We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous!!”
Review of Hotel San Domenico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel San Domenico
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Erice
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Absolutely Fabulous!!”
Reviewed April 19, 2010

Hotel San Domenico is a wonderful hotel in a magical location of Erice. The owners are incredibly friendly and provides an excellent service. The experience of staying at San Domenico will form a big part of us going to visit Erice again.
Every corner of the hotel speaks of good care. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable, spacious and very clean. We feel that the star rating should be at least 4 and not 3. It has a boutique hotel feel and will not dissapoint. Most of what is served for breakfast, is home made. This was a real treat! We wholeheartedly recommend San Domenico.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMStorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    88
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
28
190
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Locarno, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

Had a very nice stay at the San Domenico, a well-run family hotel in the heart of Erice

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel53_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2010

Four of us stayed here for two nights. There are three roads that lead up to Erice. One is narrow and full of hairpin bends and the other two are fine. Unfortunately our sat. nav. took us up the bad road! We arrived at this beautiful hotel to be greeted at the door by the hotel owner's father and Patrick. Patrick showed us where to park our car. If you drive a big car it might not be wise to navigate these narrow streets - there are carparks located around the walls of Erice and it's only a short walk to the hotel. This is a family run hotel and all were VERY VERY friendly and helpful. They have some English and we had little Italian but we managed to get on very well! Patrick's English was however excellent and he was so helpful and friendly. The hotel is spotlessly clean and VERY comfortable and modern. One of our bedrooms had the panoramic balcony and the views of Trapani below were stunning, when the clouds lift! The hotel provided us with free internet access. The breakfasts were really good and all the cakes and pastries are homemade. We had to check out of the hotel on our last day at 4am because we had an early flight. We said to the staff that we would let ourselves out in the morning as it was too early for anyone to get up but they insisted on getting up to give us some beautiful homemade pastries, coffee and juice. Erice is a beautiful little town, with lots of lovely restaurants and souvenir shops. Rossella (I think was the owner's name) waved us off at the door. We were very sad to be leaving and we will never forget the image of Rosella standing at the door, waving us off as we walked down to the street to our car at 4am in the morning and then we disappeard into the clouds! We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CiaoWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2010

We cannot say enough god things about this quaint inn. The family was so kind to us; we had a great Sicilian dinner prepared for us on a cold and rainy day in Sicily. The fireplace was on and it was so cosy in spite of the weather. Our bedroom was very comfortable and it was nice to have free access to the internet. The breakfast was extremely good as well.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattieOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2010

I absolutely LOVED this hotel. The breakfast area, living room area with fireplace, and rooms were absolutely beautiful. We were here only one night...but I would have liked to have stayed a month. The decor was gorgeous, and our room was the kind that you just don't want to leave. Breakfast was amazing. But, perhaps the best part was the hospitality. We arrived very late on a cold, blustery night and they welcomed us in as though we were family. I will go back there next time I visit Sicily and will stay longer. I truly recommend it with the highest rating!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgmCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas, US
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

Erice is lovely and this hotel is a real find. The building has recently been thoroughly and very beautifully renovated - up to date but still in keeping with the character of the town. Erice is quite chilly - we were wearing t-shirts down in Trapani and gloves and jackets up in Erice. However, the room was quite warm.
It is a small, family run place, and the staff were cheerful, very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent, with a surprising variety of choices for such a small place.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arkansasartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
323 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2010

We stayed in the room with roof terrace for three nights and enjoyed it. Its a small family run hotel and we didn't expect - and didn't get - big hotel features such as lifts, English speaking TV, comfortable chairs in the rooms and so on. What we did get was a warm welcome from helpful hosts, a perfect situation for walking around a most charming town, good value, and the standard of comfort we expected and reasonable for the price. Breakfast is a selection of baked goods, pretty much all made in house. The croissants were especially good.

A couple of points about the area. First , Erice is a pleasure to be in, and has some fascinating corners and great views. But it is on the very top of a small mountain about 2500 feet above the sea, which it overlooks. There are three roads up to it, of which two are reasonably easy with some hairpins and the other is pretty tough going with one tight hairpin following another for miles. When you get to Erice, the interior streets are very narrow indeed and I'd prefer to park outside the gates and carry my case and cameras in rather than attempt to drive to the hotel. The nearest places are at the Porta Carmine and its about five minutes uphill to the hotel.

Second we much liked Erice but we weren't so impressed by the nearby towns and attractions, such as Trapani, Marsala, the nearby small beach resorts and the Greek remains at Segesta that was overrun by tourist buses bearing Italian school trips by 10am in March. Personally i'd be more than happy to stay at this hotel for Erice alone, but I didn't see anything else in the area I's rush back to.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidHBerkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Erice
0.2 mi away
Hotel Elimo
Hotel Elimo
#1 of 14 in Erice
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Pineta Park Hotel
La Pineta Park Hotel
#7 of 14 in Erice
180 reviews
4.5 mi away
Residence La Gancia
Residence La Gancia
#1 of 20 in Trapani
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#9 of 14 in Erice
139 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Tirreno
Hotel Tirreno
#1 of 1 in Pizzolungo
281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa San Giovanni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Domenico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Domenico

Property: Hotel San Domenico
Address: Via Tommaso Guarrasi 26, 91016, Erice, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Erice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Erice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Domenico 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel San Domenico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Domenico Erice, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing