We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grande Albergo Miramare
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Formia
Certificate of Excellence
Europe
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great place!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed there for a conference in October. Really great place. Nice staff and fantastic food. Simple but clean rooms, good mattress. A place with a great history as well. Went swimming twice in the sea below the hotel. Definitely a recommendation!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    71
    35
    16
    3
See reviews for
69
71
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

While visiting family in Formia, we stayed at this beautifully preserved historic hotel. It was a compound consisting of several buildings. This hotel was actually the home of the Italian Royal Family. It is said that Queen Elena loved this place. Our room was immaculate and well-appointed. The bedroom furnishings were provincial style while the bath was ultra modern and huge. The French doors opened onto a balcony that overlooked the Mediterranean. The view was stunning. A lovely continental breakfast out on a patio was included. The nearby beach in Formia is gorgeous.

Room Tip: We stayed in building #4, room 318.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MGMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I discovered this hotel almost by mistake at the last moment. I arrived in the dark so could not appreciate the looks of the hotel not the history. Only with the sun the next morning and a chat with the sweet receptionist I strted to realize what I had discovered......this hotel was previously the summer residence of the Italian Royal Family and Queen Elena loved the place and the sea air. The current owners strive to keep as much tradition alive as possible and the result is a wonderful combination of modern and not so modern.

Service wonderful and breakfast also great!!!! Well worth visiting. Five stars for me!!!!!

Room Tip: Choose sea view or non, the place is so quiet i dont think it really matters. But the view over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, NI
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed for three nights in the Grande Albergo Miramare in late August. This hotel is lovely, it has a certain old style glamour about it in everything from the palm trees to the terraces to the furnishings. The biggest draws are of course the views and the beach. The views across to Gaeta are beautiful. Many of the rooms have large terraces or balconies overlooking the gardens and the sea which is lovely.

I didn't spend any time at the pool - in fact I have no idea why anyone would when the beach is so fantastic. The line of rocks a little way out makes the area very safe for children to play in and keeps the water beautifully warm since it is heated by the sea. Lying in the warm water was one of my favourite things to do the whole trip. It is also possible to swim properly as well if you prefer. I also really appreciated the staff member on the beach wading out to warn us we were getting too close to meduse (jellyfish) just at the end of the trip - I think they don't appear till late in the summer and once he realised that we had children in the party he was very watchful. Despite the fact that we hadn't paid for loungers. We really appreciated this. BTW though it's worth knowing that the loungers are expensive - I think 10 euro per person - and you pay for them regardless of whether you're on the beach for a day or half an hour.

I also thought the staff at reception were nice - they were fine with us about late checkout and were accommodating when we needed to print things out etc. The internet was also pretty good here and it was possible to use it even on the terrace. And it was included in the cost. And the cost was very reasonable too for a hotel of this type.

I really enjoyed the breakfasts sitting overlooking the gulf. The food was pretty good and the staff again were nice. The only time I found them less nice was when there was a wedding on, but I presume that they were under pressure.

Admittedly I didn't do a lot of other eating at the hotel - I did order a panino one day and it was fine. The only challenge was finding someone to serve it to me and this was something we found several times - when we went to the bar there was no one there to serve. Luckily another one of our party had stocked up at a supermarket so we ended up repairing to their room! They did miss out on business because of this.

I do agree with the comment on how far out of town this hotel is. But this is a big issue in Formia, the only central accommodation is in a very basic B&B type hotel. I did miss being able to just pop into town.

But I would definitely recommend this hotel. And I will stay there again!

Room Tip: A sea view is a must!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belfastgirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2011

The location is beautiful with a nice view and nice maintained little gardens. The pool is not that big but very nice (even if it closes at 18.00) and the beach is just some steps away. The difficult part is to get back up from the beach. The rooms are nice and spacious either with balconies or terraces but ask for a sea view because otherwise it's too noisy. The cleaning service is really good but don't forget to put the 'do not disturb' sign on your door if you don't want to be woken up with a knock on your door really early. What is really a pity for this overall good experience are the non-existing service and the really unsatisfactory breakfast. For the breakfast, first, the buffet is not of the level of the 4 stars that this hotel is supposed to have. Second, to have basic products as bread (!) or cheese, you have to ask for a re-fill because when they are running out, they are not replaced even if it's 09.30 and breakfast is supposed to be served until 10.30. Of course the courtesy-lacking-waiters make things even worse. As for the rest of the service if you want to chill out having a coffee or a juice during the day you have to look hard to find a waiter who at the end will take your order and will bring it half an hour later with an attitude that will say that you are really disturbing him/her.
That's a pity because you leave with an unfriendly overview of this hotel even if there are positive things about it. You can understand at the end of the day that this hotel mostly works with wedding receptions (every weekend almost) and not really with regular clients.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank El N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

The hotel has an impressive entry with palms and the feeling of an old palace. It is directly on the beach and has a bar and a restaurant. The rooms are old but clean and well in shape. The whole hotel has an aura of a glorious past.
However:
Breakfast: as they were preparing the restaurant for a wedding we had to sit in rather hot and airless corner and could not enjoy the view of the beach and the garden -it seems that there are weeding rather often there
Room: while the room was ok be sure that you ask for one that has a sea view as otherwise the only view is to the street -which is rather laud.
Beach and pool: The pool was nice but it closes at 6 pm. The same for the private beach.
Location: A car or Taxi are needed to get anywhere (the hotel is something like 30 minutes walking distance from the city)
Service: This was probably the worst part. I must have met there the most arrogant and unfriendly receptionist ever. While she spoke acceptable English asking it seems that if you are not dressed like a millionaire you will not get a friendly smile. Also, do not try to stay a second longer after the official checkout time. For the first time in my live I was called at 12:00 to be reminded that I should be leaving.
Formia: Not much of a tourist attraction if have the choice continue to either Napoli or Rome and stay there

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorgsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

I have been staying at this hotel for over 20 years... my father who is Italian and lives in Rome has been coming here for over 50 years. This hotel is absolutely beautiful and a true hidden gem. I am sure part of my enchantment with this hotel has to do with my emotional attachment to Formia.... it is equidistant from Rome and Naples... Naples and its surroundings (Capri, Ischia, Pompei) are easily accessible... Naples can be seen on a clear day from some of the rooms.. Hotel Miramare is relaxing and for me is a true sanctuary. The staff is super friendly and accomodating. The food is exceptional and is evidenced by the fact that mostly Italians and Europeans come here. In addition, this used to be the summer home of the king and queen of Italy (when there was a monarchy in Italy). You cannot beat the value... the pensione completa is the best deal... room and all 3 meals included... I prefer the food here to the local restaurants in Formia anyway...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MPT10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Formia
1.6 mi away
Hotel Castello Miramare
1.4 mi away
Kora Park
Kora Park
#1 of 7 in Formia
465 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bajamar Beach Hotel
Bajamar Beach Hotel
#4 of 7 in Formia
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Villa Irlanda Grand Hotel
4.3 mi away
Hotel Gajeta
Hotel Gajeta
#3 of 11 in Gaeta
368 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Serapo
Hotel Serapo
#8 of 11 in Gaeta
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Albergo Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Albergo Miramare

Property: Grande Albergo Miramare
Address: Via Appia Lato Napoli 44, 04023 Formia, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Latina > Formia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Formia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Albergo Miramare 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queen Elena of Savoia’s old residence. Point of reference of the Italian hospitality for 70 years and historic abode of the fine dining. A charming and magnificent Italian tourist attraction. The Grande Albergo Miramare was born in 1947, but it roots are much older as it had been the summer residence of the Italian Royal family. The hotel is composed of six classic-styled villas wisely restored, though keeping unchanged its original structure; it’s surrounded by the Mediterranean maquis with an incomparable view over the of Gaeta. The main villa – Villa Anna – used to be Queen Elena’s private flat; today, it’s the royal suite of the hotel, maintaining both the furniture and the big wrought-iron chandelier intact, belonged to the Savoia family. Family holidays, business meetings, romantic getaways: whatever your stay is, Miramare always is the perfect location. All areas are typified by the Venetian elegant style and provided with all comfort equipments. Each room is one-of-a-kind: they all are enriched with classy, vintage and original furniture, and combined with relaxing and delicate colours. Balconies and terraces offer a breathtaking view perched over the Gulf of Gaeta. It’s been 70 years since the Grande Albergo Miramare became part of the history of the Italian hospitality and the tourism made in Italy. The Miramare is a big restaurant and one of the oldest in Italy, thanks to its long story and tradition imprinted by successful deeds, due to Celletti family at its third generation today. The Sala degli Specchi (the mirrors room) has been recently restored: it’s the building’s flagship because of its fine marble flooring, stunning pure gold chandeliers, magnificent mirrors, as well as the furniture once belonged to the Queen of Savoia. The room boasts an exclusive view over the Gulf of Gaeta. The Grotta del Fauno (the faun’s cavern) was discovered while digging for the restoration of the Mirrors room. The cavern once was the private royals’ cellar; today, it’s a restaurant room built in the stone, furnished with an unmistakable rough style and enriched with details dated back to 1800 but still perfectly preserved. The main wine and food organisations have been awarding the Miramare Restaurant over years; furthermore, it’s also recommended by both Michelin and Gambero Rosso guides. The Miramare Hotel really is a relaxing oasis. It is surrounded by the Mediterranean greenery overlooking the stunning Gulf of Gaeta, it’s provided with a seafront swimming pool and a private beach, which the personnel always take good care of. There is crystal-clear sea and an equipped beach, where it is possible to order lunch from the restaurant thanks to the staff who’s always at the guest’s disposal to guarantee the best wellness. Those who wish to enjoy the beach only without staying at the hotel, it is possible to reach it just passing by the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grande Albergo Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Albergo Miramare Formia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing