We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a great location with a couple caveats”
Review of Hotel Medusa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Medusa
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Finale Ligure
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a great location with a couple caveats”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I am very mixed about this hotel and would have given it a 4/5 but I'm trying to be a bit more critical lately so here goes:

Pros: got lucky with an awesome desk clerk that gave me a ton of info on the mountain bike scene, the location is sweet, the price is reasonable but not amazing, the rooms are decently sized, and the coffee machine cranks out some really above average hotel espresso shots, room 406 (ours) had a nice patio area (sadly it was a bit too chilly to enjoy it during our stay, but would be sweet in summer). The older nature of the building lends some charm.

Cons: the wifi was terrible....which these days is kind of a big deal when planning on the go. If I'm one of 3 people staying in the hotel in the offseason and connectivity is STILL bad/slow....then there's a serious issue. Breakfast is included which is always great but it is very mediocre compared to some other Italian hotels in the same class. Paying for the "seaview" was a bit of a let down as the "view" was 80% obscured by a wall connecting the patio to another adjacent building. Parking was extra and very limited. We were lucky that we were one of only a few other guests so we didn't have to compete with anyone for a space, but I think there ware maybe 2? spots for the entire hotel? Not their fault, but worth noting if you plan to drive...

Would I stay here again? Maybe, but I might checkout a few other options first.

Room Tip: I would probably skip paying extra for the "seaview" unless your primary concern is having...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmedusa, Owner at Hotel Medusa, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Daniel,
I thank you for taking the time to express your opinion about this hotel.
I am glad you enjoyed our staff because this is the thing that more than anything we care about. We have always been involved to train friendly and professional staff.
I would only like to point out a few things:
Free Wi-Fi: It is the best you can have in the area. Fastweb 20 Mbit / s. Unfortunately the connections in Finale Ligure does not ensure the service is delivered in the best way.
Room: It was the best room I had available (thankfully there were not only 3 guests in our hotel :) ). Unfortunately the rooms 406 and 407 have the disadvantage of the wall, on the other side the terrace is much larger than the others.
Parking: Liguria is not a suitable place to travel with the car and Finale Ligure is no exception, indeed. In any case, the parking lots that you have used are only one of the solutions that we offer to our guests.
I hope to see you soon in our hotel, because, from what I understand, we were able to make you fall in love with Finale (not that hard) and I know you will come back ...

Marco - The owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    234
    48
    11
    6
See reviews for
263
132
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Nice hotel that is 30 seconds from the beach. Rooms are a good size and staff are very helpful. We used the hotel from March-Sept but found it got really hot before the air-con got switched on in the public areas!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Hotel Medusa is the quintessential Finale Ligure Hotel. It is right in the middle of the Final Marin old town, in a charming little alley. Out the door to your left, the beach, to your right the cobbled pedestrian streets of the old town, with restaurants, bars and shops. Sure, it has no parking lot, but you can leave your car in a garage in town (5 minutes walk) and forget about it for the rest of your holidays. Breakfast is good and served on a terrace with sea view. It's perfects for bikers thanks to its big and safe bike room, with bike wash, laundry machine and a small selection of tools.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We spend a lot of time in Finale Ligure, with its great off-season climate and lovely beaches. We often stay at the Hotel Medusa because it is welcoming, relaxing and professional - and the chef makes great food, especially the puddings! What made this stay a success? The staff are always happy to see us, the rooms are incredibly clean - and we have a favourite room from which you can not only hear the sea but get a great view too. We found they were always very careful to ensure we know what was going on even though sometimes the odd word
escaped them in English.

We spent nearly a week at the hotel, waiting to move into a winter apartment, and everyone was very helpful, and accepted postal deliveries so that we could get lots of stuff for our new flat. We really like their commitment to recycling and cutting back on waste, too.

Room Tip: Always go for the sea view - it's worth it. Book early as the hotel is normally pretty full and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cartyonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Hotel is very good and the people is very friendly and always ready to help.
Location is great, direct access to many restaurants, to the nice piazza ant to the beach.
Perfect for MTB lover. They provide a loceked room for MTB, a place to wash and fix them.
My room was quite small but for one person was ok. Nice terrace for breakfast with sea view.

I would reccommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fedebern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Valais, Switzerland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

we did an unplanned stop in finale ligure and not only did we stayed as we enjoyed all the sea side attractions for children and the clean sea and facilities, the friendly staff and locals as well as the wide choice of nice restaurants and cafes, but also because we found a decent room to stay in at hotel medusa. we did a few places along the beach side but this one was the only one who proposed a nice bedroom. ours had a balcony showing on all the roof tops of the neighborhood as well as a view on the bay/sea. compared to other places we visited the room remained quiet once the terrace door was open and we just loved the fresh air to sleep. the entrance is in a typical little side street. the receptionist was friendly patient and helpful. they didnt have a parking spot so we left the car in a safe parking and that cost just 16euros for 22 hours (it cost more in geneva and it isnt garded) and what is a 7 min walk when we went around the town for hours. the hotel has a kids club and a room open for children with loads of games a tent and all to be able to give our babies the same service as at home. we like to come back on a long week-end or a holiday asap. we have a cleaning company and found the bathroom and rooms to be clean and even if the coffee machine wasnt all easy to understand it was friendly to get to know about it with other customers and there was plenty of everything even after breakfast time. the restaurant terrace is nice and invites to stay and nobody chased us out

Room Tip: if you can take a room with the terrace just do it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwitzerlandTofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Well equipped for cyclists/mtbikers with a storage room and cleaning facilities. Nice location next to the beach and surrounded by restaurants. Quality and variation of the breakfast were below average.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maapat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Finale Ligure hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Pietro Palace
Hotel San Pietro Palace
#7 of 57 in Finale Ligure
159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel Castello
Park Hotel Castello
#20 of 57 in Finale Ligure
83 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Florenz
Hotel Florenz
#15 of 57 in Finale Ligure
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Riviera Miramare
Hotel Riviera Miramare
#3 of 6 in Varigotti
158 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Punta Est
Hotel Punta Est
#6 of 57 in Finale Ligure
169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Derby
Hotel Derby
#10 of 57 in Finale Ligure
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Medusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Medusa

Property: Hotel Medusa
Address: Via Bricchieri 7 | Lungomare di Via Concezione, 17024, Finale Ligure, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Finale Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Finale Ligure
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Finale Ligure
#2 Family Hotel in Finale Ligure
#4 Romantic Hotel in Finale Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Medusa 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Medusa Hotel, a charming completely renovated XVII building, is located on the Finalmarina promenade, few steps from the beach and the historic centre of the town. You will find a warm welcome all year round in this familiar and peaceful establishment. The Hotel is equipped with a lift, air-conditioning restaurant, a terrace with a lovely sea-view and a meeting room. All bedrooms have been fully renewed and include a bathrooms with shower, satellite-TV, hair-dryer and sound-proofed doors. Some of this have a lovely sea- view.For our little guests we have purposely planned a furnished area. During the summer an assistant follow them daily entertaining them with games and animations, particularly during their parents' lunch time. Mothers devoted kitchen corner.At the restaurant they will find high chairs, table-clothes colorable, colourful dishes and glasses. The sandy beach is equipped with swimming- pool and toys for the baby bathers. Little beds, with anything else required are provided in the bedrooms.Finale Ligure is ideal for sports, mountain biking and hill-walking as it as at the edge of picturesque mountain which are criss-crossed with paths.Cycle tourists are offered facilities for free bike storage and washing, as well as a small workshops and maps and guides. Near the hotel, you can hire mountain bikes and join guided excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Medusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medusa Hotel Finale Ligure
Hotel Medusa Finale Ligure, Italy - Liguria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing