We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class!!”
Review of Hotel Sans Souci

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Sans Souci
Ranked #13 of 60 Hotels in Gabicce Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First class!!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Yet again we have been amazed by how lovely this hotel is. Staff are friendly and helpful. Had such a relaxing holiday with the family. I do recommend this hotel for any family with children. Thanks Claudio and Wilco xxx

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank laura201224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    102
    29
    14
    6
See reviews for
147
111
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Great Bowden, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I have reviewed this hotel before, just over a year ago, but having just returned from another stay there I wanted to make particular mention of the food - we stayed on a half board basis. Last year the hotel was so quiet at the end of September that all courses were served to our table, but being a little earlier this year, we experienced the buffet starters and desserts, with the pasta course and the main course still served to the table. I'm not a big fan of hotel buffets, but the quality and variety of hot and cold food offered here was simply excellent. Starters were a delicious selection of vegetables (gratinated aubergines, mushrooms, courgettes; grilled peppers...), seafood (octopus, squid, prawns...), piadine, frittata, cured meats... all attractively but simply presented rather than being surrounded by carved vegetables, and all full of flavour. The pasta and mains were varied and good, and the dessert buffet was plentiful.

We chose to take lunch one day rather than dinner, and that was even better! Lunch is completely buffet style, so included hot pasta dishes, mussels and clams, breaded sea bass fillets, delicious potatoes... as well as the starters and salads and puddings. Only when we had eaten our fill did we realise that there was also a grill bar offering steaks.

On our last evening there, the hotel offered a special set menu of dishes from Marche and Romagna, all of which were delicious, before we all moved outside for a seafood barbecue and finally service of what must have been ten different desserts.

Service in the restaurant is professional and friendly, and the breakfast buffet is also good. It's true that the rooms are a bit on the small side and could do with a refurb, but as I and others have said previously, they're spotlessly clean. Great welcome, great staff and most of all really excellent food!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alanmsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferrara, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I have to recommend this hotel to all of the parents who are travelling with one or two children between 2 to 10 years of age. Sans souci is well prepared to welcome these small guests with a large playroom (5 x 5 m) and a medium-sized gymnasium (7 x 5 m) with some fitness equipment and a tennis table. There is also a small (4 x 4 m x 0.5 m deep) swimming pool for them. Children can be surveilled and entertained by a professional baby sitter during a large part of the day so parents can lay in the sun carefree ("sans souci", in french).

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Sans souci last week. We were fascinated by the nice view on the bay of Gabicce and by the fresh wind in the night (Sans souci is one of the very few hotels in such a confortable location for what regards the wind and the climate). The first room we have been offered was quite small (in particular the bathroom was really small) and a little bit noisy so we asked for a change and the staff promptly gave us a diiferent, much larger and much more confortable room. No questions, no problems, no surprises on the bill. They just gave us what we asked for.

Food is definitely good and sometime excellent. At lunch you can serve yourself at the large and varied buffet while at dinner you can choose amongst three different first courses and three second ones (fish or meat, as you prefer) plus the usual buffet. Fresh fruit and cakes are always available.

Beach is just 5 minutes walking away, down a small footpath, just under the hotel. Anyway, I suggest you to exploit the nice swimming pool (10 x 10 m wide, 1 to 1.5 m deep) located on a large balcony on the sea side of the hotel. It can offer you a very nice view on the bay and some fresh wind during the last part of the day.

Sans souci is 5 minutes walking away from the Gabicce downtown and 15 minutes away from Cattolica downtown (much larger, much more crowded, much funnier for teen-agers...) so leave your car in the private (closed and surveilled) parking area and go on foot. There is a small "train" (actually, a camouflaged bus) that can bring you to Gabicce Monte, as well (recommend, because of the view of the bay).

Sans souci staff is professional and friendly. At the reception the operators speak a quite good english and german. Should you have any problem, talk to them and they will do their best to find a solution.

My wife and I were satisfied by our staying at Sans souci and can recommend it to everybody. Please note that: "this review is based on my own experience and is my genuine opinion of this hotel, and that I have no personal or business relationship with this establishment, and have not been offered any incentive or payment originating from the establishment to write this review." (Tripadvisor policy).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexbottoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The Sans Souci was booked on my behalf by a customer in the this area - wasn't sure what to expect, but was pleasantly surprised.
It is a good location, on the beech, within walking distance to the town and a short drive from the windy coastla roads.
The staff were very nice and helpful and room came with a great view - although the room was very basic, it was clean and had just about everything I needed.
The town close by is nice with plenty of restaurants and I did think that it would be nice for a return visit with the family.
Would definately use it again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScottVonHorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

First impressions of this hotel when you arrive are lovely. It is just like in the photos, overlooking the beach and very clean and modern. Our room had a stunning sea view and was spotless clean. Not the most modern of furnishings but we had expected this from the photos. It was a decent size, although the shower cubicle is very very small so if you are on the larger size you would not stand a chance in there I'm afraid. Our first dining experience wasn't great unfortunately, we entered the dining room where everyone was seated eating and we were ushered up to a small separate restaurant area across the walkway and seated there. The only thing being, we were the only ones in the entire room! Not happy with this we asked to speak with the maitre de (head waiter in a DJ!) and enquire why we had been seated in a separate room on our own? He said that the other restaurant was full. I pointed out that there were many free tables in there and he said they were all reserved. Very unhappy with this we refused to sit in a room on our own whilst the other restaurant room was in full swing. Funnily enough he found us a table straight away in the other restaurant albeit right in the corner. In fairness, we were then accommodated to a nice sea view table for the rest of our stay which we asked for. Please note that you are assigned a table for your entire stay so you are seated depending on when you arrived, regardless what time you turn up for dinner. Very odd if you ask me but the plus point of this is that if you do not finish a bottle of wine or water with your dinner, it will be on your table waiting for you the next night! Enough about the seating, the food is stunning, they really make an effort to serve you something different every night. There is a buffet selection as entree and then two main dishes which you are able to select in advance the evening before when they bring around the menu for the following evening. The dessert selection too is very very good so be prepared to loosen you belt a notch or too! One evening during the week they serve horderves by the pool and then the mains in the dining room and desserts outside on the decking. This is then followed by a local guy playing a keyboard and singing for the rest of the evening. Again, a lot of effort put into food preparation and good quality food.If you are looking for a relaxing week away with no kids, this hotel is not for you. It is extremely family orientated and not many young couples. There are constantly kids jumping in and out of the pool and there is a playroom which generates quite a bit of noise throughout the day and evening. As a male couple we felt extremely out of place here which is something we very rarely experience when travelling anywhere in the world, and we didn't feel particularly welcome Initially (first dining experience for example) by some of the members of staff either (not all I must add). A quick note about the wifi, it constantly logs you out when you are not using it so you are always having to re-enter the passcode you are given, it's a real pain, but apart from that it is good wifi, all over the hotel, including your room, pool and bar area. Lastly, we were very disappointed with the bar area. It is such a lovely setting and well furnished out but lacks absolutely any atmosphere (apart from the live music night on Tues). There is no music playing, despite asking the barman if he could put some on and no reason to remain sat there, such a shame. Once again, the plus points really are the location, cleanliness and outstanding food selection. This hotel is clearly somewhere Italian families come on their holidays as it appeared that we were the only English guests there throughout our entire stay. Would we recommend it to any of our friends or family and return again, most definitely not, but yes we would recommend it for families looking for a good standard hotel by the beach with excellent food. This is a very good hotel, but was just the wrong choice for us unfortunately, hence the long review to let you make up your own mind.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank markmedown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Spent 4 nights here, 11-14 June 2012 as part of a Page and Moy tour group. Hotel is modern and light, right opposite the beach. Lovely to sit on our balcony with the sea view, there is a large decked area overlooking the beach too. Room fine. The things that really stood out were the first class friendly service from both reception and waiting staff and the brilliant restaurant there. Breakfast was a huge buffet, there's also an omelette counter where they are made with your choice of filling.4 different types of croissant, cheese, ham, plenty of rolls or bread,fruit,pastries, orange juice that had actually seen oranges. Dinner was 4 courses, starting with an amazing buffet both hot and cold, then either soup or choice of pastas, main course of meat or fish or veggie option, then a lovely dessert buffet with an ice-cream counter. it's about a 15 minute walk into the centre of " town" or to the little port. Being on the edge of Gabicce Mare means there is little traffic noise. A really good stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AnnaBella46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, Co Down
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We just recently arrived back to NI from a fantastic trip to Italy. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel Sans Souci - we received a warm welcome and first class service from all the staff at the hotel. The food and accommodation were brilliant - we enjoyed a lovely unbroken view of the Adriatic from our small balcony and were very sad to leave at the end of the week.

Room Tip: We were in a higher level room, lovely view but could benefit from air con if the temperature had be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank QueenE10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gabicce Mare hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Thea & Residence
Hotel Thea & Residence
#14 of 60 in Gabicce Mare
393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#1 of 60 in Gabicce Mare
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Venus
Hotel Venus
#39 of 60 in Gabicce Mare
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Madison
Hotel Madison
#30 of 60 in Gabicce Mare
231 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Posillipo Gabicce Monte
Hotel Posillipo Gabicce Monte
#11 of 60 in Gabicce Mare
223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Miramare Hotel & Spa
Miramare Hotel & Spa
#8 of 60 in Gabicce Mare
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sans Souci

Property: Hotel Sans Souci
Address: Viale Al Mare 9, 61011 Gabicce Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Marche > Province of Pesaro and Urbino > Gabicce Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gabicce Mare
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gabicce Mare
#12 Family Hotel in Gabicce Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sans Souci 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose Hotel Sans Souci for a truly carefree seaside holiday in Gabicce Mare. Set in a panoramic position just steps from the seafront, the hotel offers excellent facilities. Cool off with a swim in the panoramic outdoor pool, where you can also take part in aerobics or just sunbathe on the loungers provided. There is also an indoor pool, with a hot tub, a sauna and a gym. There is a garden and terrace where you can enjoy drinks while you take in the views. Activities are organised here and on the nearby beach and there is also a children’s club during certain months. Sans Souci’s bright rooms all come with beautiful sea views, a satellite TV and balconies. Wi-Fi access is available at additional costs. Leave the quiet surroundings and stroll into Gabicce Mare centre, less than 10 minutes’ walk away. Alternatively go play tennis or golf nearby. Choose from one of two restaurants at Sans Souci, both of which offer lovely sea views. Local cuisine is served and special children’s an ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sans Souci Gabicce Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing