We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodation with character”
Review of Il Carmine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Il Carmine
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Erice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've been to Il-Carmine in Erice, Sicily, 7 times, so that says it all. It's a hotel with no frills in what used to be a monastery. Very spacious, clean and comfortable rooms. Don't expect anything spectacular for breakfast, but then it's not a five start hotel either. Its got character which blends well with the old town Erice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 259 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

I wanted my kids to experience different kinds of hotel and worried this would be their least favorite and instead they loved it! Who would think teenage boys would get a kick out of staying in a restored Carmelite convent? A central location, easy parking, friendly staff and a delicious breakfast were just perfect. We had a single giant room for 4 of us and a really giant set of baths. It was quiet, clean and central.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had a 3-night stay here in a double room in early November. A simple, clean and large room that the hotel website's photos really undersell. Very quiet, tiled and white-walled room with simple but old furniture, and a small table for prayer. A stone balcony overlooking a back alley. Free wifi, friendly staff and a decent breakfast. Atmospheric building with its own chapel. Ex-convent in a town full of disused religious institutions. About E55 pn.
Parking free and easy in November; I suspect rest of year could be more difficult.
Town pretty with extravagent views in all directions. Weather is incredibly varied. Cloud blanketed us in howling winds and thick fog (very atmospheric) while lower down the hill it was warm and blue skies. Other mornings it was completely clear. November perhaps a little too late in the season; but very few tourists.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Notoriety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This small hotel is a very pleasant without any luxury traits. The rooms are large with all that is required. WiFi is good. Location is good with free parking. Breakfast was good and the staff were very helpful. Would stay here again - recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiger46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Il Carmine is a great place to stay in lovely Erice. Erice's a town with two facets - one , tourist focused with herds of people being led by guys with flags bellowing about the sites. BUT, unlike other places in Italy, if you head just slightly to the left or right of the main drag, you're out of the mob and back in time 500 years. Il Carmine is the perfect place to experience old Erice while still being close enough to the main drag to get there easily. There is also great parking just outside the Il Carmine gate - at least in early October.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank wakeupsomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We loved this monastery - so much more character than many normal, standard hotels. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location was excellent - just a few minutes walk from the main toursit area in Erice. Very reasonable price. Everything was so relaxed and easy - parking is nearby, the breakfast was great, room had character with high ceilings and authentic. A very peacful and relaxing place to stay - would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Erice and looking for somewhere interesting to stay with great ambience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anon_Dublin_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We've been looking to live an authentic Italian/Sicilian experience and thus decided to stay in Erice. Based on the Tripadvisor reviews, we decided to be adventurous and stay in a monastery.

And 'God' were we not disappointed.

Staying in a monastery was a first for us. The place looks so peaceful and so authentic. The staff is super nice. The rooms are spacey, super clean and offers the necessary toiletries. The price was very reasonable and included breakfast (not a big choice of food though).

There's a free parking in front of the hotel and a paid parking a few steps away.

Plus, It's centrally located.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joellehaddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erice hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Domenico
Hotel San Domenico
#4 of 14 in Erice
313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elimo
Hotel Elimo
#1 of 14 in Erice
380 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Tirreno
Hotel Tirreno
#1 of 1 in Pizzolungo
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence San Martino
2.3 mi away
Hotel Aosta
Hotel Aosta
#1 of 1 in Casa Santa
18 reviews
7.4 mi away
La Mimosa B&B
La Mimosa B&B
#1 of 1 in Ballata
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Carmine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Carmine

Address: Piazza Carmine 23, 91016, Erice, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Erice
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Erice
Price Range: $90 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Il Carmine 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Carmine is located on the top of Mount Erice, and it is an oasis of peace completely compatible with the history and the characteristics of the medieval town of Erice. It was a Monastery of Carmelitani friars but now thanks to a reconversion work our guests can stay in very comfortable rooms. All our rooms are equipped with the following comforts: - Italian breakfast (8-10 am); - heating system; - private bathroom (bidet, shower box); - towels and bed linen; - satellite TV; - hair dryer; - desk; - balcony (only in some of the rooms);- tidy up and daily cleaning; - change of towels and bed linen every three days;- independent access h24. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Il Carmine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Carmine Erice, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing