We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It does what it says on the tin”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Tiffany

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fiuggi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Tiffany
Ranked #32 of 55 Hotels in Fiuggi
East Linton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“It does what it says on the tin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is a three-star hotel and it doesn't pretend to be anything else. It is clean and the staff are helpful and friendly. Okay, they don't speak a lot of English, but this is Italy after all - what would one expect? Some reviewers have complained about the food, but as long as you bear in mind that you're not paying haute cuisine prices, then there really isn't very much to complain about. The hotel is on the edge of Fiuggi, a somewhat uninspiring town with not a great deal to interest a visitor. The old town is a different matter. Take a bus (somewhat infrequent and unpredictable)up there and you will find a much more interesting and atmospheric place.

Room Tip: Most but not all rooms have balconies. Ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    30
    12
    9
    2
See reviews for
13
23
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for a week in the middle of October on a Travel Department holiday, including trips to Rome, Pompeii and Capri.
Overall, a decent hotel, could easily make some small changes to make it more inviting.
Location: On the outskirts of Fiuggi new town, Just over an hour from Rome and two and a half hours from Naples. An easy walk in to the new town, though have to cross the road a couple of times to be able to walk on a footpath! Not much to see/do in the town. Quite a hike up to the old town, but worth it - quite atmospheric and 'pretty'. Nothing to 'do' in the old town, except one day there was a market, but our guide didn't tell us about it, which made me quite cross (rumour was that she wanted us to go on the optional pay-for tour instead).
Facilities: Basic hotel in terms of facilities - no internet access, very limited and not very welcoming area for sitting about after dinner. Lighting is quite harsh, and the atmosphere would be improved by dimming it a bit, and having candles in the dining room. Staff work hard and are pleasant and very busy.
Rooms: We had a corner room which was presumably a family room because it had a spare single bed, so was larger than the standard doubles. Also, it was on a corner, so had a good balcony which got the sun from about 10am until it went down behind the mountain at about 6pm. Room was clean and serviced well every day (though they weren't too generous with the toilet roll!) No air conditioning, so would be unbearable in full summer. Bath and shower head, but no shower curtain. No hair drier. No tea making facilities or fridge. Comfortable beds. Small safe in room.
Food: Very rigid dining times (door locked until the appointed hour, then rush to get in). Whatever table you are at on the first night will be 'your' table for the duration and woe betide you if you deviate from that! Chaos our first morning! Not enough tables set, no cups available etc, but OK after that. Breakfast not great - watery juice, dry bread, but the standard ham, cheese and hard boiled eggs available and tea/coffee from a dispensing machine. Dinner was good. Different soup every day (no choice). DIfferent pasta dish every day (no choice). Choice of 2 main courses, different every day. No vegetables other than potatoes with the main, and a scrum for the buffet salad, but no shortage of food and the waiter often came round offering more of the meat. Dessert was fruit or cake. Wine acceptable and only €8 bottle for house wine.
Travel Department holiday itself: a very busy week, including tours that left the hotel at 6.30am!! Our guide was Marina, and she attracts mixed reviews. She is very approachable and chatty and some guests think she is great, but having been on other Travel Department tours with better guides, I would say that Marina needs to brush up on her guiding techniques. She was more interested in telling us about herself than filling us in on relevant local information (eg.market). The main problem was that she did not drum into us while we were still in the bus when and where we were to meet at various stages of the tour, leading to several occasions of people getting lost. Also, when leading the way, she did not have a clear 'flag' for us to follow and she tended to walk quickly and talk facing forward, so no-one behind her could her what she was saying! Her recommended eatieries on the tour days were very good, and I would strongly recommend following her advice for these, as she booked ahead and that saved a lot of time and effort and saved wasting the limited free time trying to find somewhere reasonable. The tours (ancient Rome, religious Rome, Capri, Pompeii) are worth doing if you haven't been to these places before, but because time is limited the guide (a 'proper' local guide for each place) marches you through the site, pointing out the main features but not allowing any time to linger at the bits you are interested in or you will get left behind.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have big balcony and a bath. I think the other double rooms only have a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank rallp54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel was based midway between Rome and Naples in a small town. The staff were so helpful and friendly and the room was very clean with a lovely view of the town and countryside. The food was plentiful but the menu was very repetitive. I would have liked a better breakfast selection and proper pure orange...it was very watered down. Despite the evening meal being repetitive the food was plentiful and good to eat. A better approach to the buffet should be considered as many people on our trip must have felt they would go hungry as they elbowed others out of the way to get at the buffet salad in the evening and the breakfast. Nevertheless such lovely staff and I had a super time.

Room Tip: Views and balconies at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank elaineamymcfeeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Read other reviews after booking and was worried. The hotel was very clean, there was always plenty of hot water. The food was fine, four courses every night, soup (always vegetable), pasta, main corse varied each night (not that great and chips with everything) followed by fruit or cake. It was only an hour and a half from Rome on the bus. Not a lot to do in Fiuggi and very little information in the hotel. Still we had a great holiday, the Travel Department tour guide was fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sue73w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in hotel Tiffany for a week. & had no hot water for 3 days, the water in my room was freezing. The walls are not sound proofed so you can hear everything your neighbours get up to. The people above my room woke me up around 4.30am by what sounded like the moving of furniture. I had 2 wait 3 days before a room became vacant so I could move to a room with hot water. The proprietor was no help & considered me as nothing more than a nuisance. The running of this establishment would put you in mind of 'Faulty Towers'

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Kelsb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fiuggi hotels

mayo
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

My Wife and I stayed in this Hotel as part of a group having booked with The Travel Department on a package Holiday. The Staff were friendly and helpful. The Breakfast was very basic. The evening dinner was Soup, Pasta which was served every evening, with either Rabbit, Kebab ,Fish, Pork, Chicken all served with chunky potatoes done in olive oil and desert which might be unripened pears with grapes which we got one evening. Noticed most of the pears were just picked at. Twenty minute walk in to Town.Lift which carries three people at max. Four floors in this Hotel. I have stayed in a lot better Three Star Hotels but they try and do there best so i would recommend this Hotel JUST !!! as i know there business depends on it. Room for improvement as regards breakfast and decor of rooms. Rooms were OK but bed not to comfortable with just a small portable TV with two English speaking channels. There is a Safe in the wardrobe and you have to ask at Reception for a key which costs five euro which is refundable at the end of your Holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms on the corner have a large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mayojoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Very friendly family run hotel, have to agree with other reviewers not up to 3 stars but very clean and good value for money. Evening meals get a little repetative, as part of a group evening meal was included, you may want to try a couple of other local restaurants if you fancy a bit of a change from Pork with nearly every meal! It was particularly hot the week we were there and the rooms could benefit from either air conditioning or even a fan. Very safe and quiet area just a few minutes walk into either the new or old towns. Would stay there again, great base if you were visiting either Rome or heading south to Naples.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tazcorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fiuggi hotels
0.4 mi away
Ambasciatori Place Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Siviglia
Hotel Siviglia
#15 of 55 in Fiuggi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dei Pini Hotel
Dei Pini Hotel
#3 of 55 in Fiuggi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Atlantic Park Hotel
Atlantic Park Hotel
#10 of 55 in Fiuggi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Verdi
Hotel Verdi
#1 of 55 in Fiuggi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Touring Wellness&Beauty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tiffany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tiffany

Property: Hotel Tiffany
Address: Via Armando Diaz 508 | Fiuggi Fonte, 03015 Fiuggi, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Frosinone > Fiuggi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 55 Hotels in Fiuggi
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tiffany 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Also Known As:
Tiffany Hotel Fiuggi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing