We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Carlton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Carlton
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Ferrara
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here and found it to be a very pleasant and comfortable hotel, good service, EXCELLENT breakfast, and a great English breakfast waitress.

The room was very clean, and the beds comfortable, and no noise - but then Ferrara is not a big place, but still it was wonderful to be away from the hustle and bustle. Our room was also at the back of the hotel. The Hotel Carlton is very close to the centre of the smallish town, and there are lots of restaurants and shops nearby. They have bikes to rent, at a reasonable cost, and helpful with directions and recommendations.

The breakfast waitress told us about Abano Terme, a town with natural spring spas close by and made us welcome. There was looooovely coffee and the breakfast of a range of meats, cheeses, pastries, cereals, yogurts, juices, fruits, and real toast, made a change from the traditional continental breakfast. The hotel had courtesy umbrellas and fresh orchard fruit for guests. The fridge in the room allowed us to keep a couple of things cold for later in the day too.

This hotel was very reasonably priced for the room, service and breakfast. I'd highly recommend it. Try to get there for a Sunday because there was a great market on in the square, with tempting Italian delicacies available to sample, as well as hand made crafts, jewellery and clothes. I loved our visit to Ferrara and the Hotel Carlton. :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrishE200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EVVIVAFERRARA, Direttore at Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear TrishE200,
thank you very much for sharing your opinion with the community.
Thanks for your beautiful words about us.
Thanks for telling your positive experience.

We really hope in your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    339
    64
    13
    2
See reviews for
140
313
37
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

My Mom and I stayed here for one night October 17, 2012. We were given a room on the 2nd floor. The street noise was awful. You could here everything, which kept me up all night. Positives: I am a traveler who needs A/C and the room's A/C rocked. We had a refrigerator in the room. The room had free wifi, which was great. Like most European hotels, our room had a shower that was maybe 2x2. The location was great. The hotel was right by Castello Estense. We only had 1 night here and a lot of historical spots to hit, so the location was wonderful. The free breakfast was OK. They were out of cereal bowls within a half hour of breakfast beginning, so I just had a croissant. This hotel to me was like a basic Holiday Inn/Hampton Court in the US. Nothing special, but it was clean and fine for a night. Next time I will check other locations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rio725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EVVIVAFERRARA, Direttore at Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Rio725.
I read with attention your review and I want to thank you for your words about us.
I am desolate for the cereal bowls almost empty to the breakfast room and aboveall for the street noise.
We will work to improve our service, for your next visit.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

A return trip to wonderful Ferrara - and to the Carlton Hotel. But this time not to stay in the hotel, but in one of their self-catering appartments. What should have been a few days stay developed into a 25 days stay - which had the accommodation not been good could have been a miserable experience. As it was the accommodation was excellent. Not luxurious in its furnishings, but with excellent functionality - clean, hot water, comfortable bed, and everything that one needs for a stress-free stay. As always at the Carlton it is the staff who win the day - so friendly, so helpful, so polite. From the brilliant reception staff to the cleaners, they are all a credit to the hotel - and to themselves.. Another plus for the self-catering accommodation is that the facilities of the hotel are available if required. We had a couple of excellent breakfasts - again with superb service. We shall stay at the Carlton again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EVVIVAFERRARA, Direttore at Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you so much Jeremy,
I was very sorry didnt meet you and know something about you.
I hope for the next time.
In any case I will tell to all staff your positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

I visited Ferrara on October 6-7 and, due to the journalism festival "Internazionale" that attracted many visitors, I could not find a room in the hotels I already knew. The best offer I found was Hotel Carlton, which I choose despite being a bit more expensive than I wanted. The choice turned out to be a good one. The hotel is located inside the historical centre of Ferrara, close to everything, and it can be reached with a short walk from the railway station. The hotel offers a parking for visitors who come with their own car. The welcome at the reception was excellent, my room was clean and quiet. As a plus I recommend the rich (when compared to Italy's average) breakfast buffet. Good quality/price ratio.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maichi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EVVIVAFERRARA, Direttore at Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your comments.
We will wait you to the next FESTIVAL on october 2013.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel is in the heart of Ferrara and is very convenient to visit the city. Good service and decent size rooms.
The only issue we had was the lack of water pressure in the toilets which was annoying.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilles78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EVVIVAFERRARA, Direttore at Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Gilles,
thanks a lot for your comment.
We are desolate for the inconvenient about the water pressure.
We hope to host you in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Really good location, 5 mins walk from the main street and sites but situated in a quaint little square. The room was basic but adequate for a one night stay and the breakfast as you might expect. We booked parking which is advisable as the car park opposite is pay and display.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MStanleyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

I had a lovely stay at this small, comfortable hotel. The staff were attentive and friendly and there was nothing I could complain of regarding the room.

Excellent coffee at breakfast.

The hotel is located, to my thinking, in a delightful wee square which has a bar and a few restaurants.

It is conveniently positioned for the railway station (10 minutes walk away) where you can catch speedy services to Bologna and Venice - to name but two destinations.

Additionally the hotel is within a few minutes walk of the cathedral and main piazza the latter being home to some very excellent cafes and restaurants.

In summary; a delightful hotel in a very pretty town - both well worth visiting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnB580415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EVVIVAFERRARA, Direttore at Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Mr John,
Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us.
Hope to be welcoming you back any time soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ferrara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Annunziata
Hotel Annunziata
#1 of 32 in Ferrara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Prati
Hotel De Prati
#2 of 32 in Ferrara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Touring
Hotel Touring
#5 of 32 in Ferrara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#4 of 32 in Ferrara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ferrara
Hotel Ferrara
#7 of 32 in Ferrara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orologio Hotel Ferrara
Orologio Hotel Ferrara
#6 of 32 in Ferrara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton

Property: Hotel Carlton
Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 93 | Piazza Sacrati, 44121, Ferrara, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Ferrara > Ferrara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ferrara
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ferrara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Carlton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the Historical Centre, reachable by car and easily accessible from the motorway and railway, the Hotel Carlton is the ideal location for trips of both pleasure and business in the fascinating Estense city. Thanks to its fortunate position, just minutes from the Cathedral and the Castle and with the option of using our own customized hotel bicycles, the Hotel Carlton is an ideal starting point for every itinerary. There is a private garage and a large public car-park facing the hotel for our clients vehicles. The 58 rooms of the Hotel, recently renewed, follow a modern style and exhibit the maximum attention to details for the best sleep of the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Ferrara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing