The restaurants of first quality. Parking available wrens thhe free wifi. Although it requires frequent reliogging in. They also have king sized beds which are welcome. In room hospitality fridge and lots of closet space. We will return again.

Stayed: September 2012
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We arrived with our friends and were immediately offered one room as an upgrade ( we had booked suites). Both rooms were lovely and had large balconies looking in the direction of the lake, which was hard to see but only because of the height and amount trees. Breakfast was very good with nice crispy bacon and scrambled eggs, plus a good choice of breads, pastries and cold meats etc. They also had "English breakfast tea" which is a bonus to those of us who prefer tea to coffee at breakfast. The head waiter did seem a bit stuffy but offered a good service. The wifi was free and worked in our rooms, which is essential for someone like our friend and I, who both need to be in contact with work, even when we are on holiday! Francisco at reception spoke excellent English and was very helpful in telling us about the area and where to go for a boat trips and many other places of interest. His service was outstanding.

Room Tip: I believe the rooms seem to vary in size and position. The best I believe overlooking the lake. Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Just back from a fabulous week's holiday in Garda.

Stayed in room 318 - A deluxe room with lake view? Room excellent in terms of size, and the balcony, but lake barely visible through all the trees so not worth the extra cost.

The Regina Adelaide is in the perfect location, and has excellent facilities. But sorry to say the reception staff are not at all friendly, if anything ignorant and pretentious. The restaurant staff are courteous and extremly efficient, but we felt this was more out of fear from the head waiter who, in our opinion had no people skills what-so-ever, and failed to muster a single smile all week, hence we preferred to eat elsewhere. Sad considering the cost of this place. And my advice to those people would be to take lessons from the lovely hotel porter and cleaning staff who were wonderful - more staff like these required !!

Oh yes, and anyone under 60 need not apply. My husband and I are mid to late forties and were considered the youngsters. Definitely felt more like a retirement home than a hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garda
2.8 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0.3 mi away
La Vittoria Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Poiano Resort Hotel
Poiano Resort Hotel
#11 of 48 in Garda
1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
1,230 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aqualux Hotel Spa & Suite Bardolino
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eden Garda
Hotel Eden Garda
#4 of 48 in Garda
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regina Adelaide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regina Adelaide Hotel

Address: Via San Francesco d'Assisi 23, 37016 Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Garda
#4 Luxury Hotel in Garda
#6 Family Hotel in Garda
#6 Romantic Hotel in Garda
Price Range: $207 - $588 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Regina Adelaide Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with a long tradition located in the center of Garda just few steps from the lake. Offers stylish rooms and suites with allo modern comforts. Two swimming pools, SPA with beaty treatments, two restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Regina Adelaide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Adelaide Garda
Regina Adelaide Hotel Garda, Lake Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing