We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dramatic displays” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museo Archeologico Nazionale

Museo Archeologico Nazionale
Ranked #4 of 98 things to do in Ferrara
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“dramatic displays”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We went to this museum on a rainy day which was a shame as it is quite a walk from the centre.It has obviously had money spent on the often dramatic displays of Etruscan artifacts . I have seem more interesting Etruscan objects in other Italian museums but it makes the most of what it has and the historical information is good .It also gives information in English.
Over 65's get in free as is the case in most Italian museums.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank rosecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    88
    17
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
643 reviews
335 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,243 helpful votes
“Grumpy staff!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

After glowing TA reviews I decided to visit the Archeological museum, which would not normally be on my agenda. However the Treasure Room (Sala del Tesoro) in Palazzo di Lodovico II Moro which is contained within the Archaeological museum was definitely on my list. I arrived via bike and brought it into the main, large courtyard and was quickly told by an angry ticket woman to move it…she literally shooed me away! So I moved the bike around the corner to the gate where I could lock it, again the woman came out yelling to move it! Unbelievable! There are no discernible bike parking areas on the street, so I moved it to the other side of the museum entrance gate and locked it there. Just inside the courtyard is plenty of places for bikes, but I guess they are only for employees.

So this unpleasant “welcome” didn’t start out my visit very well and I just cruised through the rooms, so I’m not really a very good judge of the museum pieces. Did stop for the beautiful jewelry-very small exhibit. However, I'm mystified by the reviewers who call the Palace beautiful; a few rooms retain some of their splendor, but mostly it was pretty dull and in my opinion, poorly curated! Mostly in Italian, with some English explanations. The lovely pictures of the garden are obviously taken in summer; otherwise the garden is not kept up during the winter months and there don't have any winter plants or flowers to see. I came for the Treasure Room and enjoyed it…then “got out of Dodge” ASAP! Steer clear of the grumpy ticket takers!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnArborMHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peaks Island, Maine
Level Contributor
134 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Not to Miss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Do not miss the museum. Be sure to take time to study the time li e chart before going up the stairs to visit room after room of the treasures found in thespian excavations. DO NOT MISS Carofalo's ceiling...Sala del Tesoro.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank sealights99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferrara, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very well !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

the best etruscan museum on the world, beautiful pottery coming from Athens to Spina. Very lovely palace with a good italian garden and great pirogues, my children liked that.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank angi673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The collection of Etruscan art and jewelry and pottery is quite unlike anything you might see anywhere else. Beautifully curated and presented. The palazzo itself is very lovely. A great place to spend a few hours...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Archeologico Nazionale also viewed

Ferrara, Province of Ferrara
Ferrara, Province of Ferrara
 
Ferrara, Province of Ferrara
Ferrara, Province of Ferrara
 

Been to Museo Archeologico Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing