We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay the night”
Review of Hotel Moderno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Moderno
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Erice
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't stay the night”
Reviewed October 21, 2008

Erice is a beautiful medieval town that is definitely worth the visit. However, not worth staying a night at all. It's perfect for a day trip but I strongly recommend staying on the beach or elsewhere like Trapani. I attended a conference in Erice and stayed 5 mights at the Moderno. The only positive about this hotel is that some of the staff were nice and the rooms, although VERY basic, were clean. I had a room looking into the inside court (no view) and the water pump kept making noise everytime someone took a shower. The breakfast was VERY simple, croissants (sometimes fresh sometimes dry), few cereals and smalll selection of cheese and salami in the morning. The dining room felt like being in a cave and at night, the staff were extremely rude, kicking us out at 9:30. Receptionists at the front desk were for the most part nice and friendly. The patio on the roof of the hotel was worth it. My colleagues stayed at various hotels in the town and most were as depressed as I was about staying here. We ate dinner in a few restaurants and the food was absolutely disgusting. Pastry places are ok. Since this is a tourist only place, don't expect to find any shops other than overpriced souvenir shops.
So in all, Erice is wort a visit, for a day, but don't plan on any good food or good hotel experiences.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Caro077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    44
    41
    25
    6
See reviews for
26
53
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
159 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2008

Erice is a magical place, literally above the clouds, with stunning views. If you step off the main street (where the day trippers are shopping) you have a medieval town all to yourself. Definitely stay the night. I didn’t have a car, so I didn’t have to drive in town - horrible idea - or worry about parking. I took the bus up (from sea level to 2,500 feet!) from Trapani. The hotel is well-located on the main street.

I had a good sized single that looked out on a quiet side street. Although a little dark, it was clean and comfortable, with a big wardrobe and a desk. The bathroom delivered plenty of hot water (this had been a problem in some other Sicilian hotels).

The breakfast buffet wasn’t that great, and coffee came from one of those automatic machines, but there was a killer antipasti buffet at dinner. I found the staff quite friendly.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank thursdaysd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2008

Erice is a gem: an amazing site; beautiful, quaint streets; incredible views over the countryside; and, when the fog rolls in, almost magical. It was one of our favorite stops during 8 days in Sicily. The Moderno is centrally located and has large, comfortable rooms (though not well lit--this was a general problem in Italy). Internet access is on a computer in the lobby and is relatively expensive, and the staff at the reception were quite unfriendly. Nonetheless, we liked this hotel and would stay there again. We would also recommend the nearby restaurant Monte San Giuliano, where we had an excellent dinner.

We followed the good advice of another Tripadvisor reviewer to leave our car in the public lot at the entrance to town and walk to the hotel. Driving there through the steep, narrow one-way streets would not be trivial, and you could stop outside the hotel only long enough to unload your luggage.

  • Liked — Pleasant rooms in a good location.
  • Disliked — Unfriendly reception staff.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ACG26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjm752
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2007

Accomodating management, presumably owners; pleasant, clean, simply decorated hotel. If you dare drive to or around Erice, be forewarned that it is like a maze with extremely narrow, steep, one-way roads. If you make a wrong turn, you'll have to start over. Once you get to the hotel, though, the experience is fine. There are two routes up to the top of the mountain where Erice is located. The eastern or counter-clockwise route is faster.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Location- getting there is tough---the same for any hotel in Erice.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjm752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2007

It was fun driving to the hotel. Streets were narrow and packed with people, being a bank holiday.

Hotel was conveniently placed for all sites in Erice. Receptionist was very welcoming. Rooms were basically furnished, comfortable and warm. Food in restuarant was excellent, and breakfast had the usual array of cerials, juices, breads etc.
Hotel was quite busy with tourists.

Roof top terrace was sparcely furnished, but there were good views.

  • Liked — Convenience for the town
  • Disliked — Parking was remote.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bracknellwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2007

Moderno is a great location to explore the lovely town of Erice. Driving to the hotel is not recommended because of the narrow streets and it was a bit hairraising driving up the mountain to get to town. Room was fine but I would say the breakfast buffet was the most disappointing of our entire stay in Sicily, not terrible by any means just nothing remarkable.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luvthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2007

The hotel is a pleasant place to spend a night. Our room was not particularly bright, but for the time spent that didn't matter, and was comfortable enough. It was a bit of a challenge to get there, even though there are signs as you get into the older part of the city, because a truck blocked the last pointer that would have made our arrival much easier! We wound up trying to make a right turn that was barely possible, only to find that we needed to turn around in a small area. At least that was easier than the right turn, and once that was done, we arrived quickly at the front door. Parking after we unloaded was just a couple of minutes down the hill in the public lot. The hotel is on the main street, very convenient to stores, pastry shops, and restaurants. The only criticism was that the automatic coffee machine at breakfast doesn't make very good cappuccino. But since two wonderful cafes are just moments away, it was a good excuse to go there for coffee and some of the wonderful pastries.

  • Liked — The central location
  • Disliked — coffee at breakfast
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank operalover59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Erice
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Domenico
Hotel San Domenico
#2 of 14 in Erice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Elimo
Hotel Elimo
#1 of 14 in Erice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa San Giovanni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Tirreno
Hotel Tirreno
#1 of 1 in Pizzolungo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Pineta Park Hotel
La Pineta Park Hotel
#9 of 14 in Erice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
4.4 mi away
Residence La Gancia
Residence La Gancia
#1 of 19 in Trapani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moderno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moderno

Property: Hotel Moderno
Address: Via Vittorio Emanuele no 63, 91016, Erice, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Erice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Erice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Moderno 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erice, with it's silvergray smooth roads, all of a joint of ancient stones, it's flower-filled courtyards, the tiles of the roofs made ​​opaque by time, embraces the modern Hotel Moderno that has only the name and the services, since the it's foundation dates back to the nineteenth century. Of this century it retains the elegance and hospitality worth of the old lodging traditions. The hotel has 40 rooms, for a total of 82 beds, equipped with heating, bathroom, telephone, TV, minibar and air conditioning. The hotel is decorated with simplicity and with a special attention to detail that puts the modern comforts in perfect harmony with the atmosphere and the places that surround the hotel. In addition, the entrance to pets is allowed. A roof terrace to spend time relaxing, captivated by the beauty of the panorama, especially at sunset, it becomes a unique framework. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Moderno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderno Hotel Erice
Hotel Moderno Erice, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing