We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Mignon Forte dei Marmi, Italy”
Review of Hotel Mignon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Mignon
Ranked #34 of 43 Hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
Reviewed November 26, 2011

We stayed at this hotel on a tour with Mistral Holidays. The hotel is in the middle of a very exclusive resort with nothing but designer shops and expensive bars. There was not even a shop where we could buy water. Most people on the tour complained about the lack of amenities near the hotel or for that matter the resort. The tour bus stopped for us to buy water etc. after the first trip out and I have never seen so many happy people in my life! The food at the hotel was supposed to be typical Tuscan but was very bland and uninteresting. One morning the yogurt was rancid. We stayed on a half board basis and if we arrived for dinner a bit late the salad bar had vanished and not replenished. The tour guide with Mistral, Christina, was not at all knowledgeable about the places we visited and mostly left us to our own devices. This was a very expensive trip which was booked for my 60th birthday and it was the holiday from hell. We have been on coach tours in the past with Riviera and have only had praise for them as they gave us contant information regarding the places we were to visit. I did send a three page letter of complaint to Mistral which was treated with contempt.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moonbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 96 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2011

Hotel food basic bar deplorable had to get someone from reception everytime you wanted a drink, rooms okay when air conditioning is working,staff quite friendly.bills run up over the holiday had to be payed cash cards not accepted.Ten minutes walk from main town centre where resturaunts and shops were from reasonable to very expensive.Five minute walk from beach.Small pool on third floor.

Room Tip: No sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank giudici206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Staff at Harbour Guest & tea room made us feel very welcome when we arrived for sunday lunch. There is an extensive menu of traditional sunday lunches, but if you preferred dressed crab salad was available. We had the pork and lamb along with 3 vegetables and yorkshire pudding. The meal was well presented and we ate the lot. Just to mention, the sponge pudding with oodles of custurd was a great way of finishing the meal off.
Well done Christine and Clive keep the standard up.

Albert & Betty Cook Homestead Tree Road Brampton Cumbria.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dodo191279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2010

We were really pleased with everything at this small, friendly hotel which was just off the beach and a few minutes from the centre of town. The room was bigger than expected, always clean and fresh every day. There was a great choice at breakfast and the evening meals were so good that we did not want to miss any. The restaurant staff were friendly and attentive. We were really pleased that everyone was so happy to help us with things like renting a car and checking train times. We were really impressed with how well staff spoke English. They made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Just returned from a one week stay at the Hotel Mignon in Forte del Marmi. The hotel staff were all extremely friendly. The room, functional, but clean. We greatly enjoyed the restaurant where typical Tuscan food was the order of the day - only 3 choices per course, so if you crave good old English cooking, don't eat here! Only criticism of the hotel is that the pool on the roof is a little sorry - we used the pool at the nearby Grand Hotel. Note that you have to pay to use loungers and umbrellas on the beaches - cost between 25 -70euros per day!, and in Forte del Marmi prices are at the upper end of the scale. Forte del Marmi caters for the Italian jet-set so expect(and you will not be disappointed) to pay high prices for eating out. If shopping is your thing then there are designer shops in abundance - with prices to match. Transport by bus is cheap and very good, and it is easy to travel to nearby Pisa, Lucca, and further afield to Siena and Florence if you so wish. In summary a good resort to explore and sample the delights of Tuscany.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hjpwbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Just returned from Hotel Mignon and couldn't fault it, the rooms were modern and spotless, the food was delicious though typically Tuscan so you have to like Italian food. There was lots of choice for breakfast, dinner was 5 course and we found no shortage of anything unlike a previous reviewer and the staff couldn't do enough for you.The hotel is in beautiful garden surroundings and we had a very small problem with mosquitos which certainly couldn't be blamed on the hotel,but never in the restaurant which is open air under a verandah.It is ideally based for sightseeing, just get a bus and train timetable and you can go anywhere.If I went back to Forte dei Marmi I would certainly use this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bubblyengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2009

We made a booking through booking.com at a special offer price for one night then 2 days later made another booking for two more nights as the special price was still on offer. However, having had written confirmation of our bookings The Hotel manager then said it was a mistake and we had to pay a much higher price. Despite many attempts to get them to honour the price, they wouldn't do it and they told us our booking was now cancelled!
We still hold our written confirmation from the booking.com company, so surely the decision should have been ours to make not theirs????

Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
2  Thank rugoingsomewheresoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Forte Dei Marmi hotels
0.0 mi away
Astor Victoria
Astor Victoria
#20 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kyrton
Hotel Kyrton
#28 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
136 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#6 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#36 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
76 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#39 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Primula
Hotel La Primula
#17 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mignon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mignon

Address: Via Giosue' Carducci 58, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Forte Dei Marmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
Price Range: $105 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mignon 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mignon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mignon Hotel Forte Dei Marmi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing