We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Regina Adelaide Hotel
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We arrived with our friends and were immediately offered one room as an upgrade ( we had booked suites). Both rooms were lovely and had large balconies looking in the direction of the lake, which was hard to see but only because of the height and amount trees. Breakfast was very good with nice crispy bacon and scrambled eggs, plus a good choice of breads, pastries and cold meats etc. They also had "English breakfast tea" which is a bonus to those of us who prefer tea to coffee at breakfast. The head waiter did seem a bit stuffy but offered a good service. The wifi was free and worked in our rooms, which is essential for someone like our friend and I, who both need to be in contact with work, even when we are on holiday! Francisco at reception spoke excellent English and was very helpful in telling us about the area and where to go for a boat trips and many other places of interest. His service was outstanding.

Room Tip: I believe the rooms seem to vary in size and position. The best I believe overlooking the lake. Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 429 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

Just back from a fabulous week's holiday in Garda.

Stayed in room 318 - A deluxe room with lake view? Room excellent in terms of size, and the balcony, but lake barely visible through all the trees so not worth the extra cost.

The Regina Adelaide is in the perfect location, and has excellent facilities. But sorry to say the reception staff are not at all friendly, if anything ignorant and pretentious. The restaurant staff are courteous and extremly efficient, but we felt this was more out of fear from the head waiter who, in our opinion had no people skills what-so-ever, and failed to muster a single smile all week, hence we preferred to eat elsewhere. Sad considering the cost of this place. And my advice to those people would be to take lessons from the lovely hotel porter and cleaning staff who were wonderful - more staff like these required !!

Oh yes, and anyone under 60 need not apply. My husband and I are mid to late forties and were considered the youngsters. Definitely felt more like a retirement home than a hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My husband and I have just returned yesterday after a great ten night stay at the Regina Adelaide. This is a great hotel in a fantastic location, you really couldn't get much better. It is far enough away from the busier section of the Garda lake-front without being too far out.

We had a superior room, number 222, and we couldn't really have asked for better. Our booking had stated this was a garden facing room and it is, but it also looks onto the lake which although has a lot of trees in front is still really nice to be close to. We also had a small balcony which was great for sitting on in the early evening when the temperatures cooled a bit.

The room was kept very clean and well serviced. Only complaint my husband had, was that there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room which you would normally expect.
Only complaint that I had was the hair-dryer. This was a wall mounted dryer with a hose coming from it and it kept cutting out so it took an age to dry my hair. That said, my hair is exceptionally thick so I think most people would be fine. Next time I would take my own with me but that was a minor issue.

Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice available and the staff all very keen to please. We were on a bed and breakfast basis only so can't comment on the evening meal that others who had booked half board were having, but by all accounts it was very good. We did eat in the à la carte restaurant and this was really good so can only assume that the half board option would be good too. Good local wines are also available in the bar and restaurant.

The public areas are all very pleasant and the pool area is very nice too with a little pool bar available for drinks and snacks. Wi-Fi is available in the main reception area as is a desktop for your use.

Overall we had a great time and would highly recommend this hotel. We would definitely return to the Regina Adelaide and will probably do so next year for a few days, it's a great hotel.

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms are quieter than those facing the main road which can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pollycameroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We chose this hotel because of it's quality and service and were not disappointed. We had a superior room which was quite adequate for our needs and was serviced spotlessly every day. The food at the hotel is excellent and the prices for wine were fine.

The hotel is very well located but far enough away from the lake shore bars and restaurants to have no noise problems. There are also plenty of public rooms and facilities to spread out and enjoy.

Pool and bar area are lovely and relaxing with plenty of sun beds, tables etc.

I must also say that the staff throughout were excellent and very helpful and helped make the holiday.

I'll certainly return!

Room Tip: Lovely hotel and all rooms quiet given hotel at least 400 yds from lakeside bars and restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We returned to the Regina Adelaide for the third time and once again we had a wonderful holiday. The hotel is situated by Lake Garda and benefits from excellent facilities. The staff are extremely efficient and helpful,the food is superb and the rooms are lovely. The wine list of predominantly Italian wines is extensive and contains some locally sourced gems.

Room Tip: There are lots of lovely rooms with balconies or terraces .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaBrH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We paid 235 Euros a night via Booking.com for a Superior Room with breakfast. The room was so small as to be claustrophobic. If you moved an armchair to get to the safe then you couldn,t get to the side of the bed. After two nights we asked for a larger room and had to pay an additional 70 euros a night for a junior suite. The junior suite was a large room and was fine but not worth 300 euros a night. In other respects this is a fine hotel: nice grounds, pleasant public rooms, very professional staff and an outstanding breakfast. Perhaps the prices are higher for independent travellers and better prices are available through package deals. On the last day we paid 100 euros for a late checkout at 17.00 and the maid refused to make up the room for the day and I had to go to reception for a variation in the rules. Even some of the staff told us that some of the rooms were too small - without any prompting from us.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights B&B basis in July. The hotel made the holiday and we would recommend it as a place to stay in Garda. The room 318 was large, spacious and wonderfully cool, with a large balcony overlooking the lake (which you could just see through the trees). Breakfast was super and plenty of choice for all tastes- fresh fruit and croissants were excellent. We ate in the hotel on our last evening and the food was very good but pricier than other restaurants in the town. Garda itself did not have an abundance of really good restaurants, although we found one around the corner from the hotel-Cafe Amarro that was to our taste, a family run trattoria. Garda does get very busy at night with campers from the many sites around coming in to the town and many of the restaurants have music -sometimes too much too close together. It is easy to get to Verona - a fantastic city we intend to come back to and the ferry service makes all the other towns on the lake very accessible. If you want shopping Garda is not great, many of the shops sold the same things and they were rather touristy. Bardolino is close by and much better for shops or of course Verona is superb. All in all we enjoyed the hotel and the evening Aperol spritz sitting outside before we headed out for dinner in the town. Staff were friendly and courteous and the pool quiet and relaxing. As for the sunbeds being booked and then people wandering off - I just removed the towel left on the bed if there were no other belongings beside it and lay down. No one came back, I think people forget to return the used towel to the laundry bin when they leave.

Room Tip: The balcony in the junior suite seems to be bigger than the smaller rooms, it was large enough to si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PLBNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garda
2.8 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0.3 mi away
La Vittoria Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Poiano Resort Hotel
Poiano Resort Hotel
#11 of 48 in Garda
1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eden Garda
Hotel Eden Garda
#4 of 48 in Garda
271 reviews
22 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
1,227 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aqualux Hotel Spa & Suite Bardolino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regina Adelaide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regina Adelaide Hotel

Address: Via San Francesco d'Assisi 23, 37016 Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Garda
#4 Luxury Hotel in Garda
#6 Family Hotel in Garda
#6 Romantic Hotel in Garda
Price Range: $206 - $588 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Regina Adelaide Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with a long tradition located in the center of Garda just few steps from the lake. Offers stylish rooms and suites with allo modern comforts. Two swimming pools, SPA with beaty treatments, two restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Regina Adelaide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Adelaide Garda
Regina Adelaide Hotel Garda, Lake Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing