We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like travelling back in time!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Palazzo della Fonte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Palazzo della Fonte
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Fiuggi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Like travelling back in time!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed at this hotel as I was attending a conference, I then extended my break for a personal week away with a friend. When I first got to the hotel I was quite dissapointed - the showers didn't work very well and the hotel looked dated and tired. However the more time I spent here, the more I fell in love with the place! The staff were amazing, the food was scrumptious and to be honest by the end of my trip I felt like I was living through a Sophia Loren movie. Amazing terrace where you could have breakfast in the sunshine, or pre/post dinner drinks. The rooms were large - the beadspreads were certainly something that reminded me of my Grandmohers house so that amused me more than anything! So, on first impression you may be disspointed with this hotel, but if you want something a little different and quirky, then go for it. I would certainly like to go back as the surrounding area of Fuiggi is also beautiful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing out of the front of the hotel, rather than the rear. Also some of the rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    120
    26
    13
    9
See reviews for
85
192
8
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roma
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

From an architectural stand point this hotel is really great with it's liberty style it feels like the time is suspended (and sometime creepy ... as reminded me the horror movie "Shining"). Rooms are extremely spacious with nice classic style furniture, bed is sumptuous, bathroom clean and roomy, easy to park your car. This hotel has a really nice swimming pool (outdoor and heated indoor). We choose this hotel because of it's SPA which unfortunately honestly did not impressed me. The SPA definitively does not worth the money spent. Service is a bit sloppy as you can ear the staff talking about their own working issues in front of the customer rather than focusing on the customer needs. Breakfast definitively not good for an hotel of this ranking, poor selection of food that you can expect in a 3 star hotel and not a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZippoRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boskoop, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have stayed one night in this 5 star hotel. Rooms are OK but for some reason it did not make us "happy to stay". The hotel is situated on a great location, on a hill in Fiuggi. I assume we are not the rigth target for this hotel but people looking for a great terme place will be.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michel_Wenzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at this palatial hotel for 5 days .This hotel is a very special place . Nestled high in the mountains away from everything it is a wonderful retreat . Excellent service,fabulous pool,and breathtaking views makes this a wonderful place to stay .Rome is only 45 minutes away .There is a fabulous outlet mall only 20 minutes away.....The spa is excellent and this hotel proves to be an amazing place to relax and feel good ...Our only complaint is that the furniture in the beautiful oversized rooms tend to be a bit tired and can use some updating ....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravel91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

I'll start this review by saying that our stay wasn't representative of most weekends because there was a giant conference with the ex-president that weekend. Service was hard to find because they were busy directing hundreds of media and security personnel. Our air conditioning broke and we had to change rooms at 4am. The employees were all very friendly but you could sense they were somewhat overwhelmed. We did receive a 10-15% discount due to the air conditioning and inconvenience of the conference, but i feel they could have done more to rectify what didn't turn out to be the romantic getaway we were expecting. Perhaps this was an isolated incident, but we definitely didn't walk away feeling we'd had a 5 star experience. The hotel is lovely and well situated and would be a good value if not for the circumstances

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WashingtonDCAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
162 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is a hotel where you imagine royalty, the rich and famous staying, and it's accessible to ordinary folk. The building is absolutely stunning and dominates the Fiuggi landscape where travellers come "to take the waters" in times past as well as today. Palazzo della Fonte looks and feels like a relic from a bygone era of grander times, but it's real and very wonderful. Every detail is carefully cponsidered from the manicured gardens to the dressing gown and slippers in every room; from the mind-boggling array of superb food presented at each meal to the beautiful art and objects decorating the hotel. The rooms are huge, tastefully decorated and furnished, quiet and all have great views. There are two pools (outdoor and indoor) a small gym and spa. The restaurant is wonderful, but you could also go to one of several extremely good local restaunrants for a change of scene. The staff are all very professional, warm adn friendly and there is no hint of snootiness that one sometimes picks up in such hotels.

Room Tip: I have stayed 3 times and all rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MMTMRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

My parents are from the Ciociaria area. This hotel is right in the heart of the area. Just off the autostrada. This is by far one of the finest hotels in Italy, for ambiance, setting and convenience.
A short walk to the center of Fiuggi, which is a quaint area filled with small shops and restaurants.
The highlight of the area is the park that houses the famous Fiuggi water. We spent an entire morning there drinking of the miracle waters and enjoying the beautiful setting. The name of the Fonte is Bonafacio VIII. The pope used to go here to cure his stomach problems with the spring water. There is a great restaurant on the higher part of Fiuggi, called Locanda. We enjoyed it so much we went three times for dinner. The people in the town are very friendly, and many Italians visit the area for their vacations. This is not a "tourist" stop, and most of the people enjoying the park were Italians. The breakfast was great, and the restaurant in the hotel was very good.

I recommend it highly. It is only one hour from the center of Rome.

Room Tip: We had a high corner room, which gave is a good breeze and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertusMaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fiuggi hotels
0.1 mi away
Ambasciatori Place Hotel
0.2 mi away
Silva Hotel Splendid
Silva Hotel Splendid
#7 of 55 in Fiuggi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Fiuggi Terme Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Giorgio
Hotel San Giorgio
#5 of 55 in Fiuggi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Delle Terme
Albergo Delle Terme
#12 of 55 in Fiuggi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Touring Wellness&Beauty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Palazzo della Fonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Palazzo della Fonte

Property: Grand Hotel Palazzo della Fonte
Address: Via Dei Villini 7, 03014 Fiuggi, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Frosinone > Fiuggi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fiuggi
#2 Business Hotel in Fiuggi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fiuggi
#6 Family Hotel in Fiuggi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Palazzo della Fonte 5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the quietness of a park, the Grand Hotel Palazzo della Fonte rests on top of a hill overlooking the valley of Fiuggi, a prime SPA destination. A majestic example of Art Nouveau architecture, the Palazzo welcomes its guests in rooms whose decor and drapery epitomise the timeless elegance of English traditional country houses. It seduces with the culinary delights of local tradition; its SPA greets with delicate scents and sweet melodies gently diffusing. An elegant and sumptuous retreat, an hour away from the capital, the Palazzo is a haven of relaxation where to abandon oneself to the warmth and hospitality of a dedicated staff that will ensure that every whim is catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Palazzo della Fonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Fiuggi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing