We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated but friendly”

Ristorante Hotel Moderno
Reserve with
Ristorante Hotel Moderno is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #56 of 73 Restaurants in Erice
Price range: $18 - $59
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: In a unique environment in the world, in this corner of Sicily among the most beautiful island, Giuseppe Catalano has created a cozy place where you can taste the dishes of a valuable and genuine seafood cuisine. You can taste the typical Sicilian specialties such as couscous with fish, swordfish, prawns, Sicilian cassata and many other delicacies. The cellar, very varied with the best Sicilian wines, and we will find the best extra virgin olive oils of Sicily. The restaurant adheres to "Union Restaurants of the Good Memory", which considers "his fundamental commitment, the identification, protection and promotion of the values ​​of the Italian professional kitchen in its most lively and always current regional expressions". The customer who, in the a la carte menu, choose the restaurant specialty, receives a plate in hand- decorated Vietri ceramics, describing the location and shows the local, in memory of an unforgettable taste sensation.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Dated but friendly”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The best thing about this restaurant was the service. The food was just about ok, but the whole place feels very dated.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisstopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    31
    22
    13
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Moderno”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The picture features is not a picture of this restaurant. The restaurant is very classy inside with chandeliers, but it is not modern looking like this picture. The waiter is extremely attentive. This is a "plate" restaurant which means that if you get the house meal (look for a B.R. on the menu) you will get a special plate to take home. (It is a rockfish with orange glaze and veggies). We also had the fish cous cous- too fishy, but okay, and the gorgonzola gnocchi which was nice. Not the greatest food in Sicily, but certainly not the worst. And the ambiance there was wonderful, a very romantic feel.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
batesville va
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good place to stay and eat”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

i stayed three days at the Moderno and enjoyed my room and the provided breakfasts very much.This is an affordable and quiet comfortable hotel at the center of everything in this ancient town. include Erice in your tour of Sicily as there is no place like it on earth, a place in the sky that time has forgotten.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barbara a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Happy we ate there”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed three nights at the Moderno Hotel, having dinner twice in their restaurant. We were quite pleased with the dishes we ordered, particularly the buciate, the TR specialty. I considered our food among the best I ever had in Italy, and I'm surprised to see other reviewers were disappointed.
Il gallese

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ilGalese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Yuk!”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We only had a snack on our way out of Erice at this place...thank God! We had a couple of local savoury stuffed pastry buns - one had spinach in it which was just utterly bitter while the coffees were terrible. Staff vacuumed around our table, even if they were open to the public and smiles just don't seem to exist. Their reply to the bitter spinach was "Yeah it's spinach, it can be bitter" - it was impossible to eat.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Hotel Moderno also viewed

Erice, Province of Trapani
Erice, Province of Trapani
 
Erice, Province of Trapani
Erice, Province of Trapani
 
Erice, Province of Trapani
Erice, Province of Trapani
 

Been to Ristorante Hotel Moderno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing