We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“1960's time-travel. Great property. Mediocre Food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hermitage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Hermitage
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“1960's time-travel. Great property. Mediocre Food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The Hermitage is located a 10-minute walk back from the beach, on a very large property set amidst pines. Walking up to the hotel is like time-travel: everything dates back to the 60's and they have somehow resisted pressure to change anything. Yet the hotel is meticulously maintained.

Rooms are comfortable, exceptionally clean, and most of them overlook the hotel's large garden. The staff is excellent, and hotel rooms appear to be cleaned more than once a day. There is a shuttle bus to the hotel's beach, yet this does not run very often.

Be aware that beach access is often not included in the room rates during the high season. Beach access with an umbrella (what they call a tent) and a few deck chairs will cost up to 240 Euros / day. The private beach facilities are also very well maintained, and the hotel (together with the Augustus hotel) has a nice restaurant directly on the beach for lunch. This restaurant has good food, very good service, and a nice selection of wines.

The Hermitage is a very child-friendly hotel, and it caters to families with small children. During high season, there is a mix of Italian and German guests, with some English and Russians as well. Once September comes around, the place turns to German package tourism who all 'pensione completa', and the hotel feels a lot fuller.

My main complaint is the food in hotel's own restaurant. The breakfast buffet is good and offers a broad choice. Yet for dinner everything really resembles cafeteria fare. No matter whether one ordered meat or fish, everything came with overcooked broccoli and cold home-fries. Very bland and uninspired. Particularly for guests that did not book "pensione completa", it makes no sense at all to eat here. The restaurant situation is all the more problematic as the prices border on the absurd: a small chicken nugget dish for a 2-year old is charged at 28 Euros!

The hotel urgently needs to change its restaurant.
Other than that, the Hermitage is a very nice hotel

Room Tip: Bottom floor rooms have small patios that open onto the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elber2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    30
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
39
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
184 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Part of the Augustus hotel chain, Hermitage has kept the sixties look with a wonderful sense of nostalgia. Nevertheless for families like us with 5 kids , this is amongst the very little hotels offering apartments of 2 or three rooms. And most important of all the staff is alway Top ! From Rosario at the front desk, to Michele at the restaurant all the people working here are magnificent. Not cheap, but the service gets it all. It is now 18 years we go to Forte with the family and 18 years we are delighted with the service, the food and the general ambience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGastronomist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ongar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We last stayed at The Hermitage 25 yrs ago, when our children were young. We loved it then, and had very happy memories of our holidays there. When we decided to go back this year (with friends, no children!) we were slightly nervous, as we really did not know what to expect after such a long time. We need not have worried - we enjoyed the hotel even more this time around... if thats at all possible! The hotel itself is very comfortable, spotlessly clean, quiet, relaxing - and extremely well maintained. The gardens are beautiful. We booked a 'superior room', but were not happy with the original room we were given. As the hotel was completely full, they could not move us immediately, but after 2 days we moved to a beautiful room overlooking the garden (at the front of the hotel), which was much appreciated. We hired bikes and cycled to the beach club every day, and the facilities were even better than I had remembered. Food, and service, (at both the hotel and beach restaurants) was superb (now on a serious diet!).The staff were all so helpful, friendly, and accommodating - from reception through to the restaurants and bars. We could not possibly fault any part of our stay - and will definitely be going back, but for longer next time!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We spent our second summer at the Hermitage this year and all had a wonderful time. The grounds are pretty, the rooms are nice, and the food is delicious. The restaurant staff are always happy, welcoming and accomodating. The concierge is extremely helpful, guiding us towards lovely restaurants in town. Although you have to walk, cycle or take the 5 minute shuttle to the beach, the beach club is lovely and well worth it. We will be returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Clean,lovely and cosy hotel! The swimming pool and the grden is beautiful and the staff are very frendly they can help for everything you need. The beach is amazing and elegant, free shuffle waits for you. Next time will stay longer!

Room Tip: rooms are big and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meltem_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

My family have been going to Forte Dei Marmi for a number of years and recently we have been staying at the Hermitage.
The rooms are extremely comfortable and the food is lovely. Overall it's a wonderful hotel for a fabulous family holiday.
What really sets this hotel apart is the incredible staff. I have stayed in many hotels around the world and the staff at the Hermitage are amongst the best, the most friendly and most helpful I have met. I would like to make a special mention to Genaro and Guiseppe who did so much for us and really went out of their way.
Congratulations to The Hermitage and I'm looking forward to many more summers there.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesW9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I have been going back to the Hermitage Hotel with my family year after year for 17 years.
It is an excellently family-run hotel with superb facilities. The swimming pool and garden area is beautifully kept and the restaurant with it's friendly waiters will not send you to bed hungry. The beach club as you will discover is amongst the best on the Versilia.
Visiting is like coming home and I throughly reccommend staying at the Hermitage if you decide to sun yourself in Forte.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Forte Dei Marmi hotels
0.2 mi away
St Mauritius Hotel
St Mauritius Hotel
#1 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
4.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
0.9 mi away
Augustus Hotel & Resort
Augustus Hotel & Resort
#16 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
4.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Il Negresco
Hotel Il Negresco
#2 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
4.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Principe Forte dei Marmi
Principe Forte dei Marmi
#7 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
4.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#6 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Roma Imperiale
Villa Roma Imperiale
#3 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
5.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermitage

Property: Hotel Hermitage
Address: Via Cesare Battisti 50, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Forte Dei Marmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Hermitage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing