We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant restaurant in Ferrara”
Review of Osteria del Ghetto

Osteria del Ghetto
Ranked #50 of 663 Restaurants in Ferrara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $59
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed July 10, 2019

Fine location in the medieval centre, a bit away from the main thoroughfare. Friendly and careful staff. Family-like atmosphere. High quality food with wide selection and some special interesting dishes from the Jewish cuisine of Italy.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank perbjorkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (952)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 952 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2019 via mobile

This is a true depiction of food in Ferrara. And the restaurant is amazing. Mind you, this is a local place.....not a tourist place. They speak very little English, you will be expected to practice your Italian. DO NOT go into this place and act like the stereotypical American. You are respirating us all.

The hostess is an older woman, who is the sweetest Italian lady. Reminded me of my aunt, growing up. The waitress was amazing. She didn’t speak a lot of English and I don’t speak a lot of Italian, but we got it done. I had the pumpkin flan, cappelacci ragu and then the chocolate cake.

People in Ferrara celebrate some of the finest cuisine in the world. If you want to experience this mini-culture in an authentic way, go here!!!!!

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Jdorsa24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2018

Osteria del Ghetto was a wonderful dining experience. Our food was excellent - we loved the fried anchovies and the cappellacci di zucca! But one of the best parts of the experience was the owner who went out of her way to make sure that we understood everything on the menu, and helped us choose our delicious meals. An added bonus, the owner makes all the desserts - don't miss the the chocolate tenerina (a local specialty), and the owner makes a really good one!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Katherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2018

We recently visited Ferrara and enjoyed multiple dinners at Osteria del Ghetto. The restaurant was recommended to us by local people and we tried it and liked it a lot. The service was nice. We liked the wines and the balanced mix of traditional and innovative dishes. Our favorite dish was the fried anchovies.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2018 via mobile

I had the tasting menu, which was great. Wine card is extensive enough to have a decent choice. Pricing is amazing. A bottle of valpolicella ripasso for 23 euros is unprecedented. Serviced by a crew of lovely girls, headed by a true lady. If you have any more appetite, use it for another dessert (I enjoyed that). Nice atmosphere, everyone around was happy and cheerful. Do not be scared by the entrance, a true hidden gem.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank mbbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria del Ghetto also viewed

Ferrara, Province of Ferrara
Ferrara, Province of Ferrara
 
Ferrara, Province of Ferrara
 
Ferrara, Province of Ferrara
Ferrara, Province of Ferrara
 

Been to Osteria del Ghetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing