We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and we come back almost every year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mirabeau

Hotel Mirabeau
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Forte Dei Marmi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Mirabeau
Save
You added Hotel Mirabeau to your Saves list
Ranked #40 of 45 Hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
Tienen, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel and we come back almost every year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We love this Hotel with very friendly staff. Outstanding local Italian restaurant with very nice pizza's as appetizers. Three choices for starters and main course and more for dessert. The wine list is typical Italian from local Tuscan wines to some of the big Super Tuscans (only the Sassicaia is too expensive at over EUR 300/bottle).
The bikes are fun to ride to the city centre (5 minutes) and are not expensive. The rooms have no carper on the floor which is much more hygienic and are cleaned very well. The rooms mostly have nice balcony's.
For those who like Tuscany, who like the see, who like Forte dei Marmi and especially for those who like Italian food, this is an excellent destination.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 934Stephanie934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    17
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

I just came back from a one week stay at this hotel in Forte dei Marmi.

The hotel is charming and of typically Toscany style. Our room was of decent size and our terrace was as big as the room which was really great, although on the first floor only, we had an ever so slight sea view. There are positive sides to this hotel and negative sides as well. Also, it does not feel like a 4 star hotel but rather like a 3 star hotel and I have travelled around the world so able to compare it to both lower and higher rated hotels I have stayed at. Be prepared to be treated differently than the Italian guests as they have priority although the hotel's policy is that there is no such thing as A guests and B guests, right?! That remains debatable...

Pros:
- Charming and clean hotel
- great and well maintained pool and pool area
- cheaper rate to rent a bicycle through hotel than in one of the bicycle rental places in Forte Dei Marmi (although the bikes are not as well maintained - see negative)
- nice breakfast although repetitive after a week
- rooms are cleaned quickly and early to a decent standard
- food is decent and well proportioned
- most staff are really friendly and helpful whilst others are plainly rude to you if you express your dissatisfaction
- nice residential area and quiet at night due the town's roads being mostly traffic free at night unless you have residential access.
- able to park your car (do not know whether it is free or not as I did not use this service)
- hotel shuttle going to town centre I would assume (did not use this service either)
- air conditioned rooms (don't like it myself so turned it off during the whole stay)
- most staff speak English or at least try their best whilst others just simply don't like the manager of the hotel

Cons:
- staff can be quite rude at times and unhelpful (reception, head waiter and the lifeguard)
- the pool is so well maintained that it is treated daily at 19.00 so guests are unable to use it until the morning which is a shame as summer days are nice, long and hot and using the pool until at least 20.00 would be lovely and very much needed after long excursions
- the gym is small and has only one bike and a step machine, free weights and a weights machine and two thin mats, these are not new at all and the machine displays did not work when I used them.
- the bikes provided are poorly maintained as ours were dirty, the tyres were slightly flat after a few days of usage etc... but the price is cheaper than bike rental shops so you get what you pay for.
- food not very varied and twice very salty (I would not choose half board again as it gets boring and there are so many great other restaurants around to try)
- beverage prices very high so go to the local shop and buy your own drinks except at dinner time
- no fresh juices at breakfast, only from machine dispenser, the pastries in Italy are called brioches but do not taste like French crispy pastries nor brioches as they are hard and dry but try them and see for yourself
- for some people, the hotel might be a bit far away from the centre. For us it was fine and close to our usual beach club (Bagno Dalmazia, the best is Forte dei Marmi!!!) and we did not mind the bike rides to and from the city centre
- although rooms are supposedly soundproofed, you do get disturb by the next door rooms as the doors make a loud noise when they close and there is a slight echo in the corridors so if kids shout and scream, you then hear it in your room
- info folder in our room was incomplete and inconsistent so impossible to know the prices and information about certain services without asking the reception
- be aware of where they put you to eat for dinner from the start as you can easily end up dining each evening in the busy corridor by the kitchen if they are fully booked with big families and you end up eating inside in the passage way whilst others enjoy dinner on the terrace by the pool (make a fuss and they should eventually move you but the next days might be difficult in terms of getting quality service)
- beds are hard and only provided with one sheet and the bed spread to sleep with
- TVs are small and old fashion but Sky is available at a cost

An overall nice stay in a charming hotel which could be better if certain staff members were polite and helpful at all times and if they were more organised. The food could be more varied, the pool opened/available longer. Would not stay there again myself but I can see the appeal of this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PassionTraveler34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston,Lancashire,
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Just back from two weeks at this very nice Hotel.The good things soon became apparent, the exceptional friendliness of the reception staff, the clean and welcoming bedrooms with towels and bed linen changed daily, the excellent meals with varied choices and local produce, comfortable lounge areas ,the swimming pool and surrounds very nice with comfortable soft loungers and pool towels provided.Very pretty gardens .our dining table overlooked the pool area and was so beautiful.However we found the Hotel to be a bit far from the town centre, we are quite fit pensioners and can walk a long way but as there was only a couple of bars within the vicinity we found this restrictive over the two weeks period. The prices at the Hotel were very high with a beer costing 7 euros and a fruit juice 4 euros.The wine did start at 13 euros a bottle however. We did not use the mini bar for the same reasons.The main complaint we had was the supercilious attitude of the head waiter. He was very patronising to the non Italian guests and was inclined to bully his staff, sometimes in front of the guests.We found the transport links unreliable sometimes as connections were missed due to latenesss.We also thought the Hotel should provide fresh fruit with breakfast, tinned peaches and prunes were the only fruit available.we heard guests asking at breakfast for fresh fruit.
Overall, we enjoyed our hotel as the Mirabeau is very comfortable and welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

I can't believe more people haven't left a review on this wonderful hotel. Stayed at the Mirabeau in September. We were very warmly welcomed by the reception staff upon arrival. The hotel is situated in a very quiet area about a 15 minute stroll to the centre of Forte dei Marmi and the beach is 2 minutes walk away. The bedroom was very clean and comfortable and we had a lovely seaview. The restaurant staff were great and couldn't do enough for you. The food was fantastic with antipasti, 4 starters, 4 main courses and about 7 dessert choices (and a salad buffet) every night - forget the diet!!! The nearest bus stop is a couple of minutes walk away with regular buses to Viareggio where you can pick up buses to Pisa, Lucca and Florence and it was only EUR 3.40 to get to Lucca!!!! Would recommend this hotel to anybody. The only slight downside to the holiday was as it was late September the majority of bars and restaurants in Forte dei Marmi closed early. Would go back in August next time. Thank you to all the staff at the Mirabeau - hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sorrento09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

This hotel is situated in a residential area with no facilities within easy proximity. The centre of Forte dei Marmi is at least 1 1/2km and the nearest pharmacy/newsagent/grocery shop at least 1/2km so unless you are fit, can ride a bike or hire a car, this hotel is not for you. I am disabled and although I brought a wheelchair, I felt isolated with a loss of my independence because I could not get anywhere on my own. Even the buses require a ticket purchased from the town centre before boarding.
The hotel itself is described as charming - mm maybe but not of the 4star quality I have come to expect from my trips to other parts of Italy. Don't know what happened to the chef between 13th-27th September but the evening meal food was of a very poor standard and served "just aired" on cold plates. My husband suffered a severe stomach upset - we hadn't eaten anywhere else?!
It was very pleasant around the pool where I had to spend most of my time. A request to Thomson to be transferred to another more central hotel was declined due to the hotel management refusing to waive the cancellation fee. As a concession on the second week, they did offer to run us to local places in their minibus between 9.00-17.00 as long as we booked in advance - this helped a bit and we took advantage of this twice. If I'd been made aware how far away from everything this hotel was, I would not have considered it in my circumstances. Overall for us, a very disappointing experience.

  • Liked — clean room with linen and towels changed daily
  • Disliked — poor evening meal
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjorie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, Northumberland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

The Hotel Mirabeau is situated on a tree lined quiet road, just off the sea front, and a 20-25 minute walk from the centre of Forte Dei Marmi.
The restaurant is beautiful, being semi-outdoors beside the pool, and lit with candles in the evening. The evening meal cannot be faulted. It is waiter service, four courses, with four choices of both starter and main course. The staff are attentive and friendly. Be prepared to gain a few pounds!
The breakfast is typical continental style and could be improved with a little more choice.
The pool area is very nice, however there are simply not enough sun beds to accomodate the number of guests (35+ rooms but only approx 20 sun beds). This means that guests are reserving the beds with towels etc before going for breakfast.
The bar area is at the front of the hotel, and is very pretty. The prices are quite high, as can be expected in this very select area (eg. a gin and tonic is 7 euro).
The rooms are small but all have air conditioning, fridge and a safe (all free). Some have a nice balcony, with sea or side-sea views.
The beach is a slow five minute walk from the hotel. Every section of the beach is owned by a hotel, restaurant or private owner, and you may use their facilities for a fixed price. Low season (Sept) costs 25 euros per day for 2 deckchairs, 1 sunbed and 1 umbrella. However the price is a lot more in July/August.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — The lack of sunbeds around the pool
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LovePefkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2007

My wife and I,who are both in our fifties, stayed at the Mirabeau during the first two weeks of September 2007.Whereas we have spent many enjoyable weeks in Italy for the last ten years this was our first visit to Tuscany and the Tuscan Coast.We travelled through most of Tuscany,visiting Florence,Lucca,Pisa,Sienna and San Gimignano,to name but a few of the wonderful places in Tuscany but the important thing was,as with many holidays, the confidence to return to a comfortable,homely, hotel at the end of a busy day in the knowledge that we would be well looked after and be able to relax together over a glass of wine on the balcony in the early evening and reflect on the days events.
The staff at this hotel are first class,from the moment we arrived until the day we departed nothing was too much trouble....not that we had cause to demand alot.The food was excellent,the service first class,and the room, though fairly basic as with many 4 star Italien hotels, was comfortable and more than adequate for a two week visit.We'll certainly return.

  • Liked — Food was excellent
  • Disliked — Could have been more sun loungers around the pool but those that were there were of an excellent standard
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CymruSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Forte Dei Marmi hotels
0.1 mi away
Areion
Areion
#34 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
3.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Il Negresco
Hotel Il Negresco
#2 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
4.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
1.0 mi away
Raffaelli Park Hotel
Raffaelli Park Hotel
#12 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel 1908
Hotel 1908
#22 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
4.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#43 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
3.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
0.1 mi away
Byron Hotel
Byron Hotel
#32 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
3.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mirabeau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirabeau

Property: Hotel Mirabeau
Address: Viale Morin 135, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Forte Dei Marmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 45 Hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mirabeau 4*
Number of rooms: 31

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing