We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Principe Forte dei Marmi
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Amazing place with great service and facilities not cheap but well worth it. Some three years old, it has all the modern technology required, indoor spa, outdoor pool and bar, full free wifi
Would highly recommend and come

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andymccallum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    32
    9
    8
    5
See reviews for
25
74
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
130 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

“A beautiful classic style resort right on the Tuscan coast. Not only did we absolutely love staying here (so close to the beach, we really took advantage of that) but its location is wonderful for day trips. We spent one day in Pisa and another in Florence, both close enough to spend a couple hours or even the entire day. Coming back to this hotel after a long day is just perfect- we would enjoy some wine and local Italian inspired dishes (paired deliciously by the sommelier) and sit out and enjoy the warm evenings. The kids loved it and met other kids their ages with whom they are keeping in touch. ”

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Consigliera-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowayton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The hotel is very attractive, and the view of the water & mountains is amazing. The wide sandy beach seems incredible, but every inch is covered with "clubs," and the water is not the crisp turquoise Mediterranean water that I remember. The pool on the roof of the hotel has a spectacular view, and it is nice to spend time up there, but it is a small area & hard to find a free chair. Great people watching, mostly Russian and almost no Americans. Very nice shops across the street, and Forte dei Marmi is more upscale, about 6 miles away. Easy to bike there or drive. There are many other places to visit nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view! Better yet a balcony. It's worth paying more for rooms on the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
197 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

In a country where there is only a very limited tradition of outstanding hotels, the Prinicipe turns up as a surprising benchmark. Sure, there is the notorious Pelicano further down the coast. There you will find more class, a more upscale clientèle, and a real tradition of luxury. Here however, despite the eclectic mix of Forte dei Marmi clientèle, the Principe serves up a pleasing mix of very modern decor, truly excellent service, and real comfort. The hotel only opened a couple of years ago. Whilst not exactly "design" in the highest sense of the term, it is slick, clean and pleasing, if not always functional. The bar on the roof is a stunner, overlooking the whole coast. Complimenti to the management, who are running a tight ship - something which is hard to do here. Be careful of prices in the summer - they are too high.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank i-live-for-lunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

I was a bit skeptical when I saw the pictures from the website, they looked too showy. I had no idea where Forte dei Marmi was, never heard of it until I had to follow my husband there for work. We only stayed one night, just enough to finish up with work and then head back to Milan.
We arrived by train from Milan after a grueling train ride and we were pleasantly surprised when we saw the hotel. The rooms are nicely appointed with good sized bathrooms. The view from the roof terrace is breathtaking! We took the hotel bicycles and explored the area and we couldn't believe how picturesque it is! The wide beach seemed to stretch on for miles, with the marble mountains in the backdrop - what could be a more perfect picture?
Quaint looking shops selling Prada, Gucci, Tods, etc. In a small town? Little did we know that this is actually the playground of rich Russians who descend in droves during summer.
I would have given an excellent rating if not for the lunch we had at the hotel. It was terrible and way overpriced. Oh and the massage at the spa was also no big deal.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gerrylow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We had a an upgraded room and it was still on the small side. Very modern and clean with a hip vibe. Hotel could not have been located better.

The staff was very nice but could have been a little more helpful when asked for recommendations.

Pool was beautiful and the beach was just as nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Myron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

This hotel has it all! It is cool, modern, clean and the people are so accommodating. The entire staff is friendly and warm! The rooms are nice, not huge, but totally adequate. This hotel is exactly what forte del marmi needed. All the other hotels are charming and older..this is where to be!! The bicycles are free the staff will drive you at night..if you don't feel like walking..Totally ignore the previous post from the disgruntled travel agent..I almost changed my reservation after reading that..and i would have missed one of the greatest stays in my life! ..the rooftop bar is so much fun..is any place perfect ? This is not cheap, but it is great value ..IF this is your price point..if you are not spending these prices..I would stay at the Ritz forte del Marmi.. A four star clean hotel, with a great location..I looked at all the competing hotels in this price range while i was in forte...this was by far the BEST! And the beach was included in my stay. This is huge in FDM as it's 150 euros per day. If you like cool, clean, modern and a real 5star hotel..you will not be disappointed...and it's so much prettier than the web page

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank b0cababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Forte Dei Marmi hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Negresco
Hotel Il Negresco
#2 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Roma Imperiale
Villa Roma Imperiale
#4 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.3 mi away
St Mauritius Hotel
St Mauritius Hotel
#1 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#13 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Augustus Hotel & Resort
Augustus Hotel & Resort
#11 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#6 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Principe Forte dei Marmi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Principe Forte dei Marmi

Property: Principe Forte dei Marmi
Address: Viale Ammiraglio E. Morin 67, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Forte Dei Marmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
#14 Family Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
#16 Romantic Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Principe Forte dei Marmi 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The serenity and elegance of the building continues on the floors above where 28 individually designed bedrooms with glass fronted bathrooms can be found. Each one gives a sense of freedom and sophistication. The materials used in the common areas and bedrooms are limited to wood, natural stone, neutral textiles, leather and a great deal of glass to create transparency, elegant simplicity and ease. Bedroom facilities: complimentary Wi-Fi and mini-bar. A wine cellar / fridge has also been placed in each room for guests who wish to enjoy champagne or pre-dinner drinks in the comfort of their own room. The hotel is set in the ideal location for exploring the Tuscan Riveria and is also a stone’s throw away from the major landmarks of the region. Just 45 minutes away guests can visit the stunning coastline at Cinque Terre and Portofino which are ideal for day trips and for guests who wish to experience these other popular beachside spots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Principe Forte dei Marmi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Forte Dei Marmi Hotel Forte Dei Marmi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing