We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Family anniversary in Forte dei Marmi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 1908

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel 1908
Ranked #22 of 45 Hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Family anniversary in Forte dei Marmi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Booked the hotel thru commercial website and we
found a perfect location, staff very friendly and a family room for 4 persons.
I have stayed three times in Forte dei
Marmi and this was definite the best location 4 stars for 2 adults and 2 children in off season period. Hotel very well entertained and 10 minutes walking from shopping and restaurant district. Best regards federico

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ftoja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    25
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
9
37
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
10024
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

I found the staff very cordial and helpful, the sea view room was a decent size, clean with a great shower and amenities. The hotel has a fleet of pedal bikes and a small courtesy vehicle. The beach is 100 feet and the town center a few blocks away so the location is great.

When we arrived booking.com had not notified the hotel, I would strongly advise NOT to use booking.com as the rate I was quoted walking in was far less than I paid through booking.com do not use them just call the hotel which I will do when I am in town next.

Great hotel in every way.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davidmicc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

The Hotel Ritz is a nice hotel , great I would not call it compared to a lot of European hotels for that money , the rooms are very small and basic, they lack a bit of ambiance I think this a boutique hotel but what it lacks in ambiance it makes up for in service the staff extremely helpful and happy , the outdoor area very tranquil and pretty the flowers around the property gorgeous all in all this hotel is nice I believe over priced that is without a doubt is it worth visiting this hotel for sure I think this is one of the better hotels in Forte dei marmi .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KennedysGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

On arrival at the hotel, we found desk staff aloof and unhelpful. This was prevalent throughout our 3 night stay. Our room was a good size, but dated and there was a fault with the toilet. We asked them to fix however after 2 attempts there was no success . After some fuss, we were offered another room which again was dated. The breakfast buffet was average but certainly not reflective of the price we were paying. The pool and garden seating was very good and the location is ideal for those who want quick access to the beach. Not good value.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KUMALO_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

Our first time in Forte dei Marmi, and what an amazing place... so understated and chic.... We chose the Ritz from the professional website and were pleasantly impressed. The Hotel is a little expensive but worth every penny as the quality of the clients is extreemely high... no riff raff here, just obviously wealthy and important Italians... one just has to look at all the cars in the carpark! The rooms are beautifully appointed and I would advise the deluxe rooms as the standard ones are a little small. The pool is fantastic and we enjoyed being pampered for the week we stayed +++++

  • Liked — English spoken and position
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank medl0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2007

We were greeted at our arrival. Our luggage was taken up to our room. The food was great, the bed comfortable and the location perfect. The staff was gracious, friendly and helpful. The hotel is well constructed and tastefully decorated. The room was quiet and clean. Forte dei Marmi is expensive. City center can be reached by walking and the beach is right across the street. The shower was small but all else was fine.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small shower
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2007

Booked a last minute 5 day trip to Forte Dei Marmi and selected the Ritz on the basis it had good reviews on this site and was walking distance from town. Proved to be an excellent choice. Great location just across the road from the beach and a 10 min walk into the centre. The pool was not huge but very well maintained with plenty of very comfy loungers and nice extras like complimentary chilled bottles of water all day.

Breakfast was a buffet but with a wide array of choice with lots of fresh fruit, breads, pastries, yoghurts, meats and cheeses. We had lunch at the hotel one day and just opted for the antipasti buffet option which again was an excellent selection and good quality.

Our room was a little small but we had only been able to take the basic category. If I went back, I would opt for a slightly higher room category and ideally one at the front with a balcony and view of the sea. But for our brief stay, the room was more than adequately appointed.

The staff were all extremely friendly, helpful and efficient. By coincidence, our trip coincided with the festival of the patron saint of Forte Dei Marmi which is on 28th Aug. It is a huge event for the town with lots of stalls and a major firework display. The concierge still managed to get us dinner reservations at the excellent Bistrot restaurant right across the road.

The only slight negative point which didn't bother us but is worth being aware of is that the hotel's location by the main road is very convenient but means the pool area is noisy with traffic rushing by. As you sunbathe you are sheltered by a hedge but you do hear the passing cars and lorries. Other hotels located a couple of streets back from the road have much quieter aspects but overall I would prefer to put up with this small drawback for all the other positives of the hotel.

One final thing to mention is the hotel bar. On 2 occassions we returned after dinner and ordered drinks. Red wine for me and Limoncello for my mother. After pouring one glass, the waiter leaves the bottle on the table for you to help yourself. Extremely convenient but makes it impossible to know what you will be charged as you just leave when you have finished without signing anything.

In fact this is a feature of the hotel, that all staff very quickly learn your room number so you never have to sign any bills which is nice but means you have no idea what anything costs. When we checked out the bill showed a sum for drinks from the bar which looked reasonable but was impossible to verify. I would have preferred to have known what were paying.

Overall, though, an excellent hotel which I would happily return to.

  • Liked — location and excellent service
  • Disliked — slightly small room
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Hackney13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Forte Dei Marmi hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#6 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Il Negresco
Hotel Il Negresco
#2 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
4.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goya
Hotel Goya
#5 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
4.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St Mauritius Hotel
St Mauritius Hotel
#1 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
4.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#43 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
3.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
0.2 mi away
Principe Forte dei Marmi
Principe Forte dei Marmi
#7 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
4.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1908? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1908

Property: Hotel 1908
Address: Via Flavio Gioia 2, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy (Formerly Hotel Ritz)
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Forte Dei Marmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 45 Hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel 1908 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Forte Dei Marmi
Forte Dei Marmi Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing