We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cold, damp and somehow no view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Pineta Park Hotel
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Erice
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“cold, damp and somehow no view”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Wish we had some of these reviews before booking! Like a few others Erice is not a great place for overnight stays since its cold & damp on a great day ( at sea level!!). The hotel itself is clean enough but lacks any charm and the room we got had no view at all which is amazing given the location. Our room was a long way from the car park and no offers to help with bags; woulndnt normally need help but with a baby you do have a lot of stuff!

Room Tip: day trip only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandstormLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    73
    39
    15
    9
See reviews for
33
104
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in March.

After conquering the hilly roads to Erice, the hotel is easy to find being well signposted. Parking was no problem.

The rooms are individual detached rooms in a woodland setting, each with own door. Many of the rooms we saw did not seem to have any real view (I do not count a wall as a garden view). We requested a different room with a view and were accommodated, so eventually we did have a room with a fabulous view.

Apparently this March was colder than usual. We arrived to freezing temperatures and high winds. Although our room had a nice terrace and view, it was of no benefit due to the weather.
The room was absolutely freezing, even with a fan on all night and 3 blankets, I never really warmed up.

The rooms themselves are quite small, a little old and could do with a some love and updating. The bathroom was small and the shower tiny - I think perhaps the smallest shower I ever saw. The overall resort was a little lacking in atmosphere.

Breakfast was fine. We also had dinner in the evening - set menu part of a deal. It was average. There was plenty of food anyway and it was hot.

The staff were very helpful in terms of tourist advice and friendly with reasonably good english and accommodated us allowing us to look at many different rooms.

I would not recommend this hotel off season. But, I think that the experience would have been very different if the weather was warmer and at a busier time of year. With a bit of sunshine I am sure the rooms would have seemed rustic and charming, and some more people there would have added to the atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bos78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Erice hotels

Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We agree with dmroxox's review in large measure. Our room was #14 and looked out over Trapani. It too was small and the bathroom's shower was tiny. Nonetheless, we had a great visit and the room was clean and comfortable. It had the best bed of all the places we stayed during our 12 day visit to southern Italy. The breakfast buffet was good but not like our fabulous breakfast in Montepertuso. Would recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Ask for either a Trapani view or one overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresskill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Unlike dmrxox we were not given the best room. Ours was old and tired, dark, but very clean. Our cottage was probably the farthest walk from the office and there were a lot of stairs. Nobody offered to help us with our luggage. Breakfast was decent, nothing special. This could be a spectacular place with a little upgrading. The drive up to Erice is on a very narrow winding road with hairpin turns, which is quite difficult with a stick shift car. My advice would be to stay in Trapani and take the cable car up to visit Erice which is really worth a visit for the views, the castle, and the pastries at Marie Grammatico. We ate at Ulysses and had a very good regional meal (fish couscous).

Room Tip: Ask for sea view and close to the registration to avoid all the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotrav0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stonington ct
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We almost skipped Erice, but so happy we didn't . Found La Pineta in The Rough Guide and booked one night online. The drive up to the top of the "rock" was windy and about 20 minutes from Trapani... or take the cable car up.... Our hotel was very well posted and we drove thru the little town and easily found it... we were taken to Room # 11 and told it was the best room... it was large and airy, the bathroom quite small but fine and the private terrace was HUGE with chairs and table and even lounge chairs.. it overlooked the Egadi Islands the valley below etc...it was peaceful and quiet.. we immediately booked another night! Wandering around Erice alone was fine, there are many little shops and cafes and restaurants. Then there is the Castle.... with views over Trapani, the salt flats etc... one feels like one is on top of the ancient world... don't miss Erice and La Pineta.... breakfast included and very good cappuccinos... internet not in the rooms, but on the large terrace and in the bar/restaurnant area.

Room Tip: Room 11 is the highest with probably the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmrxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
189 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

The view down to Trapani and the Sea is absolutely breathtaking. However our family room was furnished with a very old and smelling (!) wardrobe and only one chair, no other furniture ...
The shower is very tiny (you hit all your bones!) although there would be space to put a proper shower cabin and the toilet makes a terrible screaming noise for about one minute each time you fush.
The originally beautiful terrace had not been wiped for ages and the breakfast buffet was more than basic. Coffee is served by cup only and to order a second one becomes a real art as the waiter always vanished for several minutes.
So better visit the beautiful old city of Erice and then stay in Trapani.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Hotel La Pineta is a compound of cottages dispersed on the side of a mountain overlooking all of Trapani and so immediately makes you feel at one with nature. To wake to the chirping of birds, to enjoy the view from one's window or terrace could only be offered by the set up of this hotel. The furniture is basic, toiletries provided, breakfast ample and the staff very helpful. My friends and I highly recommend La Pineta for a stay at the enchanted Erice. Erice, perched on top of a mountain, has nothing but cobble stone alleys and it is advisable to wear comfortable walking shoes - forget about the elegance of heels and sandals! The food is delicious as one would normally expect of Italian food. Given the chance, do not miss out on a visit to this fairytale place!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaltaMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erice hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Domenico
Hotel San Domenico
#2 of 15 in Erice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elimo
Hotel Elimo
#1 of 15 in Erice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#8 of 15 in Erice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Tirreno
Hotel Tirreno
#1 of 1 in Pizzolungo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa San Giovanni
2.3 mi away
Hotel Aosta
Hotel Aosta
#2 of 2 in Casa Santa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pineta Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pineta Park Hotel

Property: La Pineta Park Hotel
Address: Viale Nunzio Nasi, 16, 91016, Erice, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Erice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Erice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Pineta Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Pineta Park Hotel is a welcoming 3-star hotel immersed in the pines of Erice, a fascinating site in the province of Trapani, surrounded by a Medieval wall, not far from the peak of the mountain that is home to the Temple of Venus. Equipped with modern comforts and in a splendid position with coastal views, La Pineta Park Hotel offers guests a warm and enchanting atmosphere in the heart of extraordinary Sicily, suspended between the blue sea and the luxuriant Mediterranean shrub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your La Pineta Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pineta Hotel
La Pineta Erice
La Pineta Park Hotel Erice, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing