We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious, with a few exceptions...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mezzaluna - CLOSED

Mezzaluna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $131
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
177 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Delicious, with a few exceptions...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

I had a lamb dish with butternut squash that was the best lamb I have ever had in my life. Most of the food we had was high quality and very well done. The flavors were amazing.

Service was very good to subpar, depending on who you get, and how busy they are. It took us a long time to get water, and one waitress frowned and was a bit off-putting when we asked for it. Her mood did improve greatly by the time we were leaving, however.

Desserts couldn't hold a candle to the rest of the courses. We got beignets, and they unfortunately were not done well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sacredphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    115
    30
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Superlatives Abound”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Mezzaluna is a wonderful restaurant with a modern Italian menu that delights the palate at every bite. We were presented with an Italian menu only which made the experience magical as our broken Italian was insufficient to allow for a complete translation. Consequently some of our choices were immediately understood such as the calamari (superbly cooked) and the Carbonara which delighted from the very beginning when we were informed that the centrepiece of the dish was an egg. We were convinced that something had been lost in translation as nothing on the plate resembled an egg. However as the fork gently touched the centrepiece an egg yolk appeared from inside. The best we could guess was that there maybe some micro gastronomy at work here. Regardless of the how, the taste was superb.
On the not identifiable through language recognition list was what our taste buds immediately told us was foie gras served with a delicate pastry and slivers of baked peaches.
The wine list offers a variety of white and red for most palates at very reasonable prices.
The authenticity of Mezzaluna was enhanced by the fact that all the other patrons were Italian.
If you find yourself in Ferrara please consider offering your taste buds this wonderful experience.
Thank you to the wonderful staff for a most memorable dining experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheKiwiWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham, NC
Level Contributor
164 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Imaginative modern Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Recently spent a week in Ferrara and ate here twice. The food is what you might call modern Italian. Clearly Italian inspired but not traditional. Bottom line it was really excellent. The crispy egg with truffles was outstanding and a dessert of basil ice cream in a passion fruit "soup" was sublime. If you are in Ferrara, this is a must try. Note that it fills up on weekends, so reserve ahead.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bryan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Interesting food, a beautiful setting, and a chance to practice your Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We picked Mezzaluna because of prior Trip Advisor reviews, and we were delighted. The food is interesting without being precious. If you've been in Italy for a while, you're used to those packaged breadsticks that appear on the table. Here, the breadsticks are real ones, and they (and the entire breadbasket) are exquisite. We started with a superb grilled octopus, done with a tad of sea salt. Then we had the pasta, a tortellini filled with mushrooms and surrounded by shrimp in a very light sauce. Our two main courses were a delicious branzino and a very fine lamb over a carrot purée. We ended with the beignets. Everything was very fresh. The staff is very gracious. The one thing to know is that the menu is not translated and the staff do not really speak English. The dolce (desserts) are explained orally, without a menu. That being said, the atmosphere is so charming -- sponge painted walls and old arches, with unobtrusive but good art on the walls -- and the food is so good that it's worth just bringing a dictionary if you don't otherwise speak and read enough Italian. Plus going someplace where you do have to make the effort is part of what makes traveling exciting and fun.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sofiastayshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
224 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“An Amazing Menu, An Amazing Lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

As part of a quick detour to Ferrara, we decided to eat our lunch one Saturday in this cozy restaurant located near the central market.

An interesting lunch menu includes tasting menus for both seafood and meats, with the a la carte menu organized much the same way. Lots of fascinating choices, but am not sure if they offer an English language menu. The wine list has a good cross section of Italian and international wines by the bottle, with an emphasis on local wines. For our lunch, we selected a light Chardonnay from Piemonte.

For starters we both ordered the octopus, shrimp and white bean salad with a mild paprika sauce for garnish. The octopus was warm and perfectly cooked and was served more or less unseasoned, with salt, pepper and olive oil on the side to be added to taste. Very nice to look at and very, very tasty.

Pastas consisted of capelletti in a smoked mushroom broth and large cappellocci filled with squash in a meat ragu. Both pasta dishes were exceptional and the pasta, though quite different in each dish, was absolutely perfect.

The dolche choices, delivered verbally, were numerous, but we finished off the meal by sharing a dark chocolate canoli filled with a velvety ganache, served on an intense orange marmalade. Unbelievably decadent and very tasty!

We are very glad to have dined here and would definitely come back. The food is excellent, the presentation and service both very good and the menu is full of other fascinating choices to try in the future. Worth seeking out if you are in Ferrara.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Boh_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mezzaluna also viewed

Ferrara, Province of Ferrara
Ferrara, Province of Ferrara
 
Ferrara, Province of Ferrara
Ferrara, Province of Ferrara
 
Ferrara, Province of Ferrara
Ferrara, Province of Ferrara
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing