We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice seaside hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sans Souci

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sans Souci
Ranked #9 of 61 Hotels in Gabicce Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice seaside hotel”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here on a tour . The rooms are smallish with a balcony and side view to the sea, but perfectly adequate as at the sea side you will be out all day.the staff were extremely helpful and courteous..We reported a missing light bulb and a broken hair dryer. Both were replaced within a few hours.
The restaurant had a buffet antipasti starter with at least 15 different salads plus breads,this was followed by a choice of pasta or soup ,a meat main corse and a further buffet table of sweets.plus entertaining and friendly waiters. We were well looked after.Good varied fare at breakfast including freshly cooked eggs to order..This hotel is better than its 3star rating.
The hotel overlooks the public beach easily reached down a cliff path ,the main town is about 10 min walk via local road beach prom or even along the sand,really nice sea side town,

Room Tip: Rooms said to be best in the reception building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malcolm41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    95
    26
    12
    4
See reviews for
137
98
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our first impressions of the hotel when we arrived weren't great and sadly they didn't improve throughout our stay. We decided to have dinner in the hotel on our first night and that was very disappointing. It was buffet starters and desserts and order the seconds and main courses from the menu, the food wasn't great, the chicken was extremely dry and I'm glad now that we hadn't gone for the all inclusive option at the hotel. We spoke to another couple who had gone for the all inclusive rate and they were eating dinner in Gabicce Mere almost every night as the food in the hotel was so bad.
As we were on the b&b rate we hadn't been assigned a table in the restaurant so every day at breakfast we had to hunt out a table that hadn't been assigned to all inclusive rooms. As they started setting the restaurant up for lunch the minute breakfast table were available this was awkard for those of us on b&b rates, why they need to start preparing for lunch at 9.00am is beyond me. Photos of the hotel are misleading as it's not as remote as lead to believe, the hotel is on a street full of hotels so it may be worth comparing prices before you book.

The reception on tv in the bedroom was awful, no literature of hotel information in the bedrooms, no do not disturb signs or anything of the sort. Air conditioning in the room didn't work. All of the local information supplied in the hotel lobby was either in German or French, staff were unhelpful. Overall Gabicce Mere is an average location, great beach but not much else beyond that so please do consider this when booking your holiday, if the weather is bad there is nothing to do.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nelltoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at Sans Souci from 7 to 14 September, for the first three days on our own account and the last four days as part of a Page & Moy group. We had a front sea view room for the whole of our stay though it had not been allocated to P & M guests. We could also have retained our restaurant table with a view of the sea but opted to sit at the back with the group. This was typical of friendliness and anxious to please attitudes of the staff both in the restaurant and at the front desk. It imay be invidious to pick out one member of staff from so many who provided excellent service but I must mention Wilkin Cuevas from the Dominican Republic who speaks excellent English (as do many of the staff) and was a constant source of assistance in many ways. Light bulbs reported as not functioning in our room on arrival were fixed within a couple of hours and even a stray light on the dash of our hire car was diagnosed immediately!

Now for the not quite so ecstatic part of the review. While being spotlessly clean the room needed decorative attention. The food in the restaurant could not be faulted for quantity or variety but it was mass catering, Italian style. It lacked finesse and could in no way be called "fine dining" - OK for a beach holiday, though. So also the service in the restaurant - a definite lack of finesse. Food tended to be delivered to your table at great speed but without charm. We were not told until two days had itself had been discontinued).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawdraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Yet again we have been amazed by how lovely this hotel is. Staff are friendly and helpful. Had such a relaxing holiday with the family. I do recommend this hotel for any family with children. Thanks Claudio and Wilco xxx

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank laura201224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Bowden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
280 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I have reviewed this hotel before, just over a year ago, but having just returned from another stay there I wanted to make particular mention of the food - we stayed on a half board basis. Last year the hotel was so quiet at the end of September that all courses were served to our table, but being a little earlier this year, we experienced the buffet starters and desserts, with the pasta course and the main course still served to the table. I'm not a big fan of hotel buffets, but the quality and variety of hot and cold food offered here was simply excellent. Starters were a delicious selection of vegetables (gratinated aubergines, mushrooms, courgettes; grilled peppers...), seafood (octopus, squid, prawns...), piadine, frittata, cured meats... all attractively but simply presented rather than being surrounded by carved vegetables, and all full of flavour. The pasta and mains were varied and good, and the dessert buffet was plentiful.

We chose to take lunch one day rather than dinner, and that was even better! Lunch is completely buffet style, so included hot pasta dishes, mussels and clams, breaded sea bass fillets, delicious potatoes... as well as the starters and salads and puddings. Only when we had eaten our fill did we realise that there was also a grill bar offering steaks.

On our last evening there, the hotel offered a special set menu of dishes from Marche and Romagna, all of which were delicious, before we all moved outside for a seafood barbecue and finally service of what must have been ten different desserts.

Service in the restaurant is professional and friendly, and the breakfast buffet is also good. It's true that the rooms are a bit on the small side and could do with a refurb, but as I and others have said previously, they're spotlessly clean. Great welcome, great staff and most of all really excellent food!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alanmsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferrara, Italy
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I have to recommend this hotel to all of the parents who are travelling with one or two children between 2 to 10 years of age. Sans souci is well prepared to welcome these small guests with a large playroom (5 x 5 m) and a medium-sized gymnasium (7 x 5 m) with some fitness equipment and a tennis table. There is also a small (4 x 4 m x 0.5 m deep) swimming pool for them. Children can be surveilled and entertained by a professional baby sitter during a large part of the day so parents can lay in the sun carefree ("sans souci", in french).

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Sans souci last week. We were fascinated by the nice view on the bay of Gabicce and by the fresh wind in the night (Sans souci is one of the very few hotels in such a confortable location for what regards the wind and the climate). The first room we have been offered was quite small (in particular the bathroom was really small) and a little bit noisy so we asked for a change and the staff promptly gave us a diiferent, much larger and much more confortable room. No questions, no problems, no surprises on the bill. They just gave us what we asked for.

Food is definitely good and sometime excellent. At lunch you can serve yourself at the large and varied buffet while at dinner you can choose amongst three different first courses and three second ones (fish or meat, as you prefer) plus the usual buffet. Fresh fruit and cakes are always available.

Beach is just 5 minutes walking away, down a small footpath, just under the hotel. Anyway, I suggest you to exploit the nice swimming pool (10 x 10 m wide, 1 to 1.5 m deep) located on a large balcony on the sea side of the hotel. It can offer you a very nice view on the bay and some fresh wind during the last part of the day.

Sans souci is 5 minutes walking away from the Gabicce downtown and 15 minutes away from Cattolica downtown (much larger, much more crowded, much funnier for teen-agers...) so leave your car in the private (closed and surveilled) parking area and go on foot. There is a small "train" (actually, a camouflaged bus) that can bring you to Gabicce Monte, as well (recommend, because of the view of the bay).

Sans souci staff is professional and friendly. At the reception the operators speak a quite good english and german. Should you have any problem, talk to them and they will do their best to find a solution.

My wife and I were satisfied by our staying at Sans souci and can recommend it to everybody. Please note that: "this review is based on my own experience and is my genuine opinion of this hotel, and that I have no personal or business relationship with this establishment, and have not been offered any incentive or payment originating from the establishment to write this review." (Tripadvisor policy).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexbottoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The Sans Souci was booked on my behalf by a customer in the this area - wasn't sure what to expect, but was pleasantly surprised.
It is a good location, on the beech, within walking distance to the town and a short drive from the windy coastla roads.
The staff were very nice and helpful and room came with a great view - although the room was very basic, it was clean and had just about everything I needed.
The town close by is nice with plenty of restaurants and I did think that it would be nice for a return visit with the family.
Would definately use it again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScottVonHorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gabicce Mare hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#2 of 61 in Gabicce Mare
248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Miramare Hotel & Spa
Miramare Hotel & Spa
#4 of 61 in Gabicce Mare
194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Thea & Residence
Hotel Thea & Residence
#8 of 61 in Gabicce Mare
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Posillipo Gabicce Monte
Hotel Posillipo Gabicce Monte
#13 of 61 in Gabicce Mare
208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlantic & Spa
Hotel Atlantic & Spa
#1 of 61 in Gabicce Mare
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#11 of 61 in Gabicce Mare
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sans Souci

Property: Hotel Sans Souci
Address: Viale Al Mare 9, 61011 Gabicce Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Marche > Province of Pesaro and Urbino > Gabicce Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gabicce Mare
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gabicce Mare
#12 Family Hotel in Gabicce Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sans Souci 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, ACCOR, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sans Souci Gabicce Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing