We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveler rating
101
103
23
21
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
103
23
21
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsside sea viewbuffet starterdesigner shopsgreat hotelchoices for each coursegreat holidayrecommend this hotelreception staffpool areaviareggioflorencetowneurosbeachwednesdaybikecoast
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 256 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2017

Just returned from fab holiday at The Grand Hotel in Forte dei Marmi. The hotel is lovely with lots of marble decor, the bedrooms are lovely and include a small fridge, safe and good sized wardrobes. The reception staff were exceptionally helpful about everything. We had room 215 which was fine with a view of the street and shoreline. the pool area was good but the water was freezing! Public transport was nearby and excellent for getting to the tourist spots. The railway station is 2 miles away from the hotel so you need timetables from reception. To our surprise we had completely fresh bed linen EVERY day.Forte dei Marmi is a resort full or designer shops so take plenty of money or just window shop. Excellent markets on Sunday and Wednesday where the latest fashions are cheaper but still on the expensive side.Coffees were 3 Euros each.Really recommend this hotel and resort for location to travel to Pisa, Portofino,Lucca, Florence and Sienna..

Room Tip: They all seem the same so take it as it comes, if there is a problem ask for a change.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
5  Thank Lainey1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017 via mobile

The Grand Hotel is within close proximity of a very expensive and chic Italian district
But don't let this put you off, the hotel and all its staff are all friendly and very helpful
The hotel itself is clean and tastefully decorated , the rooms are more than adequate and I believe all have a side sea view overlooking either the street or backs of houses
The room was cleaned and bed made every day, plenty of wardrobe space and a fridge
Nice bathroom with large shower
The food at breakfast was serve yourself continental type breakfast with waiters on hand for help and advice
The evening meal was a buffet salad and a waitress served 3 course meal to follow
4 choices for each course , very well presented and equally tasty
If you want full English breakfast and chips every night then this hotel is not for you, but if that's the case don't come to Italy, personally speaking the meals were lovely and Italian based
The only criticism I had was the pool area, which is lovely, well maintained and looks as if it's been recently upgraded but sits on the front of the hotel at the side of a busy main road (noise and exhaust fumes). I know this is no fault of the hotel and nothing they can do about
Overall it was a great holiday , and would be a hotel we'd recommend

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Martin1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2017 via mobile

Grand Hotel is situated about 5 minutes walk from Forte Dei Marmi centre in a quiet location on corner of two roads however it isn't noisy when the windows/door closed. The food was brilliant, for breakfast it was a buffet style with plenty of choice. Meats, cheeses, breads, cakes, jams, Nutella, fruit, cereals and yoghurt. If you're after a full English there's only scrambled or boiled eggs and bacon. Evening meal starts with a buffet of salads/meats etc - hors d'oeuvres. Then there's a three course meal starting with pasta or rice dishes, followed. by meat/fish/veg dishes ending with 4 choices of desserts. All tastefully presented, if you're after a plateful of food you will need to fill up on salads from the buffet table to go with your dishes. The staff are really friendly and only too happy to assist. There's bike hire from the hotel which is €1 per hour or €10 half day. The only criticism is that dogs are allowed in rooms which was strange. There is a separate dining room provided for the family with their pet.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2017

Room Tip: Take your own kettle with tea and coffee as no facilities in the room but there is a fridge. Take your own hair dryer as the one in the bathroom is very basic. There is a safe in the room.
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 18, 2017

Just back from a great holiday. Firstly the hotel, we had a brilliant reception from the staff as soon as we arrived lots of smiles and very quick and professional. The rooms are a bit small but well equipped and we didn't spend much time in there during the day anyway., all with a side view of the sea. Only downside was the only tv channels for the UK was bbc world, so we used ipad for entertainment. Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice, but don't expect a full English. .we're in Italy.Dinner was wonderful, after buffet starter a 3 course menu served by lovely waiter's, always something we liked and the sweet was to die for. Info..no t-shirts, shorts or flipflop at dinner which was a nice change, all drinks to be paid for Inc tea coffee and water but prices weren't bad. The town is very stylish with ALL designer shops which was a bit boring, never seen so many fantastic cars though. We hired bikes a lot, it's a bike friendly coast and flat and glided to the next town Pietrasanta a little bigger with proper shop's or the start of Viareggio. We took two bus's to Pisa amazing , a lovely and easy trip 18 euros for two return !!! Then a trip to Florence, you need 2 day's to take in this wonderful city. All in all a brill hotel in a town with superb beaches and soo clean but little or no nightlife we found, but easy and cheap to visit fabulously interesting cities.

Room Tip: All rooms have a side sea view and seem to be the same.
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank BRIANWIGAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews