We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem with a very cosy atmosphere. We loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Perla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Perla
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Corvara in Badia
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A little gem with a very cosy atmosphere. We loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2010

This hotel was recommended to us by two different Milanese friends who ski regularly in the Dolomites. It was a first rate recommendation and at the first opportunity we drove here from Milan on a Friday night in heavy snow. Having had a few problems putting on our snow chains as we drove through the pass to Corvara, we eventually arrived at around 1am and found delightful welcoming staff and a beautiful cosy room waiting for us (the only room that the hotel had had available). The bar downstairs was buzzing, full of people still in ski clothes.

We woke up the next morning to bright sun and beautiful views of the ski slopes from our room. We had a good room service before going to rent skis in a shop recommended by the hotel. The people in the village are delightful as are the hotel staff. All the ski shops were closed for lunch by the time we got there but a nice man opened up his shop for us and then gave us a hefty discount, which was kind.

For lunch that day we sat outside. The food was delicious as was dinner that evening in the more simple of the hotel's two restaurants. There is an excellent wine selection too. After dinner we headed to the bar where there was live music and lots of guests and (I think) locals standing around. The atmosphere is informal and great fun. It felt as though everyone knew everyone, almost like a private party. For lunch the next day we ate in the more formal of the two restaurants which was, again, excellent. That afternoon we also tried the spa, which was a decent size and quality for a small hotel, before leaving to drive back to Milan.

When I got home, the owner of the hotel, Mr Costa, sent me an email asking how I'd found our stay. I assumed this was a more or less automatic question but when I replied he did send a very friendly response and since then I've enjoyed getting his group "update" emails on the hotel and surrounding area. His most recent message concerns his understandable concern and opposition to the proposed new road cutting through the valley. Let's hope this doesn't go ahead and that if it does it doesn't spoil the beautiful town of Corvara. It also seems worth mentioning that the Costas have set up a charitable foundation to support children in India and Tibet. It is refreshing to stay somewhere that is family-run and that cares about charity.

All in all, we think that La Perla is an absolute gem and hope to be there again this winter.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sienabene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    38
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
91
202
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

We enjoy La Perla and its wonderful amenities so much that we are going to make annual visits (as opposed to biannual) from now on! The family ownership, staff, site, food, and general ambiance are the keys to La Perla's success.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean_thomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

What a wonderful and magical place!
Most of the other guests that we met during our stay were repeat clients that had been coming for years which is always a good sign. This was our first time at La Perla and we absolutely loved it and hope to return soon.
The hotel itself is fantastic, the food amazing, and the service beyond outstanding. The staff dress in traditional Tirolean costume, including the owners, and are always ready with a hello in a multitude of languages. The decor is very traditional with a lot of wood and ceramics adorning the walls which is incredibly charming and very welcoming. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious with modern bathrooms. The food was sensational, from the fabulous breakfasts with pancakes or eggs made to order by the lovely Pasquale to the fantastic in house restaurants. For those interested in hiking the hotel also provides a wonderful guide named Marco who will tailor the day's walking according to your ability and who will also share his wealth of knowledge about the local history of the region. Definitely take advantage of this service!
This area is famous for the fabulous food and we enjoyed the dining opportunities both in and out of the hotel. Don't forget to make a point of having lunch at some of the fabulous mountain restaurants but beware the portions are massive. The staff at LaPerla was more than happy to make reservations for us at some of the local restaurants as well as printing off detailed driving instructions.
We don't normally return to the same places but the La Perla is definitely worth a return visit and we hope to get there during the ski season (especially as it's right next to the gondola) for what surely will be another wonderful trip!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catmarvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2010

Incredible gracious staff, a little funky, devoted to clients, friendly and personal, not stuffy, good spa, wonderful hiking guides, unbeatable location. food very good, but not sure of the michelin star

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schildkrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

This was our first stay at La Perla. The hotel is very nice and in a great location, but what really sets apart are the fantastic service and excellent food. The service is not overwhelming, but geared towards making you feel at home and extremely attentive to detail. The hotel offers (free) guided walks in the surrounding Dolomiti--both easy walks and more strenuous ones. Take advantage of them if you are not a seasoned Dolomiti hiker--you will meet very interesting people and the guides--Marco and Linda--are excellent and truly charming. The food in the hotel is outstanding--we had the "mezza pensione" (half board) and were delighted by our choice. Breakfast is superb, with the high-quality breads, fruit, cakes, cheeses, and cold cuts from the region, and the set dinner is a gourmet 4-course meal with a couple of choices for entrees and main courses. These are Italian portions, designed to savor the meal without feeling overwhelmed at the end of it, and each of our 3 dinners was very special. The hotel also has an intimate Michelin-starred restaurant--do try it if you stay for a week or so. Our meal there was excellent, even though not head and shoulders above the "normal" hotel dinner. And last but not least, the hotel has a truly amazing wine cellar, with its own "sounds and lights" show (don't miss it!).

The hotel owners--the Costa family--are very gracious hosts. They regularly come meet their guests at meal times to ensure that everything is working well, and also hosted guests for an aperitif in their "casa vecchia", a beautiful wooden house with foundations dating back to the late 15th century that was inhabited until a few years ago.

And the surrounding Dolomiti are simply breathtaking. You have your pick for unforgettable mountain hikes, from harder rocky climbs to steep paths across the woods.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GM_Roma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

I had been to this lovely Alta Badia hotel about 4 years ago, appreciated it but felt that a better price to quality ratio was available elsewhere in this much beloved valley.

I have been back after having found so many positive reviews and I must say that the trip was very well worth it. Skills have been honed, rooms improved and the general degree of "coziness" definetly increased to an extremely high level.

The recently refurbished single rooms I was staying in is definetly one of the best I have ever experienced, noticing that even in family oriented Italy single travelers are less and less neglected. The bathroom, aslways a problem in single rooms, deserves 5 starts. The same can be said for the dining room, where the second night they even gave me a beautiful window table after they had been unable to fulfill my request the previous night. They even have one of the most impressive collection of half bottles I have ever seen, in terms of quality and number. Champagne served by the glass anywhere and at any time is also one of those simple pleasures in life rare for a solo traveler.

The hotel was populated mostly by North American and Italians, and this certainly added to the atmosphere. I think that hotels should take this into consideration when accepting reservations, since I have had more than one beautiful stay ruined by noisy but danarous guests, mostly from far North Far Eastern Europe. I think that in this kind of hotel and location the North American / Italian mix is the best that one can experience.

Differently from other establishments in the valley, most of the staff has Italian as the first language, and this is clearly noticeable in their accent and warmth. Impeccable is the best word describing them, and this was a major change from my first stay where I had had the impression of being somewhat neglected, perhaps because of my having shown up underdressed at the time. Things were absolutely different this time, staff started addressing me by last name the first day and kept doing this more so until my leaving. A small detail that definetly makes you feel at the centre of attention.

I still think that the SPA area needs a little improvement, bringing the infrastructure at par with the rest of the hotel.

Overall a wondefull experience, I will certainly be back more often and raccomend this hotel to anybody. For solo travelers, it is the place well feeling welcome and well cared for. For a cyclist as I am, a place where our sporting needs are cared for as any other.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clodovico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2010

We stayed two nights at La Perla in June while we were on a week-long hiking trip in the Dolomites with our teenagers. It was just wonderful - we were upgraded to larger rooms which were huge and very nicely appointed, the pool and spa facilities were amazing after long days out on the mountains and we found the staff warm and very helpful. If you keep your windows open, you'll need to get used to the sound of the cow bells on the hills nearby and the chiming of the church bells, but we found them charming. Great dining room and wonderful breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaBelleVieCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corvara in Badia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Col Alto
Hotel Col Alto
#1 of 19 in Corvara in Badia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sassongher Hotel
Sassongher Hotel
#12 of 19 in Corvara in Badia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Miramonti Corvara
Hotel Miramonti Corvara
#16 of 19 in Corvara in Badia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Eden
Hotel Villa Eden
#3 of 19 in Corvara in Badia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#10 of 19 in Corvara in Badia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sporthotel Panorama
Sporthotel Panorama
#5 of 19 in Corvara in Badia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Perla

Property: Hotel La Perla
Address: Strada Col Alt 105, 39033 Corvara in Badia, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Corvara in Badia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Corvara in Badia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Corvara in Badia
#3 Family Hotel in Corvara in Badia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Perla 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To the pleasure of the hospitality, we have tried to join also the good table offering the service of a restaurant gourmet awarded -La Stua de Michil- and the -Mahatma Wine- cellar with its 24.000 bottles and 1.400 etiquettes. Our Spa Ua proposes treatments made up of wine therapy with extracted products of high cosmetology made up of grape, than of it they make a regeneration center for body and mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing