We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residenza Turistico Alberghiera Doria
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Garda
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here during August.

Having been to Lake Garda before we decided that self catering apartments would be the best option with our 2 year old.

However, although the apartment was large and gave us extra space that a hotel room wouldn't have and it was very clean it was just very basic and just lacked that something.

It was cleaned daily, beds made daily and clean towels every other day. The helpful staff spoke good English and were very nice when we spoke to them. We paid for the air-con as it was very hot and it was much needed. We used the swimming pool several times at the Imperial Hotel - just next door to the apartments.

It was about a 10 minute walk from the lake and 5 minutes from the local bus stop.

Lake Garda is just beautiful and Garda itself is lovely but we did prefer to stay in neighbouring Bardolino.

Lovely holiday with very clean but basic apartment.

Room Tip: We asked for a room at the back to avoid the noisy road traffic.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gem97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for Residenza Turistico Alberghiera Doria
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 63 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in August 2012. I honestly can't fault the place at all. The place is really clean and rooms are very large and really clean. The staff are really nice and really freaky, thiervenglish is also very good. It's just a few minutes walk from the town shops and lake Garda. The rooms are cleaned daily. The place is really well secured with steel doors and metal stutters on each patio doors, although there is no need for either as the hotel is is a really nice part of the town.the hotel does not have a pool but you can use the hotel next door for free is want but seen as the lake is only 10 minutes at most we used the lake every day.there is also free wifi in the hotel and bar area.The food and breakfast is also nice too. The food and shops are really nice in the area also. I really cannot fault this hotel at all. It's rated as a 3 star but is really really nice and would recommend it anyone, I will definitely be returning to here and will try to stay in this hotel again. I had a beautiful holiday here and highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Madeinateapot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We love going to Italy but it can be expensive to stay there so we went for these basic self-catering apartments. They were spotlessly clean and the staff were very friendly. We were able to use the pool at the hotel next door and it was lovely too with friendly staff. The great thing about apartments too was that it only took ten minutes to get to lake and bus station even closer so we could get to gardaland and aquapark easily.

I would definitely recommend to anyone on a budget as it is so close to garda town and the atmosphere lovely because of the friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JoMoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed at Doria Apartments for 10 nights at the end of September and totally loved it. Yes, Garda was breathtakingly beautiful and a great base for touring the surroundings, but we were especially happy with the accommodation. We had our 11 and 7-year-old sons with us and it was good the apartment was so large and we really felt it was more like a home than some hotel room. The furniture was solid and of good quality, everything was clean and there was lots of storage place.

The tourist information was basically next door and it was a short walk to the bus station. In fact it was good that it was not right at the lake front, because I'm sure there would have been more noise in the evening and we loved the idea of going to a local supermarket etc. We soon discovered that you could get the best pizza at a restaurant just a few metres along the road, the best fruit next door, the best rolls around the corner and the best prosciutto at a supermarket on Via Luigi Galvani.

We did not order breakfast, but sometimes just bought capuccino and croissants from the bar downstairs. One day my husband went so late they there weren't any left so the lady was so kind as to run outside and fetch us some. Very good service in all ways!

We've been back home for a month now, but we still miss Garda, our apartmet and of course the warmth :)))))

Room Tip: We stayed in room 102 and it was really nice
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Triin11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

My family and I booked the Doria Apartments as part of a Thomson package holiday - and we were not disappointed. We chose these apartments as we wanted the flexbility of self catering accommodation, as well as a spacious place for three people. In the apartment, a kettle was provided, there were two hobs, a pan, plenty of cutlery etc (although not a toaster - we took our own). Although not the most luxurious of places, the room was clean, comfortable and very spacious. We also paid the extra 55 euros for the air con (which was much needed!) The only negative comment would be that our apartment faced the road which did have quite a lot of noisy traffic in the evenings. However, it did not prove too much of a problem for us.

The Apartments are also brilliantly located. It is no more than a ten minute walk/stroll to the lake where there is a vast range of places to eat, drink, ice cream etc. It is also a ten minute walk to the ferry terminal and only five minutes to a supermarket (there are two close by) and the main bus station.

Whilst on holiday, we visited Sirmione and Bardolino - both lovely historic towns, we also took the cable car to the top of Mount Baldo at Malcesine which was well worth the one hour wait for the amazing views. We also spent a day in Verona and took the Thomson excursion to Milan which comes highly recommended.

Overall, we had a brilliant stay - the great accommodation combined with the fantastic location made for a top holiday! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TheSaint1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We traveled here with thomson on a package holiday with our 2 year old. The apartments are located just outside the historic centre of town, it is very easy to get into town by walking in around 5 minutes. You can also easily walk to the bus station and the lake ferry jetty from the hotel if you want to travel on the lake or are arriving by public transport.

The apartments are well equipped, with fridge, 2x hobs, sink, kettle and all plates, cutlery etc. that you might need. Towels and bedding were provided and clean. The apartments are cleaned daily, which was very welcome. The apartment we stayed in was spacious, with a living/sleeping/cooking area, separate double bedroom and balcony. There was quite a lot of traffic noise in our room which was forward facing, but this doesn't bother us and our son loved watching all the people and mopeds going by. There is double glazing which shuts most of the noise out. There were a few bits and pieces which could probably do with looking at in the off season e.g. there was a small crack in one of the window panes in the bedroom, nothing dangerous or sharp though.

There is a bar area which sells snack items too, the people who run the apartments are a family and are very accommodating and friendly - if you need anything then asking them seems to sort it out and as it is family run they can make decisions and actually help.

There is a supermarket called D'Pui a short walk away which is great for provisions - ask for directions. The apartments thoughtfully supply a shopping bag!There is also a nice pizzaria with a garden if you turn left outside the front door and walk for a minute or so.

Overall we had a lovely stay and would definitely stay here again if in Garda.

Top tip - if you are staying in the summer, take insect repellent - they're vicious and it costs about 2x the UK price in italy!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if traffic noise bothers you
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank francophile099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We have just returned from a trip to Garda staying in the Doria apartments. The apartments were spotlessly clean , the cleaners came in each day and the towels and bedding were changed every other day.
On arrival we asked if we could borrow a kettle and toaster and these were supplied without any problem.
The location was excellent as we only had a couple of minutes walk and we were at the lakeside which has numerous restaurants and coffee bars.

I would recommend these apartments for an enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: Rear rooms are away from the road and are quieter
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank dawnpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Garda hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#8 of 49 in Garda
374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#11 of 49 in Garda
659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Anthea
Hotel Villa Anthea
#7 of 49 in Garda
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sky Pool Hotel Sole
Sky Pool Hotel Sole
#9 of 49 in Garda
594 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#27 of 49 in Garda
61 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Vittoria Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Turistico Alberghiera Doria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Turistico Alberghiera Doria

Address: Via Don Carlo Gnocchi 47, 37016 Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Garda
Price Range: $63 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza Turistico Alberghiera Doria 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doria is situated 300 meter far from the center and the garda lake, offer twoo-rooms apartments ,one parking per apt guarantee, garage, bar, buffet breakfast available, roof terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Residenza Turistico Alberghiera Doria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Turistico Alberghiera Doria Garda, Lake Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing