We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch”

Osteria degli Ulivi
Ranked #83 of 663 Restaurants in Ferrara
Price range: $22 - $39
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Starting from the Apulian tradition and raw materials, we offer a young and fresh kitchen where seasonality is a diktat. But this does not exempt us from proposing a territorial offer. For lunch, in addition, there is the opportunity to make a quick lunch break, economical and nutritious.
Reviewed July 23, 2018

Happened on by chance on a roasting hot afternoon in Ferarra - a v happy accident - a nice smart cool room - really good service - and most importantly, really good food - the cappelletti con funghi e tartufo su crema di porri was the nicest pasta I had in 5 days in Italy - strongly recommended

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mulcs85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 527 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2018

We visited it for lunch. The food is superb, and I particularly want to recommend octopus and traditional sausages.
Unfortunately, some of our order has gone wrong, but I still recommend the restaurant because of the excellent cuisine.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ogi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2018 via mobile

Setting is promising and Food seen in the dishes as well. But in the overall it was average. Cappellacci with turfle and mushrooms were overcooked. Pasta with seafood had a strange smell. Out of three dishes only cappellacci with pumpkin were eccellent, and they are typical of the Town. So If you go there, they are my suggestion. Price was good but portions not enough large.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank saturninob2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

We had dinner with a couple of friends a week before Easter and the food and service was extremely good, with some traditional Ferrara dishes but a also a few items that broadened the menu and demonstrated the expertise in the kitchen.
My wife and I returned on Easter Saturday for lunch and joined about 20 other diners, some with their children. Every table in the main room was occupied but there was still plenty of room to move.
As an aperitif the wine waiter suggested a glass each of Pignoletto, a white wine from the region of Bologna. It was quite dry, but with some delicate fruitiness that we liked. I also ordered a bottle of red, a sangiovese that we saw being enjoyed by other diners (all local folks). This was called 'Noelia Ricci' made in Romana. It was not expensive and was very good.
We had for first course a tartare of tuna, with sliced fennel, and a pasta called laganari with a meat sauce containing small beef rolls with pecorino cheese. Both were delicious and different. We also shared our main courses that were petto d'anitra with radicchio, and bitter orange. This was a very well cooked duck breast on red cabbage, and slices of orange and bitter marmalade. The best duck breast I have had in Italy and France. The other main was spalla cotta di maiale, smoked pieces of pork shoulder served with pumpkin and mustard.
For dessert we shared a crema cotta all'arancia that was fantastic.
We have had great food generally in Ferrara, but we thought this meal was exceptional.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Trevor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017

Went here on my own whilst on a business trip. Restaurant serves simple, but high quality local food - had the antipasta and ravioli. What is unusual for somewhere like this is the huge number of wines on the menu, there must have been over a hundred both local and from other Italian Regions. Its all really good value too, with a nice atmosphere. Service well paced, although I had to go up and get the bill at the end - no big deal though.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jamesb_uk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria degli Ulivi also viewed

Ferrara, Province of Ferrara
Ferrara, Province of Ferrara
 
Ferrara, Province of Ferrara
Ferrara, Province of Ferrara
 
Ferrara, Province of Ferrara
Ferrara, Province of Ferrara
 

Been to Osteria degli Ulivi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing