We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay, Very good food but small bathrooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Don Carlo Agriturismo
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Erice
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Stay, Very good food but small bathrooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Friendly family run Agriturismo! We stayed 5 days. The rooms are not the most spacious we have seen in sicily, espcially the badroom was tiny in our room so we shuttled between the children's room to shower. This is the only negative feedback i want to give. The dinners, prepared by the tiny but extremely friendly Granny are excellent, the wines available are good and affordable. The breakfast always contained freshly cooked cakes or other bakery. The swimming pool is not the biggest but suitable for the numbers of beds at the estate. Their is an open kitchen that can be used when you want to cook yourselves. But why would you...With An authentic sicilian Nona cooking for you every evening for 20 €! This place is to be recommended. Also plenty of nice cities to visit! Erice is very touristical in Summer and we though there were more interesting cities to be visited like Trapani and the nature resort. We event went with the kids to a minigolf (after three weeks you can imagine they were a bit fed up of visiting cities and looking a Barok Architecture....) at Scopello. Very nice beach at that same location.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Philippe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    44
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
41
53
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

Easy to find. Silent place. Beautiful area. Nice place with a pool, warm already in the beginning of April. Excellent food, organic, locally made. Good vegetarian dishes. Very friendly family took care of us. We will come back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FritzLarsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

Beautiful, bountiful, glorious. Two dogs, three cats, lovely clean rooms, gorgeous surrounding farms and vineyards. Farm-Stay is a novel and lovely idea with the hotel serving their own food/wine production for dinner. Dinner is as you would dream of: The owner's sister and brother-in-law, warm and gregarious, served on fresh linen. She cooks multiple courses of freshly picked food: Antipasti: Eggplant, zucchini, artichokes, olive salad, beautiful rings of pasta with meat, raisins, peas; Contorni: Pork cutlets, fresh orange salad, and Dessert: Dolce, ice cream cones (The cones themselves filled with cream), wine, and a beautiful after dinner drink. Warm, wonderful people, nonpareil food, a swimming pool, beautiful location and close to Erice and Trapani; what else could one dream of.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Justine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

After not being able to get a hotel in Erice, I decided to stay at Don Carlo for two nights. It is a small agriturismo with six rooms run by a family. The rooms are big and comfortable but the highlight was the staff/family. They were extremely friendly. We ate dinner at the agriturismo both nights and were not disappointed. The cook served the meal and came out of the kitchen to make sure everything was good. In addition the agriturismo is well situated between Erice and Segesta, located not far off the primary highway. WiFi is available in the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank broktoon3550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

We stayed 4 nights at Don Carlo. After letting the owner know that we were going to be getting to the room very late, we were told it was no problem. Well, when we arrived, there was no one there, we stayed in our car for about an hour. Another couple came up and was able to make a phone call to the owner and she was there after a few minutes. The owner does not speak any english, but we were able to communicate just fine. So after getting settled into our room, we found that it was nice and cozy. There was a day bed for our 6 year old to sleep on and 2 twin beds put together for me and my husband. The shower was quite small, just big enough to turn around in, and a shower curtain with mold on the bottom of it. The toilet flushed for a good 5 minutes, which was noisy, so we tried not to flush in the middle of the night. The pool was covered, it was still too cool to swim, and the playground had a broken plastic slide and a wooden horse. The breakfast consisted of bread, cereal, cakes, cheese, jams, fresh fruit, tea, orange juice, coffee, cappuccino, plain yogurt and scramble eggs were offered as well. The blood orange juice was delicious and was the highlight of the breakfast for me.
Overall, the rooms were nice and the price was good. I would recommend coming here during the summer when you can actually use the pool and see the olives on the trees.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funtravels001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this pleasant agriturismo last May. We selected it based on previous reviews and were not disappointed. The room was average size but comfortable with a small refrigerator for wine and snacks. The pool was also very nice, with a pretty view and a playful kitten. The breakfasts were good, with a good selection. I like to cook when I travel and was a little uncertain about the shared, outside 'kitchen' and 'dining area.' However, I made a few simple dinners while we were there and it worked well.

The place is well located. Slightly off the beaten path but near many of the places you will want to see : Erice and Segesta are close. Capo San Vito and Palermo/Monreale are day trips. Some wineries where you can stop for 'wines of the area' are quite near.

The only drawback was the shower. It had a hand held shower that you hung in a holder on the wall. We could not figure out how to get the shower head to stay in the correct position and every time we showered we sprayed water all over the bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IronChefNeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2010

It was dark when we arrived at Don Carlo. The drive took us through the tiny town of Fulgatore and across dark fields and I wondered if I had made a mistake to book our rooms so far off the beaten path. With the morning sun, I quickly realized our good fortune. We stepped out of our rooms into lush Sicilian farmland. A walk took us past old farmhouses, fields planted with grapes and olives, and up to the crest of a hill for sweeping views of the rolling countryside. We returned to the hotel and our hosts Maria and Franco treated us to a fantastic country breakfast. There was a gorgeous homemade ricotta cheese cake, fresh yogurt, melon, warm homemade bread and more--all from the farms nearby. One morning Franco collected fresh eggs that were still warm from the nest and I had the best fried egg I've ever tasted. On another morning, Franco brought a fresh ricotta that one of the local farmers had made the day before.

The hotel was once a farmhouse and the rooms have been converted into simple but tastefully furnished guest rooms with ceilings of exposed tile and wood. Two of us had difficulty with the showers which Franco quickly fixed. Also be sure to pay the extra 5 euros for fresh towels every day.

Our hosts Maria and Franco were charming, warm, and helpful. The hotel does not serve dinner but Franco and Maria directed us to several nearby restaurants. We tried the Ristorante Baglionuovo and walked in to the middle of a Sicilian 25th wedding anniversary celebration. We did not see or order from a menu...our waiter just came to our table loaded with plates of food and we enjoyed a great array of typical Sicilian dishes while the singing and toasting continued in the background.

The hotel is near several attractions--about a half hour from fabulous Erice (take the funivia from Trapani up the the top of Erice for great views and easy parking) and the beautifully situated temple and amphitheatre at Segesta.

I recommend the Don Carlo if you're looking for a taste of the real Sicily.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DomenicaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Erice
18.5 mi away
Agriturismo Tarantola
Agriturismo Tarantola
#1 of 13 in Alcamo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
26.6 mi away
Agriturismo Case di Latomie
Agriturismo Case di Latomie
#1 of 20 in Castelvetrano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
7.2 mi away
Agriturismo Vultaggio
Agriturismo Vultaggio
#1 of 1 in Guarrato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Azienda Agrituristica Pizzolungo
7.1 mi away
Agriturismo Fratelli Sanacore
14.7 mi away
Casale Alma
Casale Alma
#2 of 41 in Marsala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Carlo Agriturismo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Carlo Agriturismo

Property: Don Carlo Agriturismo
Address: Contrada Pozzo Rocca 1 | Fulgatore, 91016, Erice, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Erice
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Erice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of the rooms are equipped with mini bar and heating/air conditioning. We have a splendid swimming pool for the use of our clients and we also provide you with mountain bikes, a wood burning oven, a barbeque, a kitchen and a special play area for children Italian description: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Don Carlo Agriturismo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Carlo Agriturismo Erice, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing