We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent stay in a lovely location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Fiuggi, Province of Frosinone, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Russian first
Any
English first
jswalters
Leicester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent stay in a lovely location”
Reviewed July 29, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We've just returned from two fantastic weeks at Villa Marta in the lovely town of Fiuggi and would whole-heartedly recommend it.

We landed at Rome Ciampino airport in the late evening, but the villa is an easy drive along the Autostrada and we were provided with excellent directions. Fiuggi is just over an hour from Ciampino airport and one and a half hours from Fiumicino airport. Despite our late arrival, we were warmly greeted by Dorothy who welcomed us and got us settled in quickly and without fuss.

The four of us stayed in the spacious ground floor apartment at Villa Marta, which has a double bedroom and a twin bedroom with an en-suite. There is also a separate bathroom and large kitchen and living areas. The apartment was immaculate inside and cool despite the 35 degree heat outside.

The apartment opens out onto the large enclosed garden and there is space at the side of the apartment where we could park our hire car. The well kept garden has a lovely gazebo where you can eat or relax in the shade, garden furniture, a second sheltered table area and a double swing.

There's also a great little plunge pool, which is perfect for cooling off or for younger children to swim about in. Our eight-year-old daughter loved it.

The main town is within walking distance of the villa (30 mins) and the old town is also accessible on foot (30 mins), although it is on a hill so there's a short fairly steep stretch up-hill - the views are amazing. Both parts of Fiuggi offer an variety of things to do. We visited the Fonte Bonifacio VIII to sample the water, which Fiuggi is famous for, dined at La Grotta and La Taverna del Castello in the old town, and enjoyed excellent ice cream at the Gelateria Ester.

Fiuggi is also well located for exploring further afield. We took the bus from Fiuggi direct to Rome twice, which takes an hour and a half and drops you at the main Termini station. Dorothy gave plenty of advice about how to get the Birg tickets, times and securing a seat!

We also visited Pompeii, which is a two hour drive, but well worth it, Villa d'Este in Tivoli, and Ostia Antica just outside Rome. All excellent places to visit giving a rich insight into Roman history. There is a waterpark in Frosinone, which is a half an hour drive away. With several water slides, three large pools and plenty of space to sunbath on the (rented) sunbeds, this was a great day out, which we all enjoyed.

Dorothy and Biagio are lovely hosts and are always on hand to help or offer advice. We would recommend a stay at Villa Marta and hope to return there again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and friendliness of the owners
Liked least: The hail storm on the last day!
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amanda68h
2 reviews
“Wonderfully relaxing Villa”
Reviewed June 22, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Have just returned from a fabulous 2 week stay in the lovely Villa Marta. We had the ground floor apartment which was very handy for access to the large garden and outdoor eating area. The apartment is very spacious, clean and well furnished and equipped. We had a very busy 2 weeks visiting all the sights in the region including Rome and Pompeii and having the lovely peaceful apartment to come back to meant this was a very relaxing holiday . Fiuggi and Villa Marta is an excellent location for visiting this whole region of Italy. Dorothy and Biagio were excellent hosts providing lots of advice for travelling around the region and places of interest to visit. Dorothy also went the extra mile - bringing an umbrella when it rained, a money belt for the trips to Rome and a candle just in case when there was a thunderstorm all without being intrusive. She even gave us a little sachet of dried lavender from the garden, which scented the suitcase wonderfully in the journey home.
I can't recommend this place highly enough

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nurses8
Derbyshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice apartment - good location for touring the area”
Reviewed May 31, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We have recently returned from a 10 day holiday staying in Villa Marta 2nd floor apartment. We found Villa Marta to be a very clean and comfortable apartment situated in a residential area of Fiuggi and as such gives the holiday maker a true sense of living among Italians going about their day to day business. Something that a Hotel on a complex could not provide.
This said, it is worth mentioning that this also has some disadvantages, in that the local area can be occasionally noisy as any residential area can, which could either add a flavour of life in Fiuggi or be a slight nuisance dependant on the holiday maker.
Dorothy and Baggio the owners, who live in the 1st floor apartment, are on hand should you require any information and help finding your way around, and having the use of their lovely garden was a real plus during our stay. Dorothy provided information by post prior to our holiday and we followed this up with a phone call a few days beforehand to inform her of our approximate arrival time, around 10.15pm, and enquired where to collect the keys from. Dorothy said it did not matter how late it was she always welcomed her guests on arrival, which we were very reassured by.
However, when we were struggling in the dark, in an unfamiliar area, in a left hand drive hired car ,on the night we arrived in Fiuggi, Dorothy was obviously irritated that we couldn’t easily find Villa Marta and during a telephone conversation, she considered that 10.30pm was exceptionally late, suggesting we check into a hotel !
Our arrival around 10.45pm was not therefore , initially, very welcoming , as we had also parked the car in the wrong place on the drive it appeared!
Despite this bad start to our holiday, Dorothy went on to be as others have reviewed very friendly helpful and chatty with both ourselves and our 9 year old son. The apartment is very spacious and the views from the balcony are beautiful. It is an ideal base for touring both Rome and Naples areas as we did. On the whole we had an enjoyable family holiday and would recommend Villa Marta to others visiting this part of Italy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious and clean . Use of a garden ,garden chairs and childrens garden toys etc.
Liked least: Residential noise at times, and initial greeting unwelcoming.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2015
I was expecting you late evening, as the shops would be closed I had done the shopping for the things you needed and all was ready for your arrival.
Late arrival is not a problem and we always make sure guests are settled in however late they arrive as many reviews on this site will confirm.

I suggested you considered a hotel for the night, not because of the hour but because of the great difficulty you were having finding us. I wasn’t able to help as on the phone you told me that you didn’t know where you were.

I had posted you a map and highlighted the route right upto our door with written directions including a note
IMPORTANT ‘ at the first stop sign you come to DON’T turn left into town but drive straight on’
Unfortunately you did turn left
You say I was visibly annoyed, to be honest I was relieved that you had found us as I had given up hope, the streets are all well illuminated, we are only 11 miles from the motorway and you did have the map.
About the parking, I recommended a better place to park only because your car was in the middle of the drive,
For the rest of your holiday I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Very best wishes to you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damsko_02...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ideal location”
Reviewed May 16, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

From beginning to end, Dorothy was very helpful. After our late arrival from the UK, she stayed up late to make sure we got our key and were settled in. Dorothy's directions to the apartment were very helpful and easy to follow, especially when arriving late at night in a foreign country.

The villa is situated in an excellent location, not too far from the Autostrada, central to beautiful villages and easy access to public transport, ie. for visiting Rome. We went to Rome by train as Dorothy advised, using the BIRG ticket and she made all this information available in the apartment which meant we didn't have to worry about finding this out by ourselves. Easy access to the Autostrada not only made the region accessible, it also meant day trips to ie. Pompeii and Ostia Antica easier to manage. Again, information on lots of local attractions is readily available in the apartment.
The guestbook also has plenty of suggestions for sites and places to eat in the area, which is very welcoming after a long day site-seeing.

The apartment is spacious and the garden and gazebo are very nice for enjoying the afternoon/evening.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will not hesitate to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, peaceful and secure residential location with excellent views
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronald H
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“a pleasing holiday for any type of person.”
Reviewed September 28, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Firstly the villa is set in a lovely scenic area, with the spa town of Fiuggi within walking distance. It is ideally situated to get access to many attractions, Rome, Pompeii, Monticassino Anzio,etc..There are many more local attractions i.e.Old villages monasteries etc..Finally the welcome, advice,and guidance of Dorothy and Biagio with thier lovely garden [ideal for getting a tan] made our two week holiday one to remember. Thanks again Dorothy, Biagio.,. Ron, Stewart, Chris and Jean

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: relaxing
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: essere in vacanza e sentirsi a casa
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2016
Gentilissima
E stato bello riaverti con la tua famiglia a Villa Marta.
Siamo contenti che vi siete trovati bene ed in confort.
Speriamo di rivederci ancora, La nostra accoglienza è garantita quanto volete !
Grazie e tanti saluti a te e la tua bella famiglia
Biagio e Dorothy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola G
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2016
Siamo felice di sapere che avete avuto una bella vacanza a Fiuggi.
Speriamo di rivederci in futuro e tante belle cose .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing