We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond Studded Este Palazzo and Contemporary Art Museum”

Palazzo dei Diamanti
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.82*
and up
Bike Tour Discovering Ferrara
Ranked #5 of 101 things to do in Ferrara
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Palazzo dei Diamanti is a venue belonging to the city of Ferrara where exhibitions of international importance are held, thereby contributing to the city’s reputation as a centre of art and culture. These exhibitions are organized jointly by Fondazione Ferrara Arte, Gallerie d'Arte Moderna e Contemporanea di Ferrara and the Settore Attivita Culturali of the Comune di Ferrara.
Montana
Level Contributor
364 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Diamond Studded Este Palazzo and Contemporary Art Museum”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We went to see the Michelangelo Antonioni special exhibit which runs through June 9, 2013. It is a tribute to his cinema and modern art influenced by Pollack, De Chirico and Rothko. The film-maker grew up in the fog of Ferrara on the Po River plain. Film clips are shown from Blow-up The Adventure and Zabriskie Point and Antonioni's earlier Italian films from the 50's and 60's. A great exhibit worth seeing when in Ferrara. The palazzo was begun by Sigismondo d'Este around 1493 and takes it name from the 8,500 diamonds that form its original facing, The National Gallery of Art is located on the first floor and hold paintings from the 13thC to the18thC. there are paintings by Bellini, Jacopo and altar by El Greco. Lots of little old ladies and men attendants giving lots of warnings. We saw very few tourists here or in the city.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarnivalGatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    606
    454
    114
    29
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peaks Island, Maine
Level Contributor
141 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great art”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My first impression on entering was not only the art being shown but how close and personal you could be with each piece. You could actually study each brush stroke if you wanted to. Another Ferrara Museo not to miss.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank sealights99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Unimpressive staff. Some nice exhibits.”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

There are some very fine items on display in this beautiful building. The collection is not vast, but there is plenty to keep an art lover satisfied.

I found some of the attendants annoyingly over attentive, watching your every movement with cobra-like concentration to the point of getting in your face. I thought that might be in order if I looked like I had just come out of prison, but I don't. Based on a few questions I asked, nobody seemed to have much deep knowledge of the paintings on display.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank AlaricUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
258 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“The building and the contents will surprise you”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

You will never think this incredible art collection. If you like paitings is a place you don't want to miss. Besides if you walk to it, you will find the house where the Lamborghinis (THE sport car!) were born.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pilar18_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Well organised gallery”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

An exhibition of paintings by Joaquin Sorolla was being held when we visited. The works were well displayed and it is an easy, comfortable gallery plan. Audio tapes are availble which my husband found useful but I like to enjoy the visual without the noise.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth_David_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palazzo dei Diamanti also viewed

Ferrara, Province of Ferrara
Ferrara, Province of Ferrara
 
Ferrara, Province of Ferrara
 

Been to Palazzo dei Diamanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing