We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Professionality at your disposal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Augustus Hotel & Resort
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Professionality at your disposal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Me, my wife and my baby (4 years) usually stay almost once every year in this astonishing hotel. We spent some weeks both in the lido, (villa. Agnelli , a place of incredible charme ) and in the traditional structure, and always we enjoyed the professionality of all the staff , the food and the beauty of the rooms and their view. Special mention to the manager of Bambaissa (the Beach club), always very kind and helpful to solve every little problem you can face with a child.
You feel you re treated like one of the family
No doubt We will be' there again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andreaepaola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    32
    11
    12
    8
See reviews for
37
48
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

We spent the last week of September and it was a beautiful stay. The hotel is perfect if you have a small child (all the food is very high quality) and the beach, wide and stunning can be reached without crossing roads and on foot. Service is excellent and rooms are well furnished. My wife was thrilled with the shops nearby! It's expensive but well worth it

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EdoardoJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

My wife and I chose Augustus private beach club to celebrate our wedding with friends. We held a party on the beach with a hundred people. Both staff people and management were great in taking care of the deepest details with a high level of professionalism. The beach club restaurant offers high quality gourmet food and a charming atmosphere, both for a party event and for a couple dining.
We then stayed for a few days at Augustus Lido (the seaside Hotel of the Augustus complex, former villa of Agnelli family). The Hotel is a luxury villa with direct access to the beach. Suites are fournished in an elegant old-style that perfectly fits with the Versilia coast tradition. The hotel service is well-suited for a 5-star luxury hotel.
Definitely to suggest as a charming and high quality luxury place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Papx-Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

The hotel has lots of flaws, but feeling cheated is unforgivable. The hotel quietly add a charge of €230 per day to your bill for 'Beach Facilities' - a handy 35% added to our per day room rate. When we discovered the extra charge at check-out (no one mentioned it to us before), we were told by the hotel manager that we were to blame as we should have read the 30-page in-room hotel guide carefully. (In case you're wondering, ‘Beach Facilities’ means handing you a towel when you arrive at the beach, leading you to a small tent-like pavilion with a couple of deck chairs and then forgetting about you until sunset.)

As others have noted, this is a high quality 3 star or a low quality 4 star which is heroically oversold and overpriced. At some point the hotel must have had some charm, but has long since passed its heyday and reeks of faded grandeur. The hotel staff is variable: some employees at least make a vague effort to earn the €330 per person charge (ie a double room is €660 before taking ‘Beach Facilities’ into account), but we were insulted on the grounds of nationality by one of the waiters at lunch who made the mistake of assuming that only Italians understand Italian. The hotel manager (Mr Nieri) is the epitome of arrogance, totally unreasonable and, in his handling of the Beach Facilities fiasco, made certain we will never go near this terrible hotel again. We want to make sure no one else is cheated in this way.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank PPM777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

There are soooo many other wonderful places and areas in Italy to spend your time and money that to waste it here was our misfortune. Don't make it yours. The hotel is old and rundown, the staff at the frontdesk in the evening was extremely rude, and the food is average. Our room was above the bar with a loud piano player who played until after 11 pm coupled with cigars and cigarettes billowing smoke up to our balcony so we couldn't keep our doors open. Complained to someone downstairs who really didn't care. In addition, the hotel isn't on the waterfront so you have to cross the street to use an underground tunnel to get to the beach which is crowded with beggars who bother you constantly while you are sunbathing. A much better spot is Sestri Levante, next to Portofino, and stay at the Hotel Helvetia on the Baia de Silenzio or the Vis a Vis Hotel and eat at the Portobella Restaurant - Forte isn't that interesting anyway.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sonya48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

This is supposed to be the best hotel in the area, but the accommodations are more like a 3-star property. The location is nice, but that's about it. We have been living in Italy for 4 years, and have tried the Augustus twice, assuming the first stay was just an exception. But the hotel is old and worn, the rooms are furnished with tired, inexpensive fixtures. It doesn't appear they have reinvested any of the money from the high-priced rooms and meals they offer. We've stayed at most of the best hotels and resorts in both the Italian and French riviera, and this definitely ranks as the most disappointing. A big let down, I would try one of the other 5-star properties in the area, or simply avoid Forte all together.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mccormick_hall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2009

there is no way that this is a 5 star hotel. food was average. service below average. spa extremely weak-no steam, no sauna, just a few massage rooms. gym cramped w new equipment but the crappiest little tv high up in the corner where nobody can see it. pool is ok. service average. free wifi in room is nice. villas also seem nice. there are so many hotels in the immediate vicinity that are far more charming, chic and reasonably priced that you would have to be dimwitted to stay here. in my case, it came highly recommended by friends who stayed here years ago, when the place was frequented by europeans. this is no longer the case. vast majority of guest were russians. if you are russian and you do not care how much things cost then this is the place for you. personally, i checked out a nearby 4 star hotel called California, that also has a pool, where i think we will stay next time. i should have checked out the trip advisor reviews beforehand. oh well, live and learn, folks.....

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brittySpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Forte Dei Marmi hotels
0.4 mi away
Principe Forte dei Marmi
Principe Forte dei Marmi
#5 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Il Negresco
Hotel Il Negresco
#2 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Roma Imperiale
Villa Roma Imperiale
#3 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
St Mauritius Hotel
St Mauritius Hotel
#1 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#13 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Byron Hotel
Byron Hotel
#33 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augustus Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augustus Hotel & Resort

Property: Augustus Hotel & Resort
Address: Viale Edgar Morin 169, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Forte Dei Marmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Augustus Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Augustus Hotel & Resort is located in its own extensive parc in the most elegant part of Forte dei Marmi. The resort is home to the main hotel, seven villas with hotel services, and the Augustus Lido (ex villa Agnelli) connecting to private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Augustus Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Augustus And Lido
Hotel Augustus Lido
Augustus Lido Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing