We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit past her prime.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Duchessa Isabella Hotel
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Ferrara
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A bit past her prime.”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Great family run feeling, delicious meals, excellent service. BUT they need to invest in modernizing and refurbishing. The room key drove me crazy the heat didn't work i was so hot opened the window but then was eaten alive by mosquitoes. Internet access was free WiFi but complicated to access. They need new shower curtains and wallpaper.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarthaMcCully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    62
    32
    24
    29
See reviews for
36
94
6
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

This hotel has been resting on its laurels for far too long. It's a member of the Relais and Chateaux chain but really doesn't deserve to be. The price of our room (admittedly a suite) was E299 a night -- including parking and breakfast -- but we felt this was rip-off. Some of the staff are nice and helpful, but there is a sour woman at reception who never seems to smile nor to know how to be pleasant. The decorations are dated, fusty and frou-frou, with pink flounces, frills and swags everwhere -- and that includes the shower curtains -- so that it was like staying in a tart's boudoir. The decorations throughout are overdone, and we felt we were paying for unneccessary tat and glitz, including shiny orbs and satin tablecoths. The whole place could do with a complete overhaul to bring it into the 21st century as everything seems to be old and dated: our bathroom had two washbasins but no proper shower; instead there was a bath with an old-fashioned shower attachment that was considerably underpowered; the extractor fan was so old it groaned loudly, the hairdryer was terribly feeble, and the soapdish had no drain-holes so the soap sat in a pool of water. Breakfast was adequate, but the cold meat had clearly been sitting about for some hours and was beginning to sweat; not only that, but the perfectly nice man who served us had a cold and sneezed lustily without bothering to use a handkerchief. Worst of all, though, was the fact that the bedroom walls are extremely thin, so that everything in the next room is audible. We left longing for a good night's sleep. This is a hotel that could be wonderful. It has a lovely garden and a pretty terrace, but it is let down by its lackadaisical attention to detail, its absurdly overdone and dated decorations and by not paying enough attention to the comfort of its guests.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ferrara hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

It's pretty hotel living in the past...And to darn expensive for what it is . The rooms are very frou frou with artificial flowers everywhere, high ceilings and lots of tat ...in the rooms and out. The staff have probably been there for ages and are relatively pleasant and the garden is lovely. The food, despite being a Chateau-Hotel, is certainly not up to the standard expected but the free wi fi works fine everywhere. Let's just call this place average...but certainly not bad or equivalent to some of the bad comments . What it needs is a new pricing structure ,professional management and complete clean out to make it a pleasant place to stay. And a new chef.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the least tat in it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

This place is the pits! Dirty dirty dirty, Laura Ashley 1980, charming if you like dust and dirt. 130 Eur for bad pasta and salad by 2 and 2 small glasses of wine..hahaha. If you like the adams family you will then find Lurch at the front desk and the Lady of the hotel is Morticia, she cant even help with dinner reservations. I guess watching RAI UNO is more important. NEVER AGAIN. Relais Chateau should bomb this location.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank msl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Looked at website and got the WRONG impression....stayed in Ferrara for a medical conference,stayed in many hotels in italy and this one was the worst one.... very dirty very rude staff very over priced.... mold in bathroom, full of bugs, equivalent to a motel 6... a very over priced hostel....spent all night killing bugs in the room, the bed is a killer... room has not been updated since the late 70's.... look at picks with the wallpaper coming off... should be illegel to be rated 5 star hotel, americans you would not like anything about this place, and they will not take care of complaints or needs....

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank worlreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

I think beds that are 190cm are not allowed in the EU. Never mind the mattress quality. Was unable to sleep. Then I heard that another associate had been there before and had left the hotel the next morning for the same reason.
Breakfast buffet: NOT!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Campana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2006

We stayed there is June 2006. Two couples, neither of us liked the staff or service. They were very greedy, padding the lunch and dinner bills buy increasing the coperti to 44 Euro for lunch! That means just to sit at the table was over $50.00 , something like a cover charge. Amazing. We also had some meal portions reduced to appetizer size for a first course but were charged full price.The at dinner I asked if my vegetables could be steamed instead of sauted, the waiter said " Of course." When the meal was served an extra very large platter of vegetables was placed in the center of the table. I was so embarrassed as we were the guests of the other couple. I said to the waiter that I did not order a seperate platter of vegetables for the table and he said "Oh yes, you did." And charged a high extra price for them.Also we ordered cocktails but the bartender was off so they attempted to make a bloody Mary for my husband with tomato puree as they had not tomato juice, it was disgusting and we sent it back, yet they charged us for it. We asked the one other Italian couple who were eating there what there copertas were and they said much lower than 44 euros. The owner was not a nice person and we will never return to this place. Relais and Chateau should investigate them. The decor is interesting but we should have realized that there was a reason the place was empty except for two tables on a lovely summer evening. The rooms need refurbishing and cleaning also. Not a good place at all. We were most disappointed.

  • Liked — The building and antiques, breakfast was also nice.
  • Disliked — Owner, staff, lack of service.Unexplained additions to bills.
  • Tips/Secrets — Watch your bills, they seems to be much higher than expected..
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank gecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ferrara hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Annunziata
Hotel Annunziata
#1 of 32 in Ferrara
1,798 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Touring
Hotel Touring
#5 of 32 in Ferrara
1,252 reviews
1.0 mi away
Orologio Hotel Ferrara
Orologio Hotel Ferrara
#6 of 32 in Ferrara
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#3 of 32 in Ferrara
802 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Prati
Hotel De Prati
#2 of 32 in Ferrara
478 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#4 of 32 in Ferrara
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duchessa Isabella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duchessa Isabella Hotel

Property: Duchessa Isabella Hotel
Address: Via Palestro 68/70, 44121, Ferrara, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Ferrara > Ferrara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ferrara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Duchessa Isabella Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Duchessa Isabella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duchessa Isabella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing