We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for Ferrara” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alchimia Room and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alchimia Room and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 93 Ferrara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for Ferrara”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Hidden a quiet street this family-run hotel is well positioned to explore Ferrara. It is not right in the city centre, but it is quite close and they do offer bikes if you fancy a ride around town. The house itself is old, but everything else is ultra-modern and very comfortable. The hosts are helpful and welcoming and both my wife and I enjoyed our stay immensely.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londoner_S66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    20
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
75
203
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tyne and wear united kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

What can you say about Ferrara except that is a stunning and beautiful place to spend time and has excellent rail and road links? After all, it is a World Heritage City. This bed and breakfast is unusual and unique. A mix of old and new gives it that. It's perfect in terms of detail, comfort, organisation and staff. The owner is attentive and extremely helpful, when we wanted a taxi to the station he insisted that his mother drive us there. How nice. Lovely room, high ceilings and wooden beams, good air con, fridge, large bed- beautiful bathroom facilities. Free wifi works well- choose Alchimia 3 as it is the strongest signal. There is a garden where you can sit and relax and where we parked the car, and a supply of bicycles for those who choose to cycle around Ferrara. Now the breakfast room is an "add on" and lovely, but don't sit next to the window as the sun gets up about 8:30 and it's too hot! Now this is a breakfast to remember, different home made stuff like pies and cakes every day. Eggs made to order. Very nice fresh fruit and drinks- no stale stuff. A wonderful way to start the day. Recommendations for restaurants are given plus discounts and there is plenty of choice in the city, in the centre and near the bed and breakfast itself. You are in a street adjacent to brilliant places such as the grand cemetery, Diamond Palace and Resistance Museum and a ten minute walk to the heart of the city. You can spend days here just wandering and enjoying. The Buskers Festival was on during our visit- very good but crowded so do go in earlier to see things and to get a table in a restaurant. Venice is only just over an hour away on a train and you also have great choice of other places for day visits- Bologna, Modena etc. I have stayed in many bed and breakfasts and hotels across the world, this is easily in my top five! Thank you Euro and family.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the ground floor in a quiet street so you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thequiettraveller52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Well located not too far from city centre.
Innovative solution with high quality restructuring and modern art exhibition.
Friendly staff and good service in all details.
A place to stay in Ferrara at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brunomirasole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

We are absolutely thrilled about staying here, the place is simply breath taking with class and style. The host is a gem and extremely hospitable, we have been really treated to a wonderful time.
My partner and I have stayed at some lovely hotels in the past but this seems to top them all because it actually doesn't feel like a hotel! It's just a really well appointed room with lovely modern artwork and comfortable furniture.

If you are in ferrera this is a must!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sweetasanut_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This modern designed R&B was the perfect end to our trip. We stayed 5 nights and our intent was to visit the surrounding towns. Interestingly, Ferrara itself was the highlight, with its community feel where most everyone met in the square riding bicycles. Alchima exceeded expectations since this is not a tourist town, yet the facility located near the center of town was beautifully designed, constructed and maintained, and as has been said in the other reviews the breakfasts and helpfulness of Euro (the manager) was over the top. Bicycles and a car park are available, and trip suggestions and restaurant recommendations were perfect. Accordingly, I would rate this R&B at the top level of those elsewhere in Italy.

Ferrara has a wall most of the way around the old town and you can ride the bicycles on a path at the top of the wall. My wife and I rode the bicycles all around the town, we had no problems but saw evidence of other tourists having taken falls - so be careful as there are many uneven surfaces.

In addition to the ambiance of Ferrara itself we were most impressed with the National Archeological Museum where very fine Etruscan remains from a nearby city were recovered and displayed as discussed in those reviews.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank svbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essexville, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

We recently spent five nights at the Alchimia while visiting our daughter who was studing in Ferrara. We have traveled on a number of occasions in Italy and can safely say the Alchimia is the absolute best place we have stayed. The rooms are wonderfully designed and immaculately clean. The owner is simply put a great and genuine person who very patiently tolerated my fractured Italian. The breakfasts were something to behold! Restaurant and other recommendations were great. You cannot go wrong staying here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geno48732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

This is an absolutely beautiful place. The attention to detail in the design of the rooms, bathrooms and the common areas of this b&b is remarkable. Everything is comfortable, clean and very pleasing to the eye. The location is also good with just a few minutes by foot to the very centre of town. Free parking in the lovely courtyard is a further plus. The delicious breakfast featuring amongst other things fresh fruit, home-made cakes and made-to-order eggs is also worth mentioning. The proprietor is charming and goes out of his way to ensure that his guests have a comfortable stay. In short: a fantastic find!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Uta23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ferrara hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Annunziata
Hotel Annunziata
#1 of 32 in Ferrara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,732 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#3 of 32 in Ferrara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Prati
Hotel De Prati
#2 of 32 in Ferrara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Touring
Hotel Touring
#5 of 32 in Ferrara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
1.0 mi away
Orologio Hotel Ferrara
Orologio Hotel Ferrara
#6 of 32 in Ferrara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dolcemela
Dolcemela
#4 of 93 in Ferrara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alchimia Room and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alchimia Room and Breakfast

Property: Alchimia Room and Breakfast
Address: Via Borgo Dei Leoni 122, 44121, Ferrara, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Ferrara > Ferrara
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Ferrara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic town centre of Ferrara, in a 1400 year-old Palace, ALCHEMIA Room & Breakfast offers charming and stylish comfort. ALCHEMIA R&B is open all year round, with newly refurbished rooms and surroundings which are elegant, cosy and soundproofed to ensure the best possible comfort, an ideal base for a stay in Ferrara. The rooms are furnished with our special "alchemical recipe" based on the simplicity of the lines, using materials such as solid wood combined with the purity of steel. To guarantee our guests' relaxation, you can take advantage of our free private parking, where you can "forget" your car and enjoy your holiday with full peace of mind. All the rooms are on the ground floor, with no architectural barriers, so they are easily accessible to people with disabilities. All rooms have independent access with an electronic lock and private bathrooms. Ferrara is known for its medieval town centre, the city walls and its many cycling lanes, which you will be able to explore benefitting from our completely free bike-hire service. ALCHIMIA R&B is conveniently located in the heart of the city at less than 5 minutes on foot or by bicycle from the main points of interest. In the morning you can enjoy an excellent and delicious breakfast buffet as room service or in our breakfast room, where we serve a selection of warm pastries, home-made cakes, yogurt, jam, tea, milk and coffee and other goodies all made with fresh and genuine organic products. Upon request we can prepare breakfast for guests with special needs like celiacs and diabetics. For those who want to learn more about the history of this Estense town we provide books and encyclopaedias in our reading area, where you can have safe internet access with our R&B iPad. There is a 50 sq. m. internal area and a 300 sq. m. external area dedicated to the exhibition of contemporary art of various types and genres. Throughout the exhibition period it will be possible to meet and talk to the artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Alchimia Room and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing