We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bellissimo, un albergo meravigliosa - a beautiful hotel that we will return to”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Roma Imperiale
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2011

To us the Villa Roma Imperiale was like our own private villa but with the luxury of a top class hotel. A perfect place to relax and leave all our cares behind.
Some holiday accommodation does not live up to the marketing type. Villa Roma Imperiale is a gem and far exceeded all our expectations. This is a first class hotel.
All the staff were just lovely - friendly, very helpful and efficient. They made us feel very special. We would like to thank them all for looking after us so well, and putting up with my terrible spoken Italiano!
The food was excellent - breakfast was better than that of a top class hotel. Everything about the hotel is perfect: decor is modern and tranquil, the swimming pool is set in a beautiful garden (a little piece of paradise) and it is a safe place for children.
Our room with veranda was beautiful overlooking the gardens and pool. The whole of the hotel was spotlessly clean and very well looked after.
Access to the facilities of Forte dei Marmi was easy, just a short walk. We would, without reservation, recommend this lovely villa to anyone. We will return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thorne27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 170 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2011

We have just returned from a vacation in Tuscany, we spent 5 days at Villa Roma Imperiale.
The weather was beautiful, it was a very pleasant stay.
The season at Forte is still quiet in the hotel we felt like the real owners of a villa by the sea.
The hotel has a simple style but very elegant, very refined in detail.
The staff is always smiling and polite, they was able to meet all our needs without being intrusive.
Beautiful pool area, surrounded by a beautiful garden full of flowers.
The breakfast there is a particular hit. It is served in a beautiful veranda overlooking the garden, with classical music in the background. In front of the porch was put an aviary where the birds can go to drink and eat. A haven of peace!
The choice on the buffet is very rich, we were surprised by the variety of fruit offered, from seasonal to all types of tropical fruit.
Forte dei Marmi is not an economic location, neither is this hotel, however, it is definitely a place I would recommend, especially during this season, it’s really romantic!
We thank all the staff of the hotel and we hope to return in September.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms surrounding the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jas0n29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Just returned from a week's stay at this hotel. Over all a pleasant experience - in particular I would highly praise the reception and waiting staff....very pleasant, helpful and couteous.

The room was ok - a bit on the dark side as was the terrace which felt a bit hemmed in by the privacy of the hedging....but not as bad as the rooms on the side of the building where terraces literally 'looked out' on to a wall of high hedge....very dark and dismal looking. The best, of course were those with garden views....but at a much higher price.

In keeping with the rest of Forte dei Marmi, the Villa Roma Imperiale is not a cheap option either to stay or dine. Had one meal only in the hotel and for 2 mains, a half bottle of wine and water....totalled 53 Euros! Portions weren't particularly satisfying either. Breakfast ok - lots of fruit, cakes and bread.

The location of the hotel is about a 15 minutes stroll into the town and on the flat - so quite pleasant. The nearest railway station is 4kms - if you want door to door service, a taxi will set you back 15/20 euros each way....otherwise catch the once an hour Viabus from the Piazza Mateolli @ 3.20 euros return. Easy to access places like Pisa and Lucca (change at Viareggio) and very reasonably prices by train.

By mid September quite a few places are already closing down for the winter, so selection of restaurants a bit more limited - need to check each day, who is open. If you like great pizzas Freddies is the place in the Piazza Garibaldi....and if your budget can stretch the way - Bistrot, on the promenade will do lovely seafood options. 2 mains and a half bottle of wine + water = 100 euros.

If you dont want to pay for your beach access in the centre of the promenade - about a few kms north of the town there is plenty of free beach/access to the sea and some eateries too.

Staying at the VRI has many good features, but there are also some downsides with the location, vis a vis transport (if you dont have your own). If you can, I'd recommend a garden view room with balcony or terrrace.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celtic-Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

I chose this hotel for our honeymoon based on the reviews I read on TripAdvisor, and because I wanted to splurge for the "nicest hotel" in Forte dei Marmi. I was disappointed in the extremely small rooms - we had to put our suitcases on the floor and tiptoe around them, the shower was 2x2 feet LITERALLY, there was no bathtub. The grounds were not more special than a $150 Napa B&B, the pool reminded me of my parents' San Fernando Valley backyard. I would recommend finding a hotel with a beach club and restaurant. Yes, the service was very good, the breakfast was quite a spread (for pastry and fruit lovers only), and the 7pm hors devours were impressive. But after staying at many luxury hotels with beautiful grounds, excellent amenities, worldclass service and dining, this one seemed about $500 overpriced. I wish we had just stayed longer at Villa d'Este in Lake Como! Now that was luxury!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dr-Traveler-2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

This was my second stay at this hotel and yet again wonderful. I do somehow have to adjust my brain to the cost because the rooms were very small and not worth 800 euros a night! But then again you feel at home. Staff were just superb, always happy to help you and with a smile on their face which is always nice. Pool was lovely in the beautiful garden setting. A lot of russians now in resort who seem to think they own the place? Breakfast - lovely. Lunch we ate once there but very overpriced with 20 euros for a small portion of penne pommodoro and when i said i was still hungry got charged an extra 10 euros for a handful of penne. Anyway - wonderful hotel, very worth staying and you feel just at home! especcially with the free tea and cakes at 5 pm and appertifs at 7!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweety9London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2010

We can only agree with the previous reviews. This is a marvellous place, everything is perfect, the staff was very firendly, wanderful and helpfull. The breakfast was fantastic, the rooms are not so large but very comfortable. I suggest you to ask for availability of a prime deluxe toom or a suite. You have to be lucky to have one!! Pricey but worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank good76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

Forte Dei Marmi isnt for the feignt walleted! I could describe it as the St Tropez of Italy. Its stylish, elegant, pricey and glamarous. And you couldnt find anywhere better to stay than Villa Roma Imperiale. Its an absolute gem of a hotel, not cheap but incredibly beautiful and relatively good value for money. The building is a charming, comfortable and elegant villa, with a beautiful veranda where breakfast and afternoon tea is served. There is no restaurant in the hotel but that doesnt stop the hotel offering a wonderul mini buttet of canapes at 7pm each night to accompany your apperatif. We were with our 23 month old baby and the staff could not of been more helpful, even if this hotel doesnt instantly spring to mind as baby friendly - they were all incredible, heating bottles, warming food, giving us colouring pencils, pads and endless attention to our daughter. We hired the nanny used regularly by the hotel called Elizabetta and she was loving and caring with our daughter. I really cannot fault this hotel at all. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing, elegant stay in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliemb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Forte Dei Marmi hotels
0.1 mi away
St Mauritius Hotel
St Mauritius Hotel
#1 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
486 reviews
0.2 mi away
Principe Forte dei Marmi
Principe Forte dei Marmi
#11 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
179 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Negresco
Hotel Il Negresco
#2 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#20 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Augustus Hotel & Resort
Augustus Hotel & Resort
#9 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
California Park Hotel
California Park Hotel
#3 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Roma Imperiale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Roma Imperiale

Address: Via Corsica 9, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Forte Dei Marmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
#1 Family Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
Price Range: $246 - $951 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Roma Imperiale 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Roma Imperiale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Roma Imperiale Hotel Forte Dei Marmi
Hotel Roma Imperiale
Roma Imperiale Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing