We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really nice authentic place”

Pasticceria Maria Grammatico
Ranked #2 of 5 Dessert in Erice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
São Paulo, Brasil
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A really nice authentic place”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We came to this place spontaneously, returning from dinner in Erice. We had a look at their pastries, entered the store, and finally ended up trying all kinds of Sicilian pastry and drinking Limoncello until they closed. The food is handmade and delicious, really an amazing place. Don't miss the genovese com crema, their specialy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanSampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    781
    282
    81
    30
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
393 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 694 helpful votes
“Very good, but there is better nearby.”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Had I not know better I would have been satisfied with this pastry shop.

In the few days before my visit here, I ended up speaking with a three locals that all said the same thing: “Maria Grammatico used to be the best, but they’ve started making their pastries industrially and they can now be purchased pretty much anywhere.” These same locals then went on to recommend that we go a few doors down to Pasticceria San Carlo which, as they said, “still does it the old fashioned way” (see my review).

As they are literally on the same block, we decided to do a comparative “taste test”.

Maria Grammatico is open all day, is brighter, welcoming and more modern. It has more variety, even serving ice cream, and staff behind the counter is young, vivacious and speaks English. The pastries are fairly priced and are very good.

San Carlo is closed from 1pm to 330pm, is small and dated, has less variety and the lady behind the counter is in her 80’s and speaks only Italian.
That being said the crown for better tasting and more authentic pastries definitely goes to San Carlo.

There is nothing wrong with Maria Grammatico, but for the real deal you need to go a few doors down.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stinz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cassatelle di ricotta”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Just great, best cassatelle di ricotta e genovesi alla crema.
Very cold in April, in summer it should be great to sit in the outside garden.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank alby74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Made the fame and got into bed”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

. I went to Pasticceria Gramatico after reading the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor. Good, but nothing much beyond that. Due to the fame it receives every hour, dozens of tourists eager to experience its delights. Candies are made with care but for my taste, are too sweet. The famous canolli was good but, in 2 weeks around Sicily, I´ve had many othes better than this. Don´t see much reason for all this fame!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NadiaMontagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Charmingly Tasteful”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Maria herself is a lovely, charming and captivating lady. Well worth a visit to the Erice shop herself! But her scrumptious cakes and desserts are absolutely taste bud heavenly. The food offering is the delicious fare that Sicily is noted for.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichiganZumbido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pasticceria Maria Grammatico also viewed

Erice, Province of Trapani
Erice, Province of Trapani
 

Been to Pasticceria Maria Grammatico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing