We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Erice”
Review of Hotel San Domenico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel San Domenico
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Erice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2014

What a wonderful surprise! This little town with it's Norman influences and spectacular views is simply breathtaking. It is very different from any other town we visited in Sicily. The owners are locals and very welcoming. The rooms were spacious and clean and the service (Patrick :)) was excellent. Breakfast was simple but homemade and fresh. We were there at the beginning of July and did not see a need for AC at night as it gets quite cool in the evening....bring a jacket. Enjoy the view on the way up and down by car as there are few as pretty as this. As with all hilltop towns, the roads are small and winding. Take it easy and all will be fine. Worth the trip and a stay!


The views are spectacular.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Magwheel39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 313 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2014

We enjoyed a 2 night stay. It was warm in Palermo and the rest of Italy(86F), but I had to buy an Erice sweatshirt on June 1. In the evening it was windy and a little chilly.
We had a nice room with AC we didn't need, a terrace, and a very good bathroom with a shower that didn't leak.The fact they show pictures of the bathroom and other places don't should tell you something.
Daniella who has lived here all her life, recommended some excellent restaurants for lunch and dinner. We had breakfast at the hotel, and it was good. No complaints. Patrick is great, he takes care of the bags, fixes coffee in the mornig and speaks English, so he can help with a lot of details.
THE ROADS! Getting to Erice is ok. Once you are there, DO NOT go into town. Stay on the roads that skirt the outside of town and park there. We went in with our C class Mercedes. At one point, our car was next to a stone wall. On the other side, a car with it's wheel turned out, and the wheel rubbed along the passenger door of our car. Fortunately, only a dirt stripe, no dent.
When we got to the hotel, Patrick walked backwards, step by step, guiding us to the outer street and a parking place. It wasn't too far to walk back to the hotel, we should have parked there in the first place.
This is a great place to stay in Erice. I am glad we spent 2 nights instead taking a cable car or bus for a day trip. The hotel is centrally located for all your walks and sightseeing. It is quiet at night.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and had a terrace that looked out over the sea and countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uray50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

The hotel is located is the old city of Trapani. the staff is very welcoming especially Daniela, at the reception, B,fast is also good and which is served in a coffee shop 2 minutes away from the hotel, a small church is located next to the coffee shop for Sunday service , for anyone who wishes to attend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

A home away from home.The owners made us feel like a part of their family. A great location in a magical town.The staff was very helpful.I would stay in this hotel again when I visit Erice.We had great meal at the mount san guilliano restaurant. The sunset was amazing and the fish dishes were delicious.

Room Tip: only 7 rooms.We had 103.It was good size with a small veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank nantuck12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

lots of character, very friendly people and superb location.

Erice is a beautiful chilled place to wander around in the evening and a great location for touring the area - the motorway is close and trips to Segesta, Palermo etc are very easy - it makes a lovely base to escape back to in the evening after a hot and hectic day exploring the likes of Palermo.

Room Tip: top floor rooms have great panoramic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank offa129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Great ambiance with old world charm in a renovated interior. The entire family is involved in creating a warm atmosphere. The location is best found by parking your car and walking to the hotel. A bit of an adventure through the narrow streets. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We arrived in Erice after hours of driving and just as the evening fog was rolling in. It took us some time, and lots of nail biting to find Hotel San Domenico. The streets of Erice are about an inch wider than the car, and although I am an experienced New York City driver, my heart was pounding. None of this is the fault of the hotel of course, but all part of what makes Erice one of the most wonderful places on earth!
We really liked the hotel - it is small and family run in an appropriately ancient building. They have done a beautiful renovation job that shows all over. Corners have interesting details and antiques are here and there. Our room was small - but clean and lovely.
My only "issue" was with the internet. I hate to complain as it seems an engineering marvel just to be able to have internet in Erice, but my partner and I could not each get a "code" to use it. Only one per room!
All in all the place was a delight and I would recommend it as probably the best place to stay in Erice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NewYorkBulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Erice
0.2 mi away
Hotel Elimo
Hotel Elimo
#1 of 14 in Erice
380 reviews
4.5 mi away
Residence La Gancia
Residence La Gancia
#1 of 18 in Trapani
708 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#11 of 14 in Erice
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Baglio Santacroce
2.1 mi away
Hotel Tirreno
Hotel Tirreno
#1 of 1 in Pizzolungo
338 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Pineta Park Hotel
La Pineta Park Hotel
#7 of 14 in Erice
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Domenico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Domenico

Address: Via Tommaso Guarrasi 26, 91016, Erice, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Erice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Erice
Price Range: $103 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Domenico 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel San Domenico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Domenico Erice, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing