We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Nazionale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Nazionale
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Ferrara
Certificate of Excellence
Dana Point, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

A last-minute change in plans led us to this nice little hotel, based on positive reviews on TA. It lived up to the reviews in that it was clean, our room was spacious, and very well located. A wonderful restaurant is located a couple of doors down, called Cusina et Bodega. Great gelateria a few more doors down called Cremeria... (forgot the rest of the name).
Due to the hotel's great location, we covered a lot of ground and ate very well in a short amount of time.

My only suggestions would be for more lighting in the bathroom and an additional trash can for the bedroom. Oh, and an elevator would be nice, but no problem if you travel light!

Incidentally, Ferrara itself is a delightful, historic town with some of the friendliest people I've ever met! So glad we changed our plans...

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tricia2Tango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    143
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
50
197
17
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and would highly recommend it. Absolutely amazing value for the high quality/decor of the rooms - and the service was great too. Would definitely stay there again if I get the chance to return to Ferrara.

Room Tip: Ferrara room was great - larger than some I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeptPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights when my husband was attending a conference. Our room was called Bari which was very spacious and the bathroom was outstanding. The owner and his family manage the hotel which was wonderful. One night my husband was out late and forgot his key and asked me to come open the door and I went down and it felt like I was back at my parents house. The breakfast is a cold breakfast, and the jam croissants are a must try! The internet is free everywhere in the hotel which was very nice. I recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Ferrara. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Orchidazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed here for three nights. The small hotel is very clean and modern. The room we had was small but adequote. The breakfast is simple, but nice. The location is really good, just off the cathedral square and there is a market in the street in front of the hotel. The shower had some crazy lights which you could control and change. Ferrera is a great place with many back streets to explore and get lost in. We drove here and there is parking nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedal-Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Our trip across Italy brought us to the beautiful medieval town of Ferrara to visit long time friends. The friends arranged our accommodation for two nights at the Hotel Nazionale. Hotel Nazionale combines a modern decor in a centuries old building. Conveniently located to the major tourist attraction, main square and restaurants, our Ferrara and Hotel Nazionale was a gentle, pleasant stop between busy Rome and Venice. Be sure to have lunch before 3 PM as the shops and restaurants close for their mid day breaks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dougle_dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Nazionale for 3 nights in the Bari room on the 1st floor. This room faces a roof area and it was more pleasant with the curtain closed. On the other hand, the room (and hotel in general) was clean, comfortable, secure and nicely decorated. It has a very nice bathroom, too. The breakfast room is small as others have described but this was not an issue for us, maybe because we woke up late and showed up after the morning rush. The cold breakfast is modest but sufficient including hams and cheese, breads, cereal, juice, coffee, etc. The staff was cordial and helpful. There is no elevator, which may be an issue for some. When you go out the front door of the hotel you are on one of the main streets about 50 yard/meters from the Cathedral square which seems to be the favorite place to congregate and/or meet in Ferrara. We arrived in Ferrara by train and walked to the hotel. This takes about 25-30 minutes. The route is pretty straight but can be a little confusing the first time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Uzidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I loved the stay in the hotel!very nice, modern furniture, comfortable bed, warm douvet (important as it was cold and the city still didn't turn on the heating). Interesting thing was a lamp for chronotherapy (therapy with colors and lights). it was situated under the shower and one could change the colors. Be careful with the string under the shower!!! It's a security alarm in case sth happened. I thought it's for bathroom ventilator and turned on the alarm at 1 a.m.!!! Fortunately turning fuses off helped!! :)

Helpful?
Thank Kamilka84
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ferrara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Annunziata
Hotel Annunziata
#1 of 32 in Ferrara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#3 of 32 in Ferrara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Prati
Hotel De Prati
#2 of 32 in Ferrara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Touring
Hotel Touring
#5 of 32 in Ferrara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ferrara
Hotel Ferrara
#7 of 32 in Ferrara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Corte Estense
Hotel Corte Estense
#9 of 32 in Ferrara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nazionale

Property: Hotel Nazionale
Address: Corso Porta Reno 32, 44121, Ferrara, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Ferrara > Ferrara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Ferrara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nazionale 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Nazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing