We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five days in Ferrara, Italy”
Review of Hotel Touring

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Touring
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Ferrara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed in Hotel Touring, Ferrara, Italy for five days. The room, a double , was spacious, the air-con (in a hot August) was really welcome, and the free bottles of water in the room fridge were a good idea.
The staff were really friendly and always very helpful. The (included) buffet breakfast was ample, plenty of ham, cheese, breads, cereals, jams, fruit ,everything, and more for a continental breakfast. The waiters/waitresses serving the coffees, were friendly and fast.
The only thing I missed, but I think this is the same in most hotel rooms, except the really expensive ones, was an armchair: only upright, but comfortable, chairs.
I'd recommend Hotel Touring to anyone going to Ferrara, which is a small city, packed with plenty to see: huge city-centre fort, dozens of medieval streets and lanes, restaurants, and bikes everywhere, few cars. Great. Not far from Venice, and verona, for a day visit by train, and the train fares are cheap.. .

Room Tip: I am single, but have realised that if I book Mr + Mrs. then I get a decent room and not a small cup...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,313)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Touring
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 1,313 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

Central location for a visit to old Ferrara, next to castle and with all the key sights less than 15 minutes walk. Our room was clean, bright and well presented, breakfasts were good and plentiful, Anthony on reception is a mine of information, to be honest without his guidance we might have missed a couple of sights - in general nothing was too much trouble for this hotel team, we would return and recommend

Room Tip: Higher the better I would think - we were on 4 which seemed just about right
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We booked our room back in Jan for 2 nights thru booking.com, and requested a room with a balcony. We got the birds nest up on the 5th floor, room 527. Loved it. The view of the castle and the park. Great buffet breakfast and we found parking very close to the hotel lobby door ! The staff was always helpful, since we had to keep pestering them for wifi codes. Great professional and personable. Our room with king bed, was firmly comfortable, with beautiful Italian linens. Loved Ferrara and the very exciting, chance of a lifetime experiencing the Millia Migla. All the cars parked all around the hotel overnight, I got up early in am, went downstairs and got pictures of all of them. What a time we had !

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms with a balcony.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ansophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

great location. a good central, simple and clean place to stay in when visiting the city. it's right next to the castle and walking distance to just about everything else. staff was friendly and helpful with car parking, maps ect. i would recommended it for people looking for a good price/quality hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbstravels78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is placed in the center of this suberb city of Ferrara. Warm welcome on reception, 100% help for car parking, maps of the city, restaurants and all you need to visit the city. Is a nice hotel, rooms are larger as needed, quiet and with a great breakfast on buffet style. Dont forget to ask in reception a taste of luxury chocholate chake..... you will dream for it....

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marco F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The location is fantastic and the room itself, while dated and a bit "worn" was a good size and clean. The thing that really let this hotel down was the staff. While not outright hostile, they never went out of their way to help, be friendly or be welcoming. Some examples: when we first arrived, all of our bags in tow, clearly checking in, I aproached the counter and said good morning and my name. The response was a rude; "Yes?....". When I explicitly elaborated that I would like to check in, I was told that I was half an hour early and that we would need to go away and come back (this was without checking to see if the room was actually ready early, which is often the case). When we came back, we were simply handed the key- no explanation of the hotel's facilities, no mention of wifi passwords (when we came down later to enquire we were told that it wasn't working, something that subsequent reception staff knew nothing about), and no mention of breakast times. On the subject of breakfast, the next day we were completely ignored by the breakfast staff- no coffee was offered and the dishes of the previous diners were not cleared from our table. Luckily, this experience was not repeated on subsequent days. Finally, there were no "do not disturb" signs to hang on the door so we were disturbed every single morning by the cleaning staff, some who seemed irritated by the mere fact that we were there. Little courtesies like being greeted by reception staff as you entered or left the hotel were also missing.

Slightly shabby hotels don't bother me, but being ignored or brushed off by staff can really make you feel unwelcome and ruin a holiday. Ferrara is such a nice, friendly town, I wouldn't tarnish the experience by staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdelaideJessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Very good hotel especially from the value for money perspective and for city tours. Very convenient location. From the 4 and 5th floors you can see the castle (best from rooms 432, 531, 532). Breakfast is very good, cappuccino also. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: From the 4 and 5th floors you can see the castle (best from rooms 432, 531, 532).
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vs-versus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ferrara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Annunziata
Hotel Annunziata
#1 of 32 in Ferrara
1,858 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#3 of 32 in Ferrara
838 reviews
0.6 mi away
Orologio Hotel Ferrara
Orologio Hotel Ferrara
#6 of 32 in Ferrara
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel De Prati
Hotel De Prati
#2 of 32 in Ferrara
493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#4 of 32 in Ferrara
405 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Palace Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Touring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Touring

Address: Viale Cavour 11, 44121, Ferrara, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Ferrara > Ferrara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Ferrara
Price Range: $85 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Touring 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Touring is located in central Ferrara, just 50 meters from the Estense Castle. With attentive service, it offers a spa, and air-conditioned rooms with a minibar, Sky TV and free Wi-Fi. Guests arriving at Hotel Touring are greeted with a welcome homemade pastry. Each morning an extensive continental breakfast is served, including cappuccino, fresh fruit juice, and local cheese. Organic and gluten-free products are also available. The Touring Hotel's wellness centre features a panoramic view of the city. Guests can relax in the Turkish bath or hot tub, or reenergise in the ice-fountain. The hotel offers free bike rental for exploring Ferrara's sites, including the Botanic Gardens and the Palazzo dei Diamanti. Touring Hotel is 4.5 Km from the Ferrara Nord motorway exit, and Ferrara Train Station is 1.5 Km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Touring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing