We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Hermitage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hermitage
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

The hotel itself was ok but I thought a little old fashioned. The rooms were very clean and the staff were friendly except for the "Nicholas Cage' concierge who could not speak very good English and was not particularly helpful. We were there on a half board basis and although the food was delicious the drinks were exorbitant - £43.00 for a vodka and coke and a lemon cello!!! Dinner each evening was a rather formal affair and the hotel does not provide any entertainment. Forte is lovely and very chic but is so so expensive. We hired bikes and managed to cycle out of Forte and found some cheaper cafes in the neighbouring town. We also went to the supermarket to stock up before heading for the beach as it is really difficult to purchase anything down by the beach unless you want to pay 5 star prices. My overall impression is that the hotel and resort are hugely overpriced especially with the sterling to euro exchange rate. I wouldn't mind if I was staying in absolute luxury in Monte Carlo but this is an average hotel in an average resort. Nothing special and although we had a nice time (despite the severe dent in my wallet) I would not go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZoeSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    33
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
46
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

The hotel is fine. The staff, most of them from southern Italy, are friendly and the bar and restaurant service is excellent.
But it comes at a price. Even allowing for the depressed state of the pound which meant our money didn't go very far, I cannot recall finding a more expensive hotel on the planet. If, like me, you enjoy ending your day by collapsing in a comfy chair at the bar after dinner and perhaps having a grappa and a coffee, be warned. You will repent when the bill is presented as you leave.
One reprehensible practice of this hotel is that guests are never given an account to sign when they partake of 'extras'. So you have no idea of what cost you have incurred and no way of challenging the bill (though I did object when they attempted to charge me for a trip to the beach on a day when I'd never been near it).
The hotel's idea of extras includes just about everything except air. For heaven's sake - £8 for a boiled egg at breakfast? Outrageous.
The reception staff are particularly clueless and it doesn't help that their English is poor. The Nicholas Cage lookalike concierge was not able to answer a single query raised during the 10 days we booked there through Citalia.
The hotel is a fairly long walk from the town and the shuttle service to the beach was sporadic, the driver apparently working to his own timetable.
Apart from that, you'll enjoy the place. Just ensure you get six numbers on the lottery first.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marwoodSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

3 days with family of 5. Excellent place for children, very welcoming. Large adjoining rooms was more of a suite. Nice large play park. While there is better food, restaurant was capable and very accommodating for the children. Staff was excellent particularly at the restaurant.
Beach club was very nice. Free shuttle bus was easy to use. Have them arrange for bikes for the family.

Room Tip: Contact hotel by email before you travel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oshawott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Andrews
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

Wonderful hotel. The fact that so many guests come back year in, year out is proof positive. Each and every member of staff is committed to help to make your stay perfect. Just remember, you only get what you pay for and this place is worth every penny. The beach is fabulous and upgraded since last year. Rental bikes, a great way to travel, As for the village.........Where else do you get a free Andrea Bocelli concert? Fantastic place!

Room Tip: Hire bikes. It is flat and bike friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A573CUalisonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

We have just returned from a two week stay at the Hermitage. We were impressed with every aspect of the hotel, which is extremely well run. All members of staff were pleasant and professional and did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. In other hotels, when we were on a half board basis, we would be inclined to eat out most evenings but not here - the food and service were excellent. Our room was spotless with linen changed each day and towels twice a day.

We did most of our sightseeing by local bus and train (Pisa, Lucca, Carrara, Pietrasanto etc) during the first week and hired bicycles for the second week which was good fun and a great way to get around and explore the local area with its pine woods, quiet roads and beautiful villas.

Forte dei Marmi is a lovely town with beautiful shops (unlike neighbouring Viareggio which appeared very run down).

Like many of the other guests we would hope to return to the Hermitage Hotel soon.

Richard & Teresa, Dublin

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lazio29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

We found the hotel and its staff to be wonderfully helpful and anything we asked for was done in quick time. The gardens and facilities were well maintained and lush. The half hourly beach shuttle was a bit erratic, but, heh, that's Italian time! The breakfast buffet was good but lacked a little choice, however the 6-course formal dinner was excellent on each of the 7 nights we were there. Drinks are on the expensive side (16 euros for a G&T). It was obvious that some of the guests were returnees, evidence of how good this Hotel is. Make sure you have beach facilities included in your holiday price, otherwise it could be expensive (70 euros a day).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VandTLudlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

Second stay at this hotel with a 10 year gap, bit concerned that the town and hotel would not be as good as our last visit. No problem, every bit as good as the last visit with the hotel and town a bit bigger but still as friendly, relaxing, quiet and clean.

I was concerned with organgrinders comments (27/2/10) with regard to "extras" we found all the relevant juices came with the breakfast at no extra charge, however he/she is correct eggs etc are an extra.

The use of the Augustus beach is a real treat, however it is very expensive to eat and drink there.

If I was to be hyper critical the last time I remembered the food to be superb, this time I would rank it as very good and as good as any of the restaurants in Forte Dei Marmi.

We has a great time wouls recommend it as a location and venue.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ince21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Forte Dei Marmi hotels
0.8 mi away
Augustus Hotel & Resort
Augustus Hotel & Resort
#12 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.3 mi away
St Mauritius Hotel
St Mauritius Hotel
#1 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#13 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Il Negresco
Hotel Il Negresco
#2 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.6 mi away
California Park Hotel
California Park Hotel
#16 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Viscardo
Hotel Viscardo
#18 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermitage

Property: Hotel Hermitage
Address: Via Cesare Battisti 50, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Forte Dei Marmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Hermitage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing