We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Small Hotel”
Review of Hotel San Domenico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel San Domenico
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Erice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We visited Erice for three nights and stayed at the Hotel San Domenico. This small, comfortable hotel is perfectly located amidst the narrow streets of this charming town. The hotel has the same medieval feel as the town--with thick, stone walls, small terraces, and arched doorways, yet the rooms and baths are very comfortable and modern. The staff were helpful, friendly, and very welcoming. Breakfasts were quite adequate, and parking was available nearby for a reasonable charge. This town should not be missed, and the hotel opens onto the cobblestone streets just a block from the main square. The entire town, with its amazing views, can be seen by foot. It was also an easy drive from the town to see the ruins at Segesta, which were absolutely stunning. We were delighted with our stay and whole-heatedly recommend this hotel and its staff!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 312 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

We arrived in Erice around midday. Hotel personnel helped us to park the car in smart way. Hotel has very good location. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was ok and very quiet/romantic outside. Rooms have modern conveniences but have furntiture that suits the hotel/location perfect. Nice firm beds. Modern bathroom. Nice decoration in the whole hotel.
Highly reccommend this hotel! My father and his wife joined us and they have same opinion.
Will come back again.

Fred & Susanne, Denmark

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

From the reviews I was a little wary about driving to the hotel, but in the hot, sunny days of June the road up to Erice was very scenic and the narrow streets of the town were atmospheric rather than intimidating. The hotel has been developed to blend in with the surrounding medieval buildings and has a discreet entrance but following the signs gets you to the right place. After dropping off our belongings, parking (a small fee was payable) was quickly arranged about 200m metres away.

Our room on the second floor had modern facilities including wi-fi. It was up a couple of flights of stairs - but if you are visiting Erice then steps, cobbled streets and hills are the norm. We were provided with a map to help get our bearings but really it is only a short walk to the main shops and restaurants in the town.

Continental breakfast was served on the enclosed patio - or inside if the weather is less agreeable. The staff and family were cheerful and helpful. We were there 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank york1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Great little b&b in a nice building.....staff are wonderful.....great coffee in the morning...the older gentleman/owner was born in the house.....really enjoyed our stay.
Erice is good fira day or two visit

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarrakechGypsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I usually try to add something that others miss, but the May 2013 reports are a perfect compilation of everything that makes San Domenico such an enjoyable spot to stay in Erice. The family atmosphere certainly contributes to the sense that you are truly a guest and not merely a paying client. Our group of three couples each had a slightly different room, and because of three diverse booking sources, each was a slightly different tariff, but no major difference. The morning breakfast buffet was complete and great start to the day. Patrick certainly deserves all the kudos received by reviewers. The parking situation is the one concern to plan around. During the day, it is easy to navigate and find one's way. We arrived in a complete fog blanket, starting halfway up the hill, at dusk, so not only was the ascent a bit white knuckled, but getting one's bearings inside the Old City was difficult. Actual parking is available on the street about two blocks away...you just have to get there...if driving, make sure you have a contingency plan in place to call for help....and, of course, amongst the more enjoyable aspects of Erice is a visit to Maria Grammatico's pastry shop!! You are on vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oystertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed at this lovely, cozy hotel for 2 nights. It's well located -a few streets from the center of this small, enchanted town. The hotel is beautiful and well appointed with simple but beautiful furniture, a small espresso bar, lovely ceramics lining the stairs to the rooms and the wonderfully colorful Erice rugs.

We arrived and were enthusiastically greeted by Rosella and Patrick. Patrick helped with our luggage and helped us navigate the car down some very steep and cobbled streets. He is a gem and was available every morning to make espresso and arrange the nice continental breakfast.

The hotel was immaculately clean and sparkling. My only proviso is that there are stair to navigate to the rooms. Neither this hotel nor the town is handicap or mobility impaired friendly. I would not suggest either for those with any back or muscle injuries.

There was also the presence of Papa Pippo, the family patriarch who in his early 80's is gregarious in Sicilian and a bit frisky with the female guests. He was around in the evening and some afternoons. He was always willing to share a story while smoking his stogie cigars on the outside bench.

Nights were incredibly quiet - the town shuts down around 7PM so this is the place to take a nice breather from the more bustling hotels of Palermo. We had a wonderful time and the San Domenico team made it all the better.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinaQ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Wholeheartedly recommend this hotel, run by the lovely Rosella and her dad with the very able help of Patrick, and yes he really does make the best cappuchino. Take the cable car down to Trapani for a day out, great cafes and interesting architecture. Erice is a beautiful medieval town with cobbled streets and the best passitcheria in Sicilly ('Marias',). Do try the restaurants recommended by the hotel. We really enjoyed our stay in Erice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Erice
0.2 mi away
Hotel Elimo
Hotel Elimo
#1 of 14 in Erice
378 reviews
4.5 mi away
Residence La Gancia
Residence La Gancia
#1 of 18 in Trapani
697 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#10 of 14 in Erice
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Pineta Park Hotel
La Pineta Park Hotel
#6 of 14 in Erice
190 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Tirreno
Hotel Tirreno
#1 of 1 in Pizzolungo
337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa San Giovanni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Domenico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Domenico

Address: Via Tommaso Guarrasi 26, 91016, Erice, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Erice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Erice
Price Range: $83 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Domenico 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel San Domenico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Domenico Erice, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing